We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #159 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at No. 45 overnight in April. After having a bad experience previously with another B&B in Edinburgh, we were a bit unsure about staying in a B&B again and not a brand name hotel, however, this little B&B is just perfect.

We were welcomed by Irene, one of the owners, who showed us to our room and she gave us guidelines on the local area, which was most helpful, as we were attending an event.

The B&B itself is an old fashioned house converted into a B&B, but it still had the feeling of a tradtitional house. Our room (sorry don't know the number as it wasn't on the door) was immaculately clean. It was spacious, however, I felt that the bathroom was a wee bit small, but for all the time we were there, its irrelevant. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in, in all my years of travelling/staying in hotels/B&Bs and could have happily slept for days. It was so cosy and we both slept really, really well.

We had breakfast before checking out. On entering the dining room, the large dining table was set beautifully and the linen tartan napkins were a nice touch, even for us Scottish visitors.

Again, we were met by Irene, who gave us a big pot of tea to start off what turned out to be a terrific cooked breakfast, made by her husband (whose name I can't remember)! There was also the choice of cereal, fresh fruit and yoghurt.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I didn't want to go home. I just wanted to stay in the comfortable bed and have breakfast cooked for me again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crion, Owner at Number 45 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

thank you so much for your lovely comments it was great to meet such lovely people

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

My husband and I have been staying with the hosts, Irene and Billy Cheape, for thirty years. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else during our annual visits to Edinburgh. The rooms are spotless, the hosts are very friendly, and they go out of their way to accommodate any special diet requests (in my case, gluten free breakfasts). The location is excellent-a two minute walk to bus service that will take you anywhere you want to go in the city. The rooms are all beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We hope to be able to stay here many more times!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel after booking through booking.com and got a very good flash deal at £35 per room per night. The couple who owned the b&b were very friendly and gave us plenty of information on bus routes, things to do etc. The breakfast was very good and didn't appear to be smaller (as often expected when paying discount rates). We got taxis to princes street and the royal mile and both times were very reasonable, around £6. The room was a decent size although the bathroom was quite small, however the bed was very comfortable! After staying we thought it was well worth the money we paid and would have happily paid full price! If we return to Edinburgh we would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I have been pleased to use 45, Gilmour Road for the past 7 years as my B and B for the Fringe.
Bill and Irene are delightful, chatty hosts who run a comfortable, reasonably-priced house in a quiet area which is easily reached by several bus routes.
The small single room has a separate shower room along the corridor. The bedroom is equipped with TV , hair dryer and coffee-making facilities. There is also free Wifi.
Breakfast is plentiful, varied and cooked to order. If you want smokes salmon, you need to give a day's notice!
Highly recommended as a peaceful haven during the Fringe or any other time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisnik48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Had a lovely weekend at the Edinburgh fringe festival and made even better by our hosts at the B & B made to feel very welcome on arrival, given lots of very helpful local info i.e. busses, taxis, shops and good places to eat, all of which came in very handy and made our stay more user friendly. The best bit was our room at the end of the day, very comfortable, clean and spacious with lovely views of the bowing green.
If we return to Edinburgh (which I really hope we do) I will defiantly be staying here again.

Room Tip: lovely room top floor facing the front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieCanveyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at Number 45 in June and were delighted with the warm welcome we received, even being driven into town to have a quick look around with good instructions on how to get the bus back! Very comfortable B&B, fantastic breakfast, great host and if you are lucky enough to get to use the bathroom downstairs, you will love it! Even though it wasn't what you would deem as "central", the bus into Edinburgh leaves from the end of the street and Irene gave us a business card with the correct bus numbers to catch. Even such a small thing makes a world of difference when you are staying in a new place. Irene was a fantastic host who made sure we were comfortable and the delicious breakfast ensured we were well fed before heading out for the day! We were sorry not to be staying longer and would love to stay here again when we return to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Number 45 is in a quiet residential area, so any bedroom would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlRobC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and I spent a single night here. Owner Irene greeted us warmly on arrival. Our bedroom was well furnished and comfortable, with the bed one of the best I've had in any hotel-type accommodation. The ensuite bathroom was small, but adequate for a short stay. Decor is old-fashioned, but not old - the whole place is in good condition. Overnight the place was quiet and peaceful and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. The cooked breakfast the following morning was excellent with our host happy to prepare whichever combination of the usual foods (bacon, sausage, eggs, hash browns, etc) that we wanted. Cereals yogurts and toast were also available. As for location, the guest house is a good distance from the city centre, but is close to one of the main routes into the centre from the south and there are plenty of buses.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BayWalkerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,032 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 45 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 45 Bed & Breakfast

Address: 45 Gilmour Road, Edinburgh EH16 5NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £72 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 45 Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No. 45 is a family run, fully refurbished 4 star B&B. We are in a great central location, on main bus route into city center. We are near most tourist attractions. Our home is a large Victorian semi-detached villa, with a beautiful Victorian staircase, and many period features throughout our home. No .45 is also fortunate enough to overlook a lovely grassy bowling green. All rooms are en-suite except, our single room it has a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Number 45 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing