We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #49 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed over 20th January and had a great time.The ambience of the Hotel is great as is the staff. The staff coulnd'nt be more friendly and helpful.

We stayed in the Grande Dame room which was beautiful and the added extra to the room was a small balcony which overlooked the courtyard below.

Breakfast the next morning was a delight with all the breakfast produce the very best quality, even down to the butter served with the bread basket.

Will definatley return to the Hotel Du Vin.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosalyn776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

I had a great night staying in one of the Suites at Hotel Du Vin! it is very central in a very historic part of the city and although it is a bustling area it is very peaceful and quiet inside. the sttaff are excellent and very attentive and will always strive to meet your every need. the bed and facilities were extremely comfortable and welll laid out and designed. the food and breakfast is a revelation and a great mix of scottish and continental foods are available! definitley recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyerskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

i recently stayed a night with my partner and the night was perfect from start to finish
we stayed in the mouton rothschild room, the room was huge with the double bed taking centre piece ,
the bathroom was also huge, with an old iron bath and a large show,, all fittings were to a high standard
the room in a whole was worth the money ,
we also had dinner in the hotel , the service and food was perfect , we ended the night in the hotel bar in a relaxed atmosphere

we will be sure to be back

Room Tip: the whole place oozes of class , i could only imagine how good the top rooms may be as ours was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirk d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

After a recommendation from a friend, we booked a room for a chilled night after a busy weekend - and what a room! It was absolutely beautiful; cool lighting which could be adjusted for the mood, exposed beams, a massive, ridiculously comfortable bed that could fit 4 people (if that's your bag) and last but definitely not least - a tin bath for two people in the window bay next to the bed - boya!

The attention to detail was fantastic, classy little touches everywhere.

The service from the staff was top-notch, as was the breakfast in the morning. Coffee, pasties and honey straight from the hive - mmmmmmmm :-)

The food in the Bistro was also fantastic, especially the steak, which is probably the finest piece of meat I've had in a while (and I'm a bloke, a straight one at that); and while i only had the one bottle, the wine selection was excellent.

Other cool features include a whiskey lounge (which I never visited) and an outside cigar bothy (which I did) - I'll definitely be visiting the place again and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a classy night away from home in Edinburgh (or brownie points with the lady...)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We booked this hotel for a nice weekend away in Edinburgh and were not wowwed.

We paid £109 per night for room and breakfast, staying for 3 nights.

Friday and Saturday nights were busy and sleep eluded us due to significant noise from creaking floors, plumbing and the tv next door. I thought we had noisy neighbours until I heard the "bing" of their iPhone being plugged in as if it was in the same room as us...

Add to this the irritation of significant maintenance work in our corridor (drills, hammers etc) at 9am and I have to say I won't be back.

The room was pleasant and staff were polite and friendly but the fabric of the building lets them down.

Final Grr moment was when the newspapers we were offered appeared on our bill.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DogbertsCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

have just returned from a 2 day break in edinburgh (19 - 20th jan). this was our first HDV experience and being fans of the malmaison chain, we were expecting great things! thankfully, we weren’t left disappointed and can see why many other reviewers before us have praised it so highly.

the good;
- the hotel is a real character and offers a lovely intimate, cosy atmosphere which was especially nice to arrive back to after a cold day exploring the city! each room has a name as opposed to a number - we booked a superior double and spent the night in the “domval” (no idea how to pronounce the proper name!). room was spotlessly clean, bed very comfy and came with all the usual amenities including coffee, tea and espresso making facilities, free wi-fi, toiletries, mini bar, fridge and proper milk (!). rooms had air-con but heating worked very well too.
- as many others have pointed out, the hotel is just off the royal mile so isn’t far from the main attractions. as you would expect from being in the city centre, many chain and independent restaurants are a short walk away if you fancy dining out.
- the bar area and bistro were fantastic and there was a huge drinks menu to choose from. we had lunch in the bistro which was nice and relaxed, food was tasty and not too expensive either.
- we arrived on an early morning flight and got to the hotel at 9am. of course, we didn’t expect our room to be ready then but the staff were still more than happy to check us in and keep hold of our bags. they also extended our check-out time to 12 (normally 11am) when we asked.

the not so good;
- whilst the staff (particularly in the bistro) were friendly and helpful, we felt some of the reception staff were a little hostile at times (that said, my partner and i used to work in customer service so we may have a more critical eye than some). on one occasion, we returned to the hotel on the morning we arrived as we forgot to take something we needed for the day from one of the bags we left behind. although another member of staff was dealing with us, the girl who checked us in interrupted a phone conversation she was having to tell us that our room wasn’t ready yet. of course, we didn’t expect her to have heard our conversation with her colleague but still found it a bit rude for her to assume what we were there for. she did apologise after. 

in another instance upon check-out, we mentioned that we had a problem with our tv but the same girl, and another female receptionist, both became defensive about the situation and immediately asked if we had reported the issue in a rather abrupt manner. like before, an apology followed shortly after but this was another example of something we felt could have been handled slightly differently by the staff to make us feel less at fault.
-the room we were allocated was lovely although we felt that for the rating, there was a lack of attention to detail in places. the toilet door handle and flush were both slightly loose, the curtain pole was wonky meaning we couldn’t fully shut the curtains and the tv picture quality was extremely poor. we reported this problem to reception before heading out for dinner and were told there were signal issues due to the weather (although the weather wasn’t particularly bad for the time of year!). however, we were having issues with digital channels (sky news was tuned to four different ones for instance) which technically shouldn’t be affected by weather which led my partner to believe there was a problem with the wiring. they did go to the room to check the issue while we were out although the problem wasn’t rectified. we were asked to call reception again if there was still an issue but once we came back to our room, we felt it was too late to make a fuss about it.

other tips;
- there’s a great cafe just round the corner from the hotel called mum’s which is ideal for grabbing a hot breakfast on the cheap.
- if you’re coming to edinburgh by plane, the airlink bus service is an easy way to get to the city centre. it takes about 40 mins and costs £6 return. we also used it to get to the zoo and because the service announces every stop along the route, it’s really easy to know when you need to hop off.
- as others have pointed out, the hotel can be noisy due to its location. we were woken during the night by drunks and the bin men in the morning but this didn’t particularly bother us as we sort-of expected it being in the city centre. if noise is a real issue for you, request a room in the courtyard.
- if you’re planning to go to edinburgh zoo, seeing the pandas is a must! make sure you pre-book a time slot on the website before you go though.
- we used a cab company called capital cars during our visit. they have a free iphone app which you can use to book cabs while you’re out and about which was really handy! they offer 20% off your fare too but you have to mention it to the driver when you get picked up.
- not necessarily a complaint, but the blinds in our room weren’t black-out. one of the blinds came with curtains but the other didn’t as it was by the sink. not so much a problem in winter when it doesn’t get light early but something to bear in mind if you want a lie-in over the summer!
- the room came with a dvd player and whilst we’ve stayed in mals that offer a dvd rental service, this wasn’t available here. again, it’s not something we’d complain about (although it was a little inconvenient considering the tv didn't work properly!) but it seems pointless to put a dvd player in a room without offering dvds to rent - it's not like we’d bring our own just in case!

despite a few issues we wouldn’t hesitate to stay at the HDV next time we’re in edinburgh. if you looking for a unique place to stay which offers great rooms at a decent price (our stay cost £109) in a fantastic location, give this place some serious consideration. it gets a thumbs up from us!

Room Tip: request a courtyard room if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou2188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We were given vouchers for the cocktail afternoon teas as a christmas present. 5 of us went including a small baby who was made very welcome as indeed we all were. The Whisky Lounge where we were seated was comfortable and the staff friendly. We had lovely food- sandwiches, scones with cream and jam, cakes and biscuits. The cocktail was Mayfair Martini and was so delicious we had second one. Individually, each member of staff was pleasant and professional, particularly the young man who brought the cocktails but overall there was the feeling that the staff didn't work as a team. We got a bill that forgot we had vouchers and some of the delivery of our orders was slow. Nevertheless, a great day out.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaoHaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,405 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,207 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £109 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing