We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More show than substance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Lovely-looking but ill-designed room meant nowhere near mirror to plug in hairdryer; kettle had to be plugged in awkwardly (and dangerously) on floor near the door. Wardrobe so full of things already -- coffee tray; hair dryer; and goodness knows what -- that space for clothing severely limited. Television channels limited; Radio Three missing from radio line-up. Restaurant at dinner notable for number of things that were already not available -- and we were eating quite early. Even crepes suzette were sold out -- but, hold on, don't you make them, not buy them in?? Ditto cooked breakfast; one person managed a kipper, but that was the only kipper. Appalling breakfast toast, just soggy rather than crisp. Breakfast fruit juice choice on second day was ... just orange juice. That said, remaining continental breakfast array excellent. Staff -- mostly -- friendly and helpful. but wine waiter at dinner far too aggressive in refilling glasses until bottle was empty and then trying to persuade another purchase. To cap it all, final bill included a complete stranger's room charge as well, though this was swiftly rectified. A lovely building, in a terrific situation, but far more show than substance unfortunately.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Du Vin for one night, staff were attentive, the building is lovely, an old lunatic asylum! The bistro is very nice, and there is a courtyard and cigar bothy to the front. We didnt eat in the bisto -we actually ate at Passorn Thai not far from here which was delicious ! but we did have a few drinks upstairs which was nice. The rooms are nicely decorated, modern fittings, probably did not live up to the price they asked but considering edinburgh hotel prices and the location it was reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonKymani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

An amazing experience! From the beginning until the end. We have had the Dom Perignin room. Incredible room, warm welcom from all the member of staff. We also had meal in the Bistro, which was beautiful. The food, the wive, the service and the atmosphere. Great knowledge of the staff, friendly and very helpful.
We did not have to ask for anything, all of our need have been provided even before we would wanted to ask for it!
Will bw back!!!
Thank you very mouch

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markpatonyi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Have eaten here before but not stayed. Room had bit of an "individual" feel to it - liked toiletries & mini-bar options (no chocolate to eat which was missed!) if I'm being hyper-critical, perhaps room was a little on the small side - if there had been 2 of us in it, would have been bumping into each other. We had a private room (Bedlam room) for a business dinner, staff were very nice but felt there was no-one in overall charge & felt a bit forgotten about - no-one went through the meu with us, weren't told what the soup of the day was, drinks ordered went astray & a gin & tonic arrived that wasn't for us. My main course was burnt round the edges. One of our guests asked for coffee to be served with others desserts as needed to leave, it didnb't come & he left without coffee. So nothing major but lots of little niggles

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retreatScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Firstly the correspondence from the hotel to my home pretrip was quick, polite and exact. Once we arrived the service at the front desk was wonderful.Everyone was polite and very helpful. Our room was small but very well appointed. I loved the shower and the heated floor tiles and towel warmer. The bed was extremely comfy with nice linens.
My favorite thing was the breakfast and the breakfast room. We had the traaditonal scottish brekky which was so nicely presented and delicious. The liitle nook with the continental breakky choices was straight out of a magazine. Delicous yogurts and fruits, drinks in gorgeous dispensers, fabulous bread choices. Worth the $.
The location is great...Just off the Royal mile. The staff held our bags while we explored the city on check out day.I would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: If you request a view they will try to give you one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Loved this hotel. Great location, helpful & friendly staff. The decor in the hotel was lovely & our room was great - clean, comfy, quiet. Nice touches such as coffee machine & good toiletries! Would def stay here again if I came to Edinburgh & would def go to another Hotel Du Vin elsewhere in the country - very impressed!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Lovely hotel & staff. Would have given 5 stars but there was a mix up with our reservation. To be fair we were upgraded and given a bottle of wine to make amends. Gorgeous dinner and breakfast - price was very reasonable and good quality food. Pleasant waiting staff.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ainthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,237 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#78 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £99 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing