We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is student accommodation”
Review of Masson House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Masson House
Ranked #116 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 November 2013

As other reviewers have said, this is student accommodation. Knowing this before you book will help manage your expectations. We didn't know this as we booked through booking.com and there was no mention of this being student accommodation. Neither were there any reviews on tripadvisor at the time we booked mentioning student accommodation.

The room is small and the bathroom is very basic to say the least. I would classify this as a one star accommodation. The breakfast is included and is served in the cafeteria. The place is huge with lots of serving areas and very busy. The food is what you'd expect from a university cafeteria and is all you can eat for those with a big appetite. There is limited parking on the campus, so if you get a spot don't move your car as you may not get another one. Check in took 20 minutes as there were about 4 guests in front of us, however there was only one check in staff and one of the guests had a problem with their credit card. When our turn finally came, they were fast and efficient and it only took 2 minutes to get checked in.

We only stayed here because we had limited options due to Fringe Festival and the Military Tattoo and we booked 6 weeks in advance. We paid £91 per night to stay here, extremely expensive but at this time of year that's the price. It was either this or hundreds of pounds as everything in between was booked out. Had we known that this was student accommodation, we still would have probably stayed, but their page on booking.com should make it clear that this is not a hotel and is in fact student accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for Masson House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Booked this at last minute,agree with most previous comments and would say in my opinion that location,free parking are the main benefits. I would add that the check-in staff were very helpful,and the breakfast was first class.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were looking for accommodation near to the Queens Hall, Edinburgh as we were seeing Al Stewart (Year of the Cat fame) on 12th October and Masson House is only a 10 minute walk away from the venue. What I hadn't realised as others have pointed out is; this place is really student accommodation but as all we needed was somewhere to stay for one night it wasn't a problem. The accommodation is basic but clean with a wet room shower, which I don't particularly like but for one night I could live with it. The heating had failed in our room G15 and we were told by the friendly reception staff it was supposed to come on at 1:30pm then we were told 5:30pm but by 6:15pm it still hadn't come on so they obviously had a problem. It was a cold day so this took the shine off the place a bit but it was sorted by the morning so whoever gets the bedroom next can thank us for bringing it to the hotels attention. The highlight of the stay is without doubt the quality of the breakfast they offered and my partner who is not that easily pleased thought it was one of the best hotel breakfast's she's ever had. I'm usually happy with a cooked breakfast as the unhealthy option is not allowed in our household so I take any opportunity I can and my Scottish breakfast was exceptional. Others have said this is a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile which is nonsense as it's a good 20 minute walk on a fine day unless you've got roller skates on of course. We were charged £7.30 by our taxi driver from Waverly Station but I suspect the driver took us by the tourist route. Its in a quiet location and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesTw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh1st, Customer Relations at Masson House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review of your stay in Masson House.

I am sorry you encountered some problems with the heating during your stay and we thank you for addressing it with our staff. Our catering staff pride themselves for the quality of breakfast they produce so it is always great to hear complimentary reviews about our food. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to our staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Masson House when you return to Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Masson House's location is excellent: a 20 minute walk to the town centre (or two minutes on a bus), the hotel is located in the Newington area which is highly diverse (very wide range of restaurants to choose from) partly also due to the high student population. One side of the hotel faces Arthur's Seat, the peak of which is less than 30 minutes' walk away. However, these are ultimately student digs: the room is small and the furnishings basic (and the bed wasn't brilliant either). In my opinion, Masson House, which is in fact located on one of Edinburgh University's campus locations, is worth it only if you get a good deal (e.g. booking far in advance) but as a last-minute option the prices charge don't reflect the quality of the accommodation, but the fact that Edinburgh hotels fill up quickly. In sum: good location, nice staff, but book in advance and don't expect the Drake Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Arthur's Seat, but remember that, as these were originally student digs, t...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KlimtEastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed 5 nights at this hotel. It had everything I needed. It's small, but for the price you can't beat the value. The staff were able to answer any question I had. The location is perfect. A short walk to the bus stop which leads you to all the sights. Take buses 30 and 33, they always lead you back to the campus.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet environment to sleep in, take a noise machine which will drown out any noise. I...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I have just got back following a long weekend sightseeing trip. Hotel was exellent value for money, room was small but had everything that was needed, en-suite, tv, tea/coffee making, hair dryer and a safe. The room was also very clean. Breakfast was excellent, cold dishes served buffet style and then a hot menu with waiter/waitress service, even hot toast without queuing at those infernal machines! The staff were very friendly and helpful and recommended a good place for tea (The Salisbury) - across the road. The hotel is about 1.5 miles away from the city centre and it is a "hilly walk" however taxis are reasonably priced and the bus journey is only £1.50. We definitely recommend this hotel when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped here during our annual September visit to Edinburgh. We felt like we were going back to our student days give campus location. Fantastic view of Arthurs Seat. Room very clean, small but comfy. Adequate certainly for our needs which is basically somewhere to sleep. Highlight was breakfast. Excellent quality and superb professional staff. Twenty five minute walk to Royal Mile or a few minutes by bus. Was the perfect base for our stay and by chance by using the local bus we got a free entry for one adult to Mary Queen of Scots exhibition worth £9. Bonus!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#117 of 150 in Edinburgh
357 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
998 reviews
Royal Ettrick Hotel
#129 of 150 in Edinburgh
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masson House

Address: 18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £86 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Masson House 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Masson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masson House Hotel Edinburgh
Masson House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing