We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Nearby Hotels
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,158)
Filter reviews
1,158 results
Traveller rating
559
386
133
63
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
559
386
133
63
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonsoon showerroll top bathwhisky snugcigar bothyhdv edinburghoverlooking the courtyardroyal milesuperior roomfree standing bathlovely hotelnational museum of scotlandeggs benedictnespresso machinemini barlovely roomedinburgh hotelboutique hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
829 - 834 of 1,158 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Fantastic stay here - wonderful, quirky hotel with friendly, helpful staff.

Nabbed the Veuve Cliquot room on the 3rd floor - superb. Yes there's a flight of stairs to negotiate to the rooms up there, but as it's a wonderfully converted old building, chocked-full of character, it's not a big deal.

Great food at night and ace breakfast.

5 min walk to The Grassmarket and 10 min walk to the Royal Mile.

NCP car park very close with discount for hotel guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkAndMorag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Like the previous reviewer, we had a room on the third floor with a rather unnecessary bath in the middle of the room. The route to the room involved a lift to the second floor, a hike around the periphery of the building, and then up another flight of stairs.
The room itself had a very comfortable bed, a huge walk-in shower, a mirror/basin area and a separate toilet. There was a very narrow sort-of sofa thing at the bottom of the bed and a single upright chair - in my view, the room would have been much better without the bath and with a nice large sofa.
Also, either my eyes are getting exceptionally dim, or there seemed to be some very "economical" lighting.
However, unlike the previous reviewer, I was impressed with the sound-proofing from the Night Club opposite, and could hardly hear it above the continually-necessary air-conditioning. However, my sleep was disturbed by a very creaky floor-board right outside our door.
Having said all that, the Hotel did get several thing very right e.g. free proper milk in the mini-bar (I hate UHT in my tea), and friendly and helpful receptionists.
Its position is outstanding for the Fringe, with even the EICC being only about 20 minutes walk away, the Udderbelly and Pleasance Dome about 2 minutes and the Pleasance Courtyard about 5 minutes.
Having visited the Fringe for the last 5 years, I can also reassure the previous reviewer that £280/night is not bad, and only about £50 more than the Travelodge during August! I know where I would rather stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickLz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel du vin early August when we were in town for the festival. Very central to all the action but also far enough away to be quiet. Quite something for a city centre location. We had an upgraded room which was stunning, well equipped, great bath tub and bathroom. Super, super clean and smart, very current and on trend. We booked the French bistro for dinner, excellent service, great,tasty food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aj2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I visited Hiotel du Vin Edinburgh with clients on Wednesday late afternoon before going to a show. I thought, great place for a glass of wine and some nibbles beforehand - oh no, how wrong was I?! Cheapest bottle of rose or red was £28! The price had gone up overnight by 40%!
The sharing platters were also very poor value for money and boring! Cheese and charcuterie, not good and the bread was stale. I wanted to impress my clients and did not manage that. Service was poor too, no smiles about these waiters! I won't be back and neither will my clients!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghMaggie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hotel is very close to Edinburgh Castle and in the middle of the Centre of Edinburgh! The rooms are great: Very nice beds, good bathrooms with bad and floorheating, and the service of the employees are very good! Good restaurant with food for everyone. All to all, best hotel in our Scotland trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThijsPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews