We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #177 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very comfortable B&B”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and I spent a single night here. Owner Irene greeted us warmly on arrival. Our bedroom was well furnished and comfortable, with the bed one of the best I've had in any hotel-type accommodation. The ensuite bathroom was small, but adequate for a short stay. Decor is old-fashioned, but not old - the whole place is in good condition. Overnight the place was quiet and peaceful and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. The cooked breakfast the following morning was excellent with our host happy to prepare whichever combination of the usual foods (bacon, sausage, eggs, hash browns, etc) that we wanted. Cereals yogurts and toast were also available. As for location, the guest house is a good distance from the city centre, but is close to one of the main routes into the centre from the south and there are plenty of buses.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayWalkerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    8
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
28
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This really is a superb find, and I am so glad we chose to stay here for our Hogmanay trip to Edinburgh!

We arrived late on our first night and were immediately struck by the beauty of the décor inside Number 45. We were received warmly by Irene with information on our room and how to get into town via the bus routes. The room itself was spacious, clean and well heated - a definite necessity for staying in Scotland in the midst of Winter! - and we had the use of an en-suite bathroom as well as tea and coffee facilities. The following morning we were treated to a superb cooked breakfast by Bill where nothing was too much trouble. Both our hosts were very friendly, chatting to us about our plans and providing us with everything we needed to know - up to and including a recommendation for which brand of haggis to buy, courtesy of Bill. When it came to New Year's Eve itself, Irene told us that we were more than welcome to have dinner at Number 45 if we had trouble finding a restaurant during that busy period. When it came to our last day, we were allowed to leave our bags behind after checking out, and Irene helped us to book a taxi to the airport as well. We couldn't have asked for more, and would recommend this guest house to anyone planning a trip to Edinburgh.

Some local tips: the guest house is well served by multiple bus routes into the centre of town, which take no more than 15 minutes and are very frequent. The guest house business card has a convenient map on the back including all the relevant bus numbers. Around the corner, there is a decent chippy, a local convenience store which was even open on New Year's Day, and further up the road a selection of pubs serving food. The area is quiet, and the guest house itself does not have a sign out on the road, so if you arrive at night time (as we did) just keep your eyes peeled for "No. 45 Gilmour Road" - the lights are always on, so it should be easy to spot.

We'd both like to say thank you to Irene and Bill for a lovely stay, and hope to see them again when we next come to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiTheCynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee, USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here while visiting Edinburgh. Irene and Bill are the perfect hosts! The breakfast was good and our room was wonderful! My husband and I don't mind walking, so we walked all the way to the Royal Mile to enjoy the Festival (about 1 - 2 miles) and back again. There is also a bus route around the corner and down the street that was handy - we used it too! The facility was quiet and our room comfortable. Nice big bedroom plus a nice big bathroom. If we make it back to Scotland, I plan on contacting Irene again! Thanks to visitscotland.com for helping us find this great location!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor facing west. Faced the street, but quiet neighborhood. No lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Number 45 is a nice bed and breakfast on Gilmour Road. My single room was small but it is just perfect if all you need is a nice, clean and quiet place to sleep. I had to go down the hall to the bathroom, but the bathrooms are individualy assigned. I did not get to try the breakfast, because I was always out early to start my photography. Right across the street is a bowling club. Just around the corner is Craigmillar Park, a major street with several bus routes, so it is very easy to get to various places around the city. I'm hoping to go back to Edinburgh in 2012, and I'll look for a room here first.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiderRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The family room was excellent, and Mr Bill and Mrs Helene were warm, friendly an very helpful. We had booked through Scottish Accomodation and they were not only kind enough to point out that we had been overcharged but also went out of the way to get us our refund. The location is excellent and the breakfast outstanding. We will def be back

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ntalathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

No 45 is a great B&B, the location is excellent with a short walk to the buses which run every few minutes. You would be silly to try and get around Edinburgh any other way. 3.20 GBP for all day travel. The room was very comfortable and well furnished. The only complaint would be the size of the bathroom, it was decidedly cosy. The wide stair case made accessing the room very easy. Irene was an excellent host and was very obliging. The breakfast at No. 45 was excellent. I would have no problems staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossco90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrhead
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Purpose of our visit was to drop my son off at Uni and tried to get B & B near his campus but no-one would book us in for just the one night. Tried No 45 and it was no problem. We booked in at 12 which gave us the day in Edinburgh to enjoy the Duathlon in Holyrood Park which was the other reason for our visit. No 45 is on the main bus route into Edinburgh which meant it was easy to get to Holyrood and in and out of the city for dinner etc. Mrs Cheape was lovely, very chatty - breakfast was great, definitely enough to keep you going throughout the day. Room was immaculate and very comfortable.

We would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrhead16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
0.1 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#50 of 392 in Edinburgh
164 reviews
2.0 mi away
Emerald Guest House
Emerald Guest House
#168 of 392 in Edinburgh
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#54 of 392 in Edinburgh
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Appin House
Appin House
#74 of 392 in Edinburgh
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#103 of 392 in Edinburgh
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 45 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 45 Bed & Breakfast

Property: Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
Address: 45 Gilmour Road, Edinburgh EH16 5NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 45 Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No. 45 is a family run, fully refurbished 4 star B&B. We are in a great central location, on main bus route into city center. We are near most tourist attractions. Our home is a large Victorian semi-detached villa, with a beautiful Victorian staircase, and many period features throughout our home. No .45 is also fortunate enough to overlook a lovely grassy bowling green. All rooms are en-suite except, our single room it has a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Number 45 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing