We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable for a night or two”
Review of Masson House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Masson House
Ranked #122 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night whilst in Edinburgh for the weekend to see the Tattoo. Good position for getting into the centre with the bus
stop being only a two minute walk
down the road and, a charge of only £1.50 per adult each way. There is a night bus that runs after midnight so this is very handy also. Rooms are basic but clean and the bed we found to be very comfortable. We didn't really hear any noise at all as we were back after midnight and, after a very busy day sightseeing were out for the count. Breakfast was in a different building which is just round the corner. It was excellent and delicious with there being a huge variety of things to choose from. Over all no complaints whatsoever. Would I stay again? Yes for a night or two, possibly three but a week would be too long for us.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SPLowe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Very well located within part of the University Campus in Edinburgh with views of Arthur's Seat (an ancient volcano!) You can walk in to the City centre or take the reasonably priced public transport to get around Rooms are small,clean,tidy & fairly basic but certainly ok with a small shower room & nice toiletries supplied.There is a small TV, tea & coffee making facilities And extra pillows & blankets Double beds are Queen size therefore rather small Masson House is absolutely fine for an overnight stay or for sight seeing at a reasonable price Parking is also free as long as there are enough spaces available (there were) Breakfast is included & is self service in the large refectory - Busy & noisey but ample food.
My husband & I were staying when some of the Commonwealth Games teams were also resident which added to the occasion
We only stayed one night & dined in the Student pub which had a relaxed & friendly atmosphere & was reasonably priced
We would consider staying again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank looby1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

When we first reached the hotel it seemed to be very far from the city center and like student halls.But there is a bus from the hostels to the city city which makes life very easy.
Breakfast is very good. The rooms are small and basic. The bed is a bit uncomfortable and it gets noisy during the night. But it is a value for money, so if that's your main priority then go for this one.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anushree2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The room was simple but had everything we needed, excellent shower, good hairdryer and comfortable bed. The hotel is set in very nice ground with much flowers ans shrubs. We arrived early so we parked easily and were able to leave the car in the car park for the duration of our stay. We walked to the different venues of the Fringe and for most it only took 20 minutes. Breakfast was of very good quality, varied and plentiful. We will definitely come back to this hotel when staying in Edinburgh.

Only one small issue, the walls are on the thin side.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yannick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for one night, so can't really complain about the quality of the place. It was very hard to find in the dark, and after a few whiskys, so look before hand - we got directions from the campus security guard! The room was small but clean and comfy. Breakfast is in another building and was great! They have everything you could want and in an all you can eat style, really sets you up for the day. We were on the first floor and it was a bit noisy in the morning with people leaving. Also, the views around the hotel of Arthur's Seat are truly lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanno88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very clean room with all you need. Very freindly staff. Great to leave the car and get the bus which runs just outside into Edinburgh with no parking problems. You could have as much or as little breakfast you liked, it was self service a little busy but no hold ups and very good food. If this is what student accomodation is like It's great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Limited parking means there is not enough parking for everyone, it is shared with the all the University, but there is residential street parking a mile away, you'll just have to remember where you found a park so you can find it in the morning, good luck if its raining.
This University hostel has paper thin doors so you hear everyones coming and goings
You get one electronic key that is required to get into the buildings front door and then thru an internal hallway door, if you are sharing then you must all leave together and return together, great if your parking the car.
Wifi is from the Edinburgh University campus
Breakfast was good, but at a separate building containing a large dining hall shared with other University guests

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 41at122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#120 of 151 in Edinburgh
368 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#123 of 151 in Edinburgh
319 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Ettrick Hotel
#135 of 151 in Edinburgh
339 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#6 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masson House

Address: 18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £56 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Masson House 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Masson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masson House Hotel Edinburgh
Masson House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing