We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

This Hotel is in a fabulous location - we travelled to Edinburgh by train and found the ability to pop back to the hotel throughout the day, with shopping bags or to change for dinner, added a lot to our trip. The room was a good size and the beds comfortable. The Yu Spa is a bit on the small side for the size of the hotel and I think it would benefit from having 'no children' times - we used the spa but often found the pool full of noisey children, which didn't appeal as we were there to relax. I'm not against children using the facilities but it might be nice to offer times when the spa is 'kid free.'
We were on a room only basis and the price was reasonable considering the 4star quality and city centre location. We would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,441
    1,423
    295
    80
    26
See reviews for
709
2,142
197
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

Stayed here for three nights in early November on our minimoon. Friendly and polite staff - we were upgraded and also given a bottle of Cava on arrival as it was a special occassion which was a lovely touch and very much appreciated. The hotel is nice and clean, the pool which we used twice is small but pefectly formed. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant but that was lovely, plenty of choice. Lobby / bar area is very comfortable, contemporary and funky.
The location is excellent, really close to everything and kind of exactly in the right position - kind of between Edinburgh's new town and old town. Loads of stuff to do as well - we shopped, ate at The Kitchin in Leith, visited the Castle, Camera Obscura and the Whisky Experience, and visited lots of pubs!
I would recommend this hotel in an instant and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidWalesSiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

This hotel is a truly 4* in an excellent position (next to the station) - service and food appropriate for the category - Minor disappointments: the spa is good because is included in the price, but i would not pay for it; Some rooms are not very well insulated from the external noise.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, WIlts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Lovely front of house staff who let us check in early. They also upgraded us as it was my husbands birthday and gave us a free bottle of wine. Very nice rooms, comfy beds. My only gripe is the room was cold even with the ac up full blast. It's a really old building and having no double glazing didn't help but once we realised this and kept the door to the bathroom closed it was fine. Location is fab, easy to all attractions basically great try it you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyme101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

It is conveniently located just 3mins away from the Waverly station connected through the hotel side/back exit. Have to walk the steps up to the train station so heavy luggage can be a challenge. Full Scottish breakfast was very fullfilling indeed with generous portion that keep you going for the whole day. Hotel lobby might look small but the room was big and we appreciate that very much because we had to stay indoor most of the time due to heavy snow when we were there. The Heart of Scotland tour departure point is at the bus stop right opposite the hotel, sooo convenient but unfortunately our tour was cancelled due to bad weather. Nevertheless, we enjoyed the pool in the hotel and also killed some time at the mall which is less than 5 mins walk away. There is a convenient shop right next to the hotel followed by a Chinese Restaurant (we haven't got change to try this) and an Italian restaurant (Martone) that serves good food and coffee. I highly recommend APEX Waterloo to business and leisure travellers and also family with kids. There is a cute grey rubber duckie complimentary from the hotel. Very sweet.

Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

I really liked the location of this hotel. Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is different as compared to other hotels I ever stayed - it has a uniqueness in that it allows guests to feel as relaxed as they would in their own homes but with the added benefit of 5 star+ furnishings, fittings, service and treats. I stayed in Apex waterloo for one month. All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. As I stayed for one month in this hotel, Monika at reception, and Sandeep, Guseppe(Italian fellow), Hitesh from restaurant made my stay even comfortable and memorable. I have to say they are a real credit to the hotel. I would certainly stay at Apex Waterloo Place again if we ever return to Edinburgh. I would definitely recommend to my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitgupta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

I really liked the location of this hotel. At the foot of Calton Hill, it was a good base for exploring Edinburgh. It's a trendy hotel with clean, modern rooms and free Wi-Fi. Staff was nice, but not overly friendly. We had a plumbing issue in our room and it was fixed right away. About my car comment...parking situation is not great. Street parking is very limited, and despite the parking garage discount, parking was a bit pricey. We walked the first couple of days and I think 18 hours in the garage ran about 38 pounds. I'd rather have spent that on a cashmere scarf or some whisky ;-) Overall, a good place to stay. I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runrhirun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing