We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money, great friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Guards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Guards Hotel
Ranked #392 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, great friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

bit unusual at first, but great Victorian styled building with original features. the staff are great and the room was immaculate - extremely close to haymarket train station, airport bus, & general bus routes throughout Edinburgh, only 10 minute walk to city center

Room Tip: just ask to get upgraded and you will .. ask for the 4 poster !! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    28
    14
    16
    28
See reviews for
10
30
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We went to the guards hotel and after knocking four times on the door we were shouted at by the bloke who asked did we have a reservation whilst pulling back his staffie terroir

Got upto the room to find holes in the floor, half the underside of the bed hanging off and two mattresses on the bed that when you sat on them you fell off


Was told the room was ensuite - not sure how when it was two doors down the corridor and you had a key to get into it - to be fair the bathroom was nicer then the bedroom

As a wardrobe it had two coat hangers on the back of the door

The window was jammed open and the curtains looked too small

In the end after using the room to ring for a premier inn we left

Horrible place

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stephenpathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Where do i start with the guards hotel , great location 10 mins walk to princes street. Excellent value for money (better savings if booked directly with hotel) large room , lots of hot water, clean , lovely cooked breakfast.
Staff very friendly as well.My room was on the first floor and i can't complain..very spacious , clean and bed was very comfortable !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinaSka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

For Edinburgh, The Guards Hotel offers good value for money and a warm, welcoming stay. It is very well located, just opposite Haymarket Station. You can walk to Princes St and Rose St in ten minutes. The Hotel boasts an adjoining Social Club which is a brilliant place to have a sociable drink. I have stayed here many times, sometimes solo, but never felt alone. I have occupied different rooms and all were clean & more than acceptable. If you are looking for luxury, spend more elsewhere. If you want an enjoyable stay, friendly staff and value for money, this place is right up your street. Cheers! Keith

Room Tip: I have stayed in 3 or 4 different rooms and all were decent, with everything you'd need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I'll keep it simple, but the pictures speak volumes.
The room I was booked into was "Birdcage Walk".

I was advised that there was no door to the en-suite, but a curtain had been mounted in its place.

I was not, I repeat, WAS NOT advised about the poor state of the floor.
The naff curtains that couldn't block out any light.
The hairs on my pillow that were certainly not mine (I'm a grade 3 and the wrong colour).
The disgusting and disgraceful state of the extraction fan in the so called en-suite.
The horrible dusty spare mattress under the bed.
The rather botched attempt at DIY to cover up whatever damage was behind the headboard.
And, by far and away the worst thing I've found in my room in the 8 years I've been staying away.
The rodent poison trap under the bed.

Room Tip: Unless it's been renovated, I'd steer well clear of the room on top floor call "Birdcag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank goatiegadget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and was very pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome and great location. The man who opened the door to me turned out to be the cook. He couldnt have been nicer and not only provided a lovely breakfast each morning, was full of knowledge throughout my stay e.g. train times, etc. The room was warm and very clean, and well equipped for all my needs. The good weather was an added bonus to an already pleasant stay in the capital. A very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Reading all the reviews I did not have a lot of high expectations from this hotel, but after my 3 nights stay in a twin room (alone) I can tell I was more than pleased and happy with my choice!

The room has all the facilities you need (en-suite bathroom with toilet, flat screen TV, coffee-tea, towels, shower gels, free wifi, etc.) Continental breakfast is included (the breakfast is only some cereals and toast, but you can ask for a full english aswell). The price is surprisingly reasonable, at least for a twin/single room. The receptionists were soo friendly and helpful, one of the nicest staff members I've ever met during my trips.

The location is wonderful, 15 minutes walk from the beautiful city centre of Edinburgh. Although the hotel is located at a very busy main street, the rooms are quiet. The train station and bus stops are only 20 metres away. If I will visit Edinburgh again, I would like to book a room there again, definitely!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Palace Residential
Palace Residential
#134 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Apartments
Haymarket Apartments
#7 of 214 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
West End
The Hostel
The Hostel
#108 of 214 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Lets Edinburgh
#147 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guards Hotel

Property: The Guards Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Guards Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Guards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guards Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing