We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a slight difference”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #131 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2013

we were stopping at the caravan club site just down the sea front and we were told that there was a lovely café just a walk away before finding this lovely secluded place we found a very strange place much nearer to the caravan site where when I asked for a mocha they had no idea and were quite rude, as a pleasant place to eat and stop for tea and scones(all home made cakes etc) this lovely place is well worth the walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a unique find in a beautiful, relaxing location along the river. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished. Elaine is a wonderful host and cooks an awesome English breakfast. We enjoyed walking the bike path along the river with a nearby ruins and waterfall. The coffee shop attracts people to sit awhile and enjoy the delicious home cooking. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the quiet contrast to city hotels. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneBug_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The B and B is in a wonderful location, 10 minutes for the airport and the centre of Edinburgh. I stayed with my family and girlfriend, so we booked two rooms. Both were wonderfully decorated, and completely individual, with amazing furniture from all over the world. Apparently the owner used to dabble in antiques, and now uses these to furnish the rooms. The beds were large and very comfortable.
The next morning the brekfast was also fantastic. We were greeted with apple and cinnamon scones fresh from the oven, which I can't say enough about, and this was followed up by a full cooked brekfast.
I would highly recommend this BnB to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway in a unique setting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGIL356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Mad and Jim
What a find! A converted mill, beside a babbling brooke, in beautiful countryside,yet only ten minutes from the airport and fifteen minutes from the centre of Edinburgh.... The rooms are exquisitely furnished, full of magnificent period furniture and luxurious decor. Elaine could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The cooked breakfast was delicious and the homemade scones were amazing (not that we needed them after such a hearty breakfast! )After a walk to the beech and onto Cramond island, we were refreshed by a coffee and carrot cake to die for, in the coffee shop. All the cakes, scones and treats are home made by Elaine in her busy kitchen. We stayed two nights and had a thoroughly nice time!
We would certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: Delux Double Room has a four poster bed!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We arrived late and even in the twilight the views didn’t disappoint nor did the bottle of wine that Elaine offered for a nightcap, a very nice gesture. The rooms are beautiful and exquisitely furnished. The house is welcoming; the entrance to the B&B through the kitchen gives a homely feel, the breakfast delicious and the views of the river Almond outstanding. Thank you for a relaxing 2 days and a welcome break, should we find ourselves in the area again you will be our first port of call.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIckyWildy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This 2 night break with our 3 children was brilliant Elaine couldn't have been more helpful, we booked very late and arrived near midnight, which she took all on board no problem. Our children were made very welcome and felt at home. The setting was lovely and peaceful next to the river. So central near everything you need or go!!!! We will be back!!!
Thanks again Elaine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed with two other couples for one night. The entrance through a working kitchen seemed strange - not the most welcoming?! Our room was filled with Indian antiques which looked beautiful. The ceiling had been papered but not matched up, which looked slightly amature. Small touches do make a difference, Finials on the curtain poles were missing since the poles were too short. Blind missing from one window, just brackets left. New kettle wouldn't go a miss Lovely wooden bed which gave a stunning focal point to the room. Breakfast was a slight dissappointment. Mix up with who wanted what caused some not to get what they wanted, and bacon was not on my plate when mine arrived. Fried eggs were burnt on base. Black pudding a bit dry. Elaine is a keen host, who is very helpful and obviously loves what she does, but maybe she should have written down our order to allieviate any mistakes. Great sausages though. Would have liked to have had fruit juice on sideboard for us to help ourself but only received a small glass of apple juice. Not a cat lover so would have appreiated the cat not trying to get on my lap while eating. The lad who brought through the coffees and teas wore ripped jeans and looked slighly scruffy. I'm no fashion police, but this does reflect on the establishment.This B & B has huge potetial to progress from an average place to a great place with a few adjustments. All in all o.k just but room for improvement.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainestuart36, Owner at Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Its a pity this guest didnt mention the smell of freshly baked scones
From the kitchen which yes is my front door
The 5 hour early check in
The wood fire I lit for him and his friends
The 6 free lattes they sat with in front of the fire
The free upgrade to the best room
The guest paid 37.50 p.p.p.n.
All the comments of how beautiful the place was and the fantastic furniture and it being so cosy they didnt want to leave and then to get a review that was negative
I did feel nervous the whole time you get to know what guests are looking for faults
Yes i made a mistake at breakfast which was quickly sorted out
The fashion police need to be called the ripped jeans are a designer brand at £120 a pair
There are no finials on the poles because they dont fit because the windows are so close to the wall
I will post new photos of this room as it has just been freshly painted with farrow and ball paint
Beautiful hand cut quality wool carpet 100% silk curtains and silver and silk amazing tie backs
Its a very comfortable bed and with 2 windows overlooking the river
Usually people love this room I Have taken on all the comments and wil make sure its even better for the next guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
3.8 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,960 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
3.8 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#92 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,224 reviews
2.4 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,553 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acer Lodge Guest House
Acer Lodge Guest House
#84 of 393 in Edinburgh
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cramond Mill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10 School Brae | Cramond, Edinburgh EH4 6JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cramond Mill Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing