We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edinburgh made better by choice of hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Edinburgh made better by choice of hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed with my partner at the hotel du vin last week and we couldn't have chosen better! Parking is signposted on the website and though it appears to be a fair walk, in reality it is not far. The reception give you 20% off and this makes it a pretty reasonable cost for city centre parking. On arrival the manager on reception showed us to our room and carried our luggage for us. This set the scene for our dealings with the staff, as they genuinely could not do enough for you. Everything was done with class and with an air of sophisication rather than the overly friendly and fake customer service that is adopted in some hotels and shops which i frankly end up becoming irritated by! In particular i must say we were impressed with Wilbert, the bar manager, who provided us with cocktails and cigars and would go out of his way to ensure we were taken care of. I am now addicted to espresso martini's (and his were the best!)

Rooms: We stayed in a standard room as due to a wedding the superior ones were fully booked one day of our stay. I as initially worried it would be too small after reading reviews on here, but i need not have worried. I am not sure were people have stayed previously but our room (Laroche) was very spacious and we were there for 4 days. The showers are amazing, and the espresso machines in the room caused me much excitement! Some people have commented that it was noisy - we were overlooking the central courtyard and heard very little. The smokers hut in the courtyard is vacated by half 10 and no drinks are allowed outside after 10, so it is not like people congregate out there late. The only thing that did keep me awake was the air con (very loud!) but easily solved by turning it off over-night and then on again in the morning when using the shower! Would definately recommend doing this if you are a light sleeper.

Food: We ate breakfast in the hotel on two occasions, and had a meal in the bistro on one night. I found the breakfasts adequate rather than amazing, however the meal on the evening was really very good. I ate from the prixe fixe menu, whereas my boyfriend went for a la carte options. I was wondering if i would notice a difference between the two meals (e.g. mine being prixe fixe whether the portions would be smaller or of a less quality) but both were superb. I had eggs benedict to start and a steak onglet. Everything was cooked to perfection, and portions were so good i did not have room for a sweet. The eggs benedict at the meal made me want to try the breakfasts, so the next two mornings i dragged my boyfriend down to try and get another amazing dish. To my disappointment the same care did not apear to be taken over the breakfast, and the eggs benedict just did not compare to the starter. It was not bad per se (still very good as breakfasts go!), just small details made it not perfect such as the muffin being slightly overdone or the egg slightly overdone. Just a shame the detail applied in the evenings was not matched on a morning, however it really is a very slight complaint overall and not something that would stop me returning!

Overall: Could not recommend the hotel enough, we will definately be returning as compared to some of the prices we have paid in Edinburgh previously for Novotel's or some other more budget chain we got so much more here by paying a little more. Even the standard rooms are worth it, so please don't hesitate!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are FINE - the courtyard rooms definately seem quieter so request one of these when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank las_lorien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    331
    123
    56
    10
See reviews for
102
578
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
G and rach in the frew
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

If i could have moved this hotel to a quieter part of town i would have given it a much better rating however this was what the lasting memory will be.
After a stay in perth my wife and i came to edinburgh to enjoy another night together. On arrival we discovered that parking was non existent both outside or near to the hotel. I abandoned the car a few streets away to check in and was informed of an NCP car park just a minute or two away from the hotel. The staff were friendly on arrival and the hotel itself was very nice and modern. Our room was nice, bathroom lovely and i can honestly say that this might just have been the best shower i will ever have in my life!! I will definitely be looking to purchase a shower like this for my own home.
After enjoying a night out we returned around midnight and this is where it started to falter. All we heard all night were police, fire and ambulance sirens.....my wife woke up at one point and told me to turn the tv off but i had to inform her that the noise was coming from outside! This gave us a laugh however we were both pretty grumpy come the morning after a lack of sleep.
Breakfast was gorgeous and service good.

Nice hotel in a good location off the grassmarket but probably wont return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trueblue2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Went here last Sunday afternoon to celebrate two friends birthdays and had afternoon tea with fizz. Loads of cake, scones, sandwiches,rolls, gream and jam to go with the tea coffee and champagne in a beautiful little longe served by a lovely handsone chap! We got a discount because we waited longer than ezpected for service but dont let that put you off! Lovely!!

Room Tip: Sunady afternoon was nice and quiet after a mornings shopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clertygertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

In Edinburgh for the weekend (a friend's birthday party) and it was difficult to choose a hotel. We have stayed at several other hotels du vin and probably knew what to expect. Location is very good, but Edinburgh is a relatively small city. Most tourist attractions are within walking distance of the hotel, and the castle is only a 10 minute walk maximum.

As usual, the restaurant/bistro is really the focus of the hotel, and means there is little in the way of lobby/public areas because the bistro takes up most of the ground floor space. The food is good, service also good.

Our room was disappointing. Great in the sense that it was very quiet (as for the top floor because I imagine the lower floors are not quite as noise-free) and the bed was very comfortable, but as usual the Du Vin's weird design features ruin the experience. The bathroom is vast (as big as the bedroom and the worst thing is that it is open plan. Completely. So the bath is in the middle of the floor, and the toilet is completely open too. Doesn't matter how long I have known my other half, I still think it is crazy to have an open plan toilet.

Being 40 something, I think I am slightly too old for this hotel chain and its wacky open plan toilets. It's a shame because the service is good and the overall concept is appealing.

Would not choose a du Vin again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't have an open plan toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Called in unplanned on a wet day in the Capital. A guy called Graham looked after us as if we had been his best customers for years. Chef with a fertile mind and great menu to choose from. The enthusiastic staff gave every assistance in the choice of food and wine. Great ambiance. Could have happily stayed all afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnieamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Hotel is very well situated, near to Univ of Edinburgh and the old town. The staff were very helpful, accommodating and friendly. The room was clean and well appointed, though small, especially the bathroom. We had dinner one evening at the hotel -the dining room is lovely, the steak excellent, but the appetizers and sides were just okay. the wine selection, was very good, . There are far better choices in the city for the money.
The hotel property itself is terrific - lots of history and character (it was the old asylum!)..

Room Tip: get a delux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AUDEIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Despite being Edinburgh locals, this was out first experience of Hotel Du Vin, and we were not disappointed. The place has soul and the staff have personalities!

We stayed in the ERRAZURIZ suite on the first floor. What a beautiful room. Fitted out with Bose surround sound system, Nespresso machine, fully stocked minibar, excellent toiletries, his and her sinks and showers. There was nothing we could have wanted that wasnt there.

Dinner was also a great experience. Knowledgeable and friendly staff, not pushy, perfect space between courses and of course, the food was excellent.

After dinner we made out way to the bar and enjoyed a few drinks.

Breakfast was probably one of the best selections I've seen. Many options including full breakfast, waffles, duck eggs and haggis followed by a very nicely presented table of pastries, mini-muffins, yoghurts all of the highest quality.

For smokers, they even have a wee snug in the courtyard with sofa, chairs and heating. Not the usual after thought in most establishments.

We loved our stay and can't enthuse enough about the whole experience.

We'll definitely go back and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing