We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round - room, food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #64 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Chislehurst, Kent
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent all round - room, food and service”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed here for one night on business. Only a standard room but more than adequate and I thought facilities, bed comfort and standard of furnishings were excellent. Dinner was excellent (thoroughly recommend the cheese souffle) and also a very wide choice at breakfast. Efficiency and politeness of staff at reception couldn't be faulted, and overall value for money at the rate I obtained was also very good. highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentishMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    344
    124
    57
    11
See reviews for
111
597
43
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Great hotel really cool lovely outdoor area also the rib eye steak was to die for and the chef prepared his own sauce and came out and introduced himself which was a nice touch!!! Staff were great we were partying with friends over and they didn't mind at all!! Definatley go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slinkym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Good location to see majority of sites, very good service overall and lovely rooms. We were upgraded to a suite which was large and beautiful, albeit a little dark, their lighting is quite subtle. Our room was at the front which was very noisy Saturday night/early hours Sunday, however, not the hotel's fault as I'm sure they do have double glazing, it just the drunks had loud voices! As with other reviews, great shower, lovely stand alone bath with good quality products. Good food, excellent breakfast, fast and attentive service in the main although some times in the bar we were waiting to be noticed. It didn't help that the bar was on the first floor and the restaurant on the ground floor, so not many staff walking past to notice you. However, when noticed service was great. One point is that when booking through call centre be sure to get something in writing as I thought I'd booked B&B, however found £190 for Saturday night was room only rate on arrival and had to pay extra for breakfast. We did the Sunday night deal for £45 Superior room (RO rate) if you spent £75 in Bistro (which isn't difficult!) so overall the price worked out ok, and we were upgraded which was appreciated.
Stayed in majority of Hotel du Vin's througout the country and would definitely stay here if we visited Edinburgh again....

Room Tip: Front rooms can be noisy with passing traffic and loud revellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyCouple168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conon Bridge
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed for one night whilst at a function in the city. Running late and had gone to the wrong hotel (Malmaison Leith instead: Note to self.....read e-mails fully!). A helpful receptionist called her sister hotel and they couldn't do more. Despite having no car parking the took my car into their garage as I was running late.

Rooms fantastic with everything you need and more. Room snacks decent value compared to some. Ideal location and good facilities for smokers. Breakfast excellent.

Will be back without doubt. Despite no leisure facilities, a much higher standard than Turnberry for me.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Like all HDV's, they have made a fantastic hotel out of an old building that shows lots of character. Packed full of luxurious touches, the hotel is very stylish. All the staff were wonderful and couldn't help enough. The only shortfall was the room. A little tight on space and the view was restricted to say the least.

The bistro is delightful but comes at a cost. We went for a tarif that included the evening meal, but the choice was very limited (choice of 4 mains, 1 of which they were out of). Maybe we would go for room only next time.

Although the hotel is not right in the heart of the city, everything is within a 10 min walk.

Not the best HDV we have stayed at, but it's still going to be better than most!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGnJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel was booked as a surprise by my partner for my birthday 2 night weekend away. We were booked into the Saintsbury Suite which was huge room with amazing decor, with a huge romantic victorian style stand alone bath which was featured at the back of the room next to a large monsoon shower. The toilet and wash basin was in a separate room. The bed was also very big and very comfortable with soft and very warm duvet and pillows (must have been goose or duck feathers), it was was extremely clean with quality furnishings, everything we needed was already provided in the room such as iron, ironing board, hair dryer etc. The hotel and the room surpassed our expectations, the detail throughout the whole of the hotel was nothing short of spectacular, the rustic cosy atmosphere was amazing. There were lots of lovely rooms outside of the hotel room itself to sit and relax with a glass of wine. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left , staff were polite and helpful, ensuring our needs were catered for. The restaurant was also amazing, the breakfast was beautifully cooked with a choice of pastries, cereals, juices and fruit with a choice of cooked options from the menu, on both occasions i had the salmon and scrambled eggs which was absolutely lovely and my partner had the cooked breakfast which came with the best black pudding we had ever tasted. The location of the hotel was always perfect as it was our first visit to Edinburgh and was about 5mins walk from the Royal Mile and 10mins to the city centre so all the attractions, activities, restaurants and bars were just a short walk away. We would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant, very highly recommended. Lovely experience. Thank you hotel du vin.

Room Tip: The delux rooms are definitely worth the extra cost... amazing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dufftown
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We were booked into the Dom Perignon Suite to Celebrate my 5oth Birthday. The Suite was huge, and no expense has been spared on decor. It catered for our every need,a huge bath and monsoon shower surpassed our expectations, was extremely clean, soft furnishings done with taste using quality materials. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left , staff were polite and helpful, ensuring our needs were catered for.
What l liked the most was the professional manner in which staff conducted their duties, so many places lack professionalism these days , so it was a real treat ! We have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel Du Vin to anyone - Thanks to you all. Karen Vidler 21st October

Room Tip: Park in the NCP Car Park a wee walk away , safe and you get a 20% Discount for staying at the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
911 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing