We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atholl Brae Royal Mile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atholl Brae Royal Mile
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

I was recommended by another Singaporean who had a fabulous stay here in Dec 2012
We had a great stay.
Great location, close to attractions and good restaurants
Greater Service ( Liz is simply fantastic )
Greatest amenities
Thank you very much

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for that lovely review, which I'm pleased to share with our very small team. We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh soon. Best wishes. Liz & Co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    25
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

You will feel like at home in this very nice flat, the furniture and equipments are of perfect taste. The Holyrood Palave and the Castle, on each end of the Royal Mile, but also all the shops, bars, cultural places of Edinburgh are easily to fond (5 minutes walking distance). If you look for a family friendly and confortable solution, choose this one!

Room Tip: Flat Nr 4 if possible, but Nr 1 seems to be also nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank commissairebourrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for posting such a lovely review; we look forward to welcoming you all back to Edinburgh.
Internally, both of our apartments - the Atholl Brae on the first floor and the Blair Angus on the ground floor - are very similarly decorated and equipped. The Blair Angus is a fully level access from the street, so much easier for those with mobility problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

An excellent hotel with perfect location close to the Royal Mile! In fact it is a two bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchen and two bathrooms. We had received list of attractions of Edinburgh and the surrounding area from the host before arrival. It was unexpected and usefull! We arrived late afternoon and the landlord could not meet us. The only problem was to find the key.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlgaUshakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you tons for taking the trouble to post a review
We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is a modern spacious apartment in an excellent location and with two bathrooms, it was perfect for our family's requirements. It was very clean throughout with really comfortable beds and good quality, fresh white sheets /towels made for a very comfortable stay. The kitchen was well equipped with all the necessary detergents etc provided . It is in an excellent location for visiting Edinburgh and secure parking is an added bonus. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaceYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hi there
Many thanks for that lovely review
We're all glad you enjoyed your stay; I hope we'll welcome you back soon!

Liz & Sean & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We enjoyed Athol Brae the accommodation was clean and well laid out we had travelled for hours so were grateful for the comfortable beds and having two bathrooms was very convenient. Although their were just the two of us this facility would just as easily suit a large family or two couples. The Royal Mile was at the top of the cobblestone street and the bus route went right past. We used the buses a lot and found the guides on the Hop On's which were also within walking distance knew their stuff. Thanks for a great apartment Liz we were hard pressed to find better during our tour of Scotland.
Kind Regards
Barbara and Richard

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fieldway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind review
We're so glad you both enjoyed your stay
I very much hope we'll welcome you back to Edinburgh soon.
All the very best!
Liz & Sean & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

What a joy to arrive here with directions and help from Liz who was so accommodating letting us in early, Sean who was here to greet us was lovely and helpful. After two dreadful nights in a B and B in the city that I can only describe as Fawlty Towers where we had no sleep and the hygiene was appalling, we were delighted to find this wee gem so clean, comfortable and equipped with everything we could possibly need. We will be back for sure and will happily recommend to family and friends. Thank you so much Liz and Sean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savagegir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you tons for taking the trouble to leave your review!
We try very hard to look after our guests and it's brilliant to get such terrific feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh very soon.
Kind regards and very best wishes
Liz & Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I can't imagine a better place for location to the Royal Mile and the Waverly Train Station. You literally walk out the door, up the cobblestones, and you are on the Royal Mile and all the hot spots of Edinburgh. We stayed a week, and it was nice to have our luggage in one place, and then do day trips via the train station. The flat was very clean, spacious, light and bright, with two bedrooms and separate baths for each which made it nice for two couples staying there. We were in the bedroom with two twin beds (very comfortable firm mattresses), and the bathroom was large with excellent shower and tub. Toiletries, hair dryer, WiFi, washing machine + drying racks were provided to help make things easy. Having a nice kitchen available helped with breakfasts and snacks. Since we were so close to all the restaurants, we ate dinners out and enjoyed all the Scottish foods and drinks. Liz did a great job of recommending various places, and we utilized many of the suggestions she offered in her notebook and emails. The personal greeting was appreciated as she accommodated our late night arrival when we first got to Edinburgh, and we most definitely would recommend Atholl Brae to others. Thanks Liz for helping to make our introduction to Scotland such a positive experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryJane48130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Owner at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Hi there
Thanks tons for that very flattering review!
We do try very hard to please our guests and it's brilliant to get such good feedback, which I'll be sharing with the rest of our very small team. .
I hope we'll be welcoming you back to Edinburgh in the not too distance future.
All the very best for now
Liz & co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#63 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#50 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#61 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
Royal Mile Accommodation
Royal Mile Accommodation
#60 of 214 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Broughton Hotel
The Broughton Hotel
#17 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Brae Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Brae Royal Mile

Property: Atholl Brae Royal Mile
Address: Old Tolbooth Wynd, Edinburgh EH8 8EQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Brae Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, 4 star Visit Scotland accredited, apartments, right in the heart of the historic Royal Mile, in Edinburgh's Old Town. - Blair Angus has fully level, disabled access to ground floor apartment which is now separately listed, on our partner sites - Atholl Brae is our first floor apartment - up a short flight of stairs from street level. Both apartments can also be booked through our own web-site - see details above , at the top of this listing. We guarantee the best price through our web-site. 2 Very beautiful apartments in an ideal location - OK, yes, we're VERY biased. We are only 2 minutes walk from the Royal Mile, 7 minutes walk from the train station. Within a modern luxury block, the apartments overlook a beautiful courtyard - a luxury oasis, just off the hustle and bustle of the Royal Mile. Secure underground parking behind a roller door, off the street. Wi-fi included. Our prices are per apartment, not per person. Each apartment will accommodate 4 in luxury, or up to 5 plus a baby in comfort. Our best rates are for stays of one week or more. We will also be delighted to help you plan your stay in Edinburgh, if you wish; we're good at welcoming and friendly, personal service. Our ground floor apartment is disabled friendly. Welcome to Edinburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Atholl Brae Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Brae Royal Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing