We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Cheese Scones”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #131 of 391 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Cheese Scones”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Nice place to stop off for a bite to eat before or after your walk in the Camond area, been a few times and the food has always been great, and the nice lady who owns the place even went and got me a cheese scone out of the oven to take away with me

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Craigieboy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    29
    1
    7
    9
See reviews for
36
43
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This great little cafe by the side of the river in Cramond is a fantastic place to take a breather and enjoy the scenery. The scones are big and delicious and the soup looked great too - a neighbouring table had it and it smelt delicious! The owner even came out to see how we were enjoying things which is more than can be said about the first place we stopped in Cramond, a bit nearer the harbour where we were told they were closing at.430 on a sunny Saturday afternoon.
I'd definitely recommend the Cramond Mill to anyone that's in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinty74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

At the end of a whistlestop tour of Scotland with a friend I brought her to Cramond, one of my favourite places in the Edinburgh area. We were delighted to find the Cramond Falls Cafe and ate the most delicious soup in the outside eating area behind the cafe. I bought some delicious looking scones to take with us and found they were as good as they looked. I am sure these scones would win an international award if there was such a competition as they were unbelievably scrumptious. The eating area reminded us of a Greek Taverna and the welcome was friendly. Only sorry we were leaving the area for home in Kent the next day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Staying at Cramond Mill was a pleasant experience. We had a short trip to the Edinburgh airport the next morning from our lodgings. Regrettably our early flight did not allow us to sample the breakfast which I can only imagine would have been delicious judging by the cappuccino that our innkeeper served us on our arrival and that we drank in the lovely adjacent garden area. The innkeeper was extremely accommodating offering to make us something for the morning that we were to set off. The surroundings are quite nice what with being able to stroll in either direction along the river behind the B&B to view the remains of the mill or venture to the the mouth of the river where it enters the River Forth. Quite nearby are the remains of Roman ruins which are worth exploring. Our room was rather snug, and whereas WiFi was available, the signal would be lost on occasion in the room necessitating a visit to the downstairs area nearer the router. Neither fact spoiled our stay.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I cannot recommend this ideal little BnB for anyone who visits Edinburgh.
Elaine never fails to provide a top lodgings with a hearty cooked full English breakfast to start your day ahead.
I have used this BnB for years now and often stay here when doing business in Glasgow.
A wonderful place to stay on business or a weekend 'away' -
Thank you for another short stay Cramond Mill!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan1971s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We had a wonderful night at Cramond Mill. My husband, two children and I shared the 'Indian' room which was perfect. The bed was sooooooo comfortable with the softest goosedown duvet and pillows - it was difficult to get out of it on Sunday morning! Breakfast was absolutely delicious and very generous. Food is obviously very important to Elaine and the menu in the cafe looked delicious. The smell of scones, fresh from the oven, greeted us when we arrived and I immediately regretted stopping for something to eat on the way!
Elaine is obviously well-travelled as shows in the quirky decor! I loved it - everywhere you look is something interesting and a bit different!
We will definitely go back to stay next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Very nice stay in a beautiful location. As per previous reviews, the scones and breakfast were lovely. Elaine was friendly and explained her plans to expand the twin room, which can only add to the charm of the house.

Room Tip: Try and book the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,725 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
616 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,480 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10 School Brae | Cramond, Edinburgh EH4 6JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 391 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cramond Mill Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing