We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Edinburgh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capital View Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Capital View Apartments
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay in Edinburgh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We (family of 2 adults + 2 kids 12 & 9 y.o.) stayed in the appartment for 3 nights; far too short to get to know Edinburgh in full, but we enjoyed it immensely, partly thanks to the perfect location of the apartment.
Its small: 1 double bed + 2 comfy sleeping couches in the 1 room appartment, but with the intelligently furniture its okay for a couple of nights, if you're with close family or best friends.
For a younger couple it should be near perfect.

Princess str and gardens + Scott monument can be seen from the appartment and Sainsbury is ± 5 min. walk away on Rose str. The Royal Mile is about 2 min. walk and Waverly station ± 5 min. downhill, ± 10 min. uphill. See the picture taken from the appartment's window for the view.

The ideal location, free wi-fi, well equiped kitchen, elevator, new and modern shower and magnificient view from the appartment should weigh much havier than the disadvantages: Smalle size and no parking possibilities in front of the appartment. If you're lucky and are willing to take a chance, you can find a spot in front of the pub for loading and unloading, and small size of the appartment.
But who cares, you're staying in the heart and soul of the finest city of Scotland and the UK....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruud W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    36
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
38
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cherkasy, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We booked a studio apartment for 3 people at the end of April and things went smoothly right from the start. The owner is a reliable and efficient correspondent, so communication was great and booking was easy. We arrived rather late (10 pm) but finding the apartment as well as fetching the keys was a breeze. The apartment itself is perfectly located, spacious, comfortable, very well equipped and has gorgeous views. A welcome pack of tea, coffee and Scottish shortbread was a pleasant touch. Thank you, Jill! We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank afinna17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great flat, unbeatable location! You are right in a perfect location to walk to the old town or new town.

And the views are amazing!

There were 4 of us, and it didn't feel too crowded.

Overall great experience

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great Location and Views. We were a family of five and arrived in Edinburgh by train. The flat was only a five minute walk from the station. We elected to cook and eat in the flat. The kitchen is well equiped and the shops were nearby. We all had a great nights sleep. The bathroom was clean with an excellent shower. Capital View Apartments are a good option for a family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duncan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is a great little flat in the heart of Edinburgh. Modern, clean and stunning views. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaeldpedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Fantastic location, so close to major tourist attractions and the train station. Everything was clean and the kitchen had everything needed to self cater. Beds were comfortable and it was quiet at night. I arranged this sight unseen on the internet from Australia and was delighted with our stay. I worked out the details with Jill via email and she was great, I'd recommend it happily,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doodlesMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAHRAIN
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Will start by thanking Jill for her prompt communication and my apologies for being lazy posting this review.

The location is on the mound (bus stop), 5 mins walk from Waverly Station and 10 minutes from Princes Street (upslope). For the price of a standard hotel room you get a large self contained apartment, bang in city center, a stone through from every historic sight you would want to cover.

The place is very neat, and modern. I especially loved the table where the chairs just fit in without taking space (Jill, please let me know where you got it from). Our room had 4 windows 2 overlooking Princess street gardens and on a clear day you can see the distant firth of forth. 1 overlooking the Bank of Scotland and a fourth small one in the toilet with a view of the next building.

Checkin was smooth, we had arrived early and found the service lady in the flat who we also paid (doesnt get easier). Checkout, you just leave the keys in the flat and lock the door.
Super comfortable bed, folder with brochures of all attractions (real sweet touch), short bread and coffee to get you started.

Bathroom was also luxurious, with a fully enclosed glass shower. It took us some time to learn how to get the adjustment right, prior to that the water was steaming hot. The building is very quiet and well maintained for its age. We didn't encounter any fellow travellers or use the laundry on the lower floor.

Overall, a superb experience .. give me a good deal Jill .. cant wait to get back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indieglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Advocates Apartments Royal Mile
Advocates Apartments Royal Mile
#148 of 214 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Residence
Royal Mile Residence
#87 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View Apartments

Property: Capital View Apartments
Address: 13 North Bank Street, Edinburgh EH1 2LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital View Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very centrally located apartment’s right in the heart of the Old Town in Edinburgh with terrific views. We are located next to the Royal Mile, Princes Street and the castle. Each apartment can sleep up to 4 people and has recently been refurbished. These non-smoking apartments are self-catering and have a serviced lift/elevator. All electricity is included, as is free Wi-Fi internet access, all bed linen and towels and free use of private laundry (washing machine and dryer). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Capital View Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing