We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Stay There again”
Review of Masson House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Masson House
Ranked #117 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Muscat
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Will Stay There again”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My family (2 ‘auld yins’ and 2 teens) stayed in 2 double ensuite rooms for 3 nights from 15th to 17th August as part of our Edinburgh and Highland drive-tour. Masson House is an attractive hotel within the grounds of a university student residence complex. The rooms were not spacious but were still big enough, comfortable, clean and well-presented. The staff, including housekeeping, were all very friendly and helpful. Security is well-considered, with electronic pass-keys in and out of the building for late-night entry. Parking is first-come, first-serve in several nearby parts of the grounds, but I always found a spot for my hired mini-bus. Food isn’t served within Masson House itself, nor is room-service available. However, a short walk round the corner leads to a large university self-service refectory with adjacent bar. It brought back my student days but the food is far better nowadays ! A hearty full Scottish breakfast was just what was needed to start off a busy tourist day. The refectory was bursting with international tourists and Mexican performers for the Edinburgh Tattoo which all made for a very cosmopolitan, bustling atmosphere. I also liked the free hotel wall-phone directly connected to a taxi switchboard which could organize a taxi within minutes, very welcome, as city-centre parking is difficult to find and we preferred taking taxis to buses. The hotel helped make our Edinburgh stay so enjoyable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank albannach53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    183
    97
    33
    17
See reviews for
36
226
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Visited Edinburgh for a few days of the festival. Hotel prices are astronomic over August.
Had used the University before for accommodation so tried this again.
Very good quality hotel style rooms.
The "Canteen" breakfast is an experience but the food is good and we certainly enjoyed the wide choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Saturday 17th August and the room was really clean and it was a very quiet place to stay. Would recommend Masson House to anyone looking for somewhere near city centre. Bus only cost £1.50 pp to Princes Street and bus stop right outside on main road. As my husband and I both love our breakfast when we are away Masson House did not disappoint, the choice was excellent and staff were really pleasant and helpful . Will certainly add this to one of our favourite places to stay and we will be back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elaine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a break in Edinburgh. We stayed at the Masson House for 2 nights. The hotel was a short bus ride to the centre of town. The rooms were clean, equipped with a hair dryer and coffee and tea making facilties. We were very impressed with our stay. We didn't find the hotel noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here over a long weekend at the end of July, and very much enjoyed it. It's located in a pleasant, quiet area, right next to Arthur's Seat, and only a 20 minute walk into the main town. There is a bus stop less than 5 minutes away too, handy if you don't fancy walking. Our room was clean, light and had all that we needed. The breakfast buffet included has a lot of choices, and even offered gluten free options which meant I could actually eat something there! There's also a bar nearby that serves food until 9:30pm. We picked it because it was one of the cheaper B&Bs available, and I think that we paid a good price for what we got.

I will say that it *IS* university accommodation, which wasn't mentioned when we booked. We didn't mind at all, as it's a very nice halls of residence, but it might not be what some people are expecting. As we only wanted a place to leave our bags and sleep, it did the job just fine. Very handy for getting to all the main tourist attractions, and a nice, clean room to come back to. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmjbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great value for money even during the fringe festival.10 minute walk to the royal mile or 2minutes on a mega cheap efficient bus service.rooms good and clean and to say the university was packed with visitors very quiet at night.staff and multi cultural visitors extremely friendly, only downside although breakfast absolutely lovely the dining hall a bit manic with the amount of visitors on site.this is our second visit defo use it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Masson House is not a bed and breakfast or hotel, it is university student residences.
The Booking.com advert claims "Free private parking is possible on site (reservation is not possible)" which is totally misleading as there is in reality little chance of any parking within the site and you will be searching for road side parking which if are lucky enough to find is only for two hours.

It is suitable for backpackers only.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ian488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#119 of 149 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
825 reviews
Royal Ettrick Hotel
#129 of 149 in Edinburgh
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 149 in Edinburgh
971 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#131 of 149 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masson House

Property: Masson House
Address: 18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Masson House 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Masson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masson House Hotel Edinburgh
Masson House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing