We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #70 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a one night stay in a superior room. Lovely room with a roll top bath and rain forest shower. All staff were attentive, friendly and courteous and a credit to the hotel. The breakfast was delicious, we enjoyed the cooked option. Gorgeous, cosy hotel - can't wait to return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mint a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear mintaero,

Thank you very much for your review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It is with great pleasure to read you and your partner had a lovely stay with us. I am delighted to note the staff were outstanding on this visit and that you particularly enjoyed your breakfast.

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you return to us in the near future.

Best wishes,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    331
    124
    56
    10
See reviews for
103
580
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

NewsBase held it's annual corporate dinner for 40 people at HDV Edinburgh on 11 January 2014. As MD, I cannot speak highly enough of the way that we were looked after from the moment that we arrived on Saturday afternoon to the time that we sadly had to leave on Sunday. The hotel was excellent in all ways, with fantastic rooms, excellent food and drink and tremendous service from the staff. Planning for the event was made easy by Emma as a result of which there were no last minute niggles, or indeed, any problems at all - professionalism was evident throughout.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear WillC,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted to read you had a great Corporate event at the hotel and that all your guests had an amazing time. My team are a great credit to the hotel and I will be sure to advise Emma of your lovely feedback.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed in Hotel Du Vin Edinburgh as a pre christmas shopping break. The hotel was beautifully decorated for christmas and I loved the decor throughout the hotel. We stayed in a superior room as we took advantage of an offer and wasn't let down. The freestanding bath makes these rooms and one of the first things I did was have a bath! As the shower and bath area are open plan these type of rooms are not for the shy and retiring..little on the dark side in terms of lighting but I quite liked that. The service from every member of staff we encountered was excellent. The food in the bistro was also very good but maybe a little bit on the expensive side depending on your budget. Would definitely stay here again I loved the superior room and freestanding bath!

Room Tip: If money allows opt for superior room or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bananarama30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Bananarama30,

Thank your very much for your taking your time to post a review following your recent stay at Hotel du Vin, Edinburgh. I am delighted to read you had the most enjoyable time with us and enjoy the quality of our rooms and the service from my team.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again, in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Had a whisky tasting session booked as a gift. When I turned up there was actually no record of my booking but the bar staff were exceptionally accommodating (including a drink on the house by way of apology). Apologies I've forgotten the name of the barman who greeted me and arranged the tasting at short notice.
Dominic the sommelier was very knowledgable and approachable. The whiskies were varied to give a good impression of the different flavours produced by distilling/storing methods.
All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryCousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear GerryCousins,

Thank you for your review, following a Whisky Tasting with Dominic at the hotel. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable and memorable visit, leaving with much more knowledge on Whisky. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team.

Many thanks and hopefully see you back soon for an advanced tasting.

Best regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Very cosy and lovely hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. The food is awesome. The bedrooms and bathrooms were great. Location also perfect. Good location to have a conference or team building. Sightseeing great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyCapeTwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear WendyCapeTown,

Thank you for your review following your visit with us in November. It is with great pleasure to read you had a great stay with us and recommend us to others.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food and I will be sure to pass those onto our chef and kitchen team.

Many thanks again and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best wishes,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon when visiting Edinburgh. Hotel centrally located and managed to stop outside to unload luggage.
We were emailed the week before to be on standby upgrade (for a price) and very delighted to be upgraded to a suite called Errazuriz.
First impressions the room is lovely. Open planned with a massive telly, it was the first thing my husband went to in the room. Sound system, coffee machine, fridge, open plan bath and amazing monsoon showers.
This room is on the first floor and it was a bit annoying as the floor above was creaky you could hear other guests moving around. Also the room doors closing shook our whole room and this is more or less constant, soft close doors would of been ideal. The room is located at the front of the hotel, and the traffic noise didn't bother us, but as you are above the hotel entrance and possibly the kitchen the noise was constant. And I mean at 6.30am not so bad when throughout the day. Be prepared for banging doors and what sounded like metal barrels being moved.
If you can afford to upgrade I would try a quiter room. I love the hotel it's gorgeous, we didn't get to try the public areas, claret bar or whisky snug but they looked very inviting, not too busy either. I would stay here again but wouldn't pay to upgrade if it was this suite.
Also remember to ask about car parking discount on check out. We forgot so didn't get 20% discount. Adds up when you've been there a few days.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank caz_bpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear caz_blackpool,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. Firstly congratulations on your nuptials and I am delighted you had a lovely stay with us. Please do accept my apologies regarding some of the noises heard, I will have my maintenance team investigate the door closers, to ensure they close much quieter.

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerns Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We visited this hotel for the 4th time in 3 years. We enjoy staying here because this is a hotel where you can actually spend time either in your room or in the other public rooms and still feel comfortable and at home. The standard rooms are very small though, and we always spend some money on a larger room such as the open plan rooms or a suite. To us these larger rooms are well worth their price. The beds are super comfortable and we always sleep very well here. Bathrooms are nice as well, sometimes with not so much room to put all the girls stuff. Bath tubs (rolltop tubs) are great. Wardrobes provide enough space for clothing.

Food in the Bistro is good and the wine selection is perfect. Also the upstairs bar is a nice place to spend time. Personnel is always very friendly and do their best to make you feel at home.

What we have observed during the three years since we know this hotel is that the rooms are getting a bit worn down now. We stayed in the Gaudium room for a week during Christmas 2013 and in the first night the flushing of the toiled broke (!). Not exactly what you enjoy on a 24th of December morning... Anyway, the guy at the reception gave us another room so that we could use the toilet there until ours got fixed a couple of hours later. Last time we stayed here (did not write any review) one year ago, in another suite the light in the bathroom did not work properly, and the handle of the balcony door almost fell off. Such things and other little details give us the feeling that the rooms are getting a bit "tired". The du Vin people would do well at taking a real close look especially at the bathrooms and try out all showers and handles and lamps and stuff and also give everything a real good clean up (yes, there are some spots in the bathroom which have not seen a cleanig cloth for a very long time). It is not a cheap hotel and as a guest you do expect a certain level of quality in the rooms.

We have looked at other hotels as well but they do not have the ambiance of the du Vin, so we hope very much that our favourite will pick up a bit by next time we visit Edinburgh.

Room Tip: The Gaudium room is a large and quiet room with a large bathroom. La Grande Dame is large room/sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Berit G,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us over Christmas. I am delighted to read you have become a fan of Hotel du Vin and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again the future.

Thanks for advising of the minor issues you experienced and I will be sure to have our maintenance team go around and check many of the appliances. Unfortunately at time, things do go wrong but are easily rectified. I am very happy to read that the team did offer an alternative room for you to use, until we have your toilet flush fixed.

Thank you for the lovely comments regarding the food and wine in the Bistro. I will be passing this on to my team whom I know will be very grateful.

Once again Berit, thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back again later this year.

Best regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing