We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atholl Brae Royal Mile
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great spot, great value”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Liz (owner) was exceptionally helpful when arranging our booking and generously allowed us to drop our bags off, even as the flat was being cleaned. After 30 hours' travel from Australia, we were very grateful.

The location of the apartment is perfect - both convenient to all attractions, and very quiet.

If your looking for comfort, look no further. There are no bells and whistles, but warm, cosy and central it is. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Couple of things to keep in mind:

The walls are thin - ensure you are comfortable with your travel companions!
Ask for plenty of instructions. We spent considerable time working out the oven, tv and washing machine. Of course, jet-lag probably didn't help!
There are two hairdryers - pick the one that heats up beyond luke-warm.
The shower in the ensuite, although small, is very powerful - lovely!

Thank you Liz, we had a great time and your recommendations were appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flossyfizzdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Hello there
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I glad you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh. I hope we'll see you again when you return to Edinburgh.
There is a whole file of instructions for all the appliances, but I'm sorry if it wasn't readily findable.
Also, thank you for pointing out the problem with the second hairdryer - unless guests tell us we don't know about the smaller problems. I'll get that fixed.
Cheers!
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    25
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Great location, great apartment. Very quiet despite being so close to the city centre. Secure parking space in the attached garage was a real bonus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moiranth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thanks a lot for posting your review. We think the quiet location is one of the best points of the apartment, too. You are literally a stone's throw from the bustle of the Royal Mile, but because the entrance to the street is narrow - it comes though a historic tunnel, under the former Toll-house - there is very little traffic. So, you retreat to quiet comfort.
I hope we'll meet you again, when you come back to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The apartment was great! Very well located and confortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartaLopex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thanks a lot for taking the time to post this very positive review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in the Royal Mile apartment. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Our recent visit to Edinburgh was a vacation we will never forget. Traveling with children can be difficult sometimes because hotels do not offer family rooms. This apartment was the logical choice for our family. It is in a convenient location with plenty of great places to eat nearby, as well as local markets where you can collect an assortment of supplies that you can prepare in the apartment. Our children commented that it is nice to go on vacation, but still feel like you are at home. Thank you, Liz, for the wonderful hospitality and accomodation!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FischFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Hello there
Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time in the apartment and in Edinburgh.
We've been fans of self-catering for many years - we so agree that this is the logical choice for families - comfort, style and security.
I hope you'll return to Edinburgh - when you do, please come back to Atholl Brae.
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Superb family accommodation a minutes walk from the Royal Mile, our family of 5 had a really comfortable stay & it made a nice change to be able to leave the car securely parked up and be within walking distance of the castle and all attractions, made our short stay perfect. Excellent assistance & advice from Liz between booking and arrival, & a warm welcome.
Could not have hoped for better *****

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thanks a lot John E for taking the time to write this lovely review.
We try hard to keep our guests happy before and during their stay, so they can make the most of the fantastic facilities on the doorstep - we hope to see you all again. all the best. Liz & co return to Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This was our first trip to Edinburgh and our first time renting a flat versus hotel accomodations. We were a bit nervous but Trip Advisor reviews were so positive. We needn't have been worried -- the flat lived up to our expectations and more. The location is perfect and the flat was clean and had all the comforts of home. After long days of sightseeing, we could enjoy the comfrots of the flat and recharge for the next day. Having the flexibility to cook in or eat out is terrific. But the thing that sets this experience apart from others is the personal touch of Liz and her son Sean. Before even getting to Ediburgh, Liz's helpful hints, cheerful emails and warmth were very welcome. This continued throughout our stay and Sean was available to greet us so we could park our car and start our sightseeing. Shortbread cookies and Cava in the fridge were lovely touches. We will be back and highly recommend the Atholl Brae Royal Mile flat. Thank you Liz and Sean!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cdn1_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Hello Gabriella Z
Thanks so much for this lovely review!
The jump between a hotel and self-catering can be scary, I know - but there's so much more flexibility, as you say! And you really don't need to compromise on comfort - the apartment is a bit like a Mega-suite in a 4 star hotel - in an ideal location.
Personal touch is what we aim for - we try to keep our guests happy before and during their stay and will happily help plan your stay in advance.
We'll look forward to meeting you when you return to Edinburgh.
All the very best
Liz & Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This is a very nice flat that is centrally located. We were able to walk to it from the train station and to walk to every attraction. Liz, the owner, provided very helpful advice at every step.

The kitchen, living room and bathrooms are nicely sized, but the bedrooms are rather small and cannot fit a dresser or your suitcases (although there is a closet). We ended up leaving the larger cases in the living room. All in all a very good experience though, highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Hi Emily C
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write this review.
We try hard to keep our guests happy from before they book until they leave - providing advice and support.
I'm sorry you found storing the cases tricky, we'd usually put them under the beds - all of them are open. And, although there's no dressers, there's lots of hanging space and either drawers or shelves in each bedroom. There's a huge lovely mirror in the bathroom for making-up.
Thanks a lot for your custom and recommendation - when you come back to Edinburgh, come back to Atholl Brae!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,136 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Aparthotel Adagio Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
Destiny Scotland - George IV Apartments
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Brae Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Brae Royal Mile

Property: Atholl Brae Royal Mile
Address: Flat 6 1 Old Tolbooth Wynd, Edinburgh EH8 8EQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 206 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Brae Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, 4 star Visit Scotland accredited, apartments, right in the heart of the historic Royal Mile, in Edinburgh's Old Town. - Blair Angus has fully level, disabled access to ground floor apartment which is now separately listed, on our partner sites - Atholl Brae is our first floor apartment - up a short flight of stairs from street level. Both apartments can also be booked through our own web-site - see details above , at the top of this listing. We guarantee the best price through our web-site. 2 Very beautiful apartments in an ideal location - OK, yes, we're VERY biased. We are only 2 minutes walk from the Royal Mile, 7 minutes walk from the train station. Within a modern luxury block, the apartments overlook a beautiful courtyard - a luxury oasis, just off the hustle and bustle of the Royal Mile. Secure underground parking behind a roller door, off the street. Wi-fi included. Our prices are per apartment, not per person. Each apartment will accommodate 4 in luxury, or up to 5 plus a baby in comfort. Our best rates are for stays of one week or more. We will also be delighted to help you plan your stay in Edinburgh, if you wish; we're good at welcoming and friendly, personal service. Our ground floor apartment is disabled friendly. Welcome to Edinburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Brae Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Brae Royal Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing