We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
Review of Masson House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Masson House
Ranked #117 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights. The room was a very good size as was the bathroom. Clean and had everything you need.
The first morning we ate in Masson House dining room, you were limited to the amount of hot food you were served but it was all very tasty.

The following 2 mornings, we ate in the building across, The McIntyre Conference Centre as it was out of term time. WOW.. the amount of food put on in there was amazing! You could help yourself to fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, rolls and ham and cheese, FULL cooked breakfast, as much as you wish to eat, and a far more expanding range of food and hot / cold drinks.

We would definately stop there again. quite possibly the best breakfast ever, which totally sets you up for the day!

Our only complaint is that we werent informed where the breakfast would be on morning 2 and 3.. But after I had pointed this out, 2 signs appeared on the door the following morning directing people.

I must admit I was dubious about it being on the Uni campus, and expected it to be over run by students, but it wasnt at all.

It's location is just behind the commonwealth pools and at the foot of Arthurs Seat. About a half hour stroll onto the Royal Mile, but a very enjoyable stroll. About £5 in a taxi. Regular buses at the top of the road too.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and it was a large room. Our relatives were on the 1st floor, theirs was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YolBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    179
    93
    30
    16
See reviews for
34
219
29
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Clean, comfortable if rather basic accomodation. Friendly staff and central location. It has the feel of student accomodation and this is reflected in the price. There are no frills. We also found it noisy at night. This was due to the lack of consideration of other guests rather than because of location.

Room Tip: Keep away from the internal corridor doors which slam loudly at night when guests go through them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked this as a budget hotel for the Edinburgh marathon festival and did not realise when booking this is normally student accommodation. The room was clean and well equipped with TV and tea and coffee making facilities . The wi wi was in the room and free and there was a cafe onsite though I did not use it. There was an early runners breakfast serving porridge and bananas as well as tools cereals and cheese. All staff very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed in Masson house for 3 days and we really enjoyed it! The staff was lovely and the breakfast was fantastic! (the best breakfast that we ever had in the UK) The only thing that we didn't like was the shower. It wasn't practical and for us its very important that we have a good shower. Every time that we went to take a shower the bathroom stayed all wet and there was no hose for the shower head. The location was also fantastic and we walked to the city center every time. Its also very good that you have free parking.
The only down side was the shower, there was no relevant noise and had a really good night sleep. We recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
294 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Basic hotel with small rooms and tiny bathrooms, but clean and staff are very friendly.

Location is quite a walk from town, maybe 30 minutes from Royal Mile but you can take the slightly longer scenic route through Holyrood Park if you prefer. Slightly odd thing which wasn't mentioned in the advert is that this is an extension of the University, a 'proper' hotel but amongst the Uni halls which isn't a problem, pretty quiet and tidy when we visited but might be a surprise if you want to avoid "youth"! Edinburgh students must be very sedate as they hadn't even got round to defacing the "Pollock Hall" sign with tactical graffiti.

Breakfast was really good, fresh cooked to order hot breakfast and plenty of selection on the buffet. If you don't mind a walk from town or would prefer to stay near Holyrood then this is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary07734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here over easter weekend for 2 nights we would definately stay again. Room was clean fairly basic but very good. Breakfast was included and you can have as much as you want. Bus stop outside to take you to town etc excellent

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Great location as you can easily walk or get a bus into town and there is free on site parking. Just a stones throw from lovely walks on Arthur's seat and holyrood park. Basic and small room but clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was very good quality and choice for the price.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank claire592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#121 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#133 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Ettrick Hotel
#128 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#77 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masson House

Property: Masson House
Address: 18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Masson House 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Masson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masson House Hotel Edinburgh
Masson House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing