We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Had lunch yesterday and the food was delicious. I had salmon to start, then steak and frites, then rhubarb crumble. The salmon was tiny but tasty. The steak was small but enough for lunch. The frites were delicious, and if you wanted vegetables there was a charge. The rhubarb crumble was absolutely lovely but came with cream, I personally would have preferred custard. A bit of a wait in between courses but we were not in a hurry. I would say it is worth the £16.95 that is charged for lunch, however a small glass of rosé wine was £7.00 which us steep.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Scottishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear ScottishPerson,

Thank you for your review following your lunch with us. It is with great pleasure to read you had an enjoyable lunch and found the dishes well executed. Our lunch is great value for Edinburgh and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Quick stop to hydrate in these lovely surroundings. Bar ran well , quick ,very courteous service by young barman . Polite and efficient and chatted with interest. Will return. Music not intrusive and a nice way to unwind.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Jason,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent visit after your blood donation. It pleases me to read that the bar team looked after your needs and took the time out to chat with you. Please do come visit us again soon.

Regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for a nite in the henley vineyard, had got upgraded wen we went, bathroom was stunning, massive, room was lovley, sitting in room n about 9.30 the shower went on by its self probably the ghosts letting us know they r there, only down side is the slightly over priced price of vodka but apart from that would highly recommend it to Anybody :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missbk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear MissBK79,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the room was perfect for your needs. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My partner and I visited the restaurant for valentines day. We were in the room just off the reception which was very nice and atmospheric. I've eaten in the main room before which is excellent too.

We had the valentines menu and we were both happy with our food. The service was also very good.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Apache_ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Apache_Mal,

Thank you very much for your lovely review following your Valentines Dinner with us in February. I am delighted that you had a nice evening and enjoyed the ambience of our Burke & Hare suite and my team have enjoyed looking you and your partner that evening.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

To treat ourselves for our wedding anniversary we just had a midweek break in this charming hotel.
It's in a really great location for the castle, the Royal Mile and Grassmarket as they are all in easy walking distance.
We had breakfast included and took full advantage enjoying both the buffet style continental offering and the freshly cooked hot food.
Having seen previous comments about noise we asked for a room facing the courtyard. I think we probably sacrificed a larger bathroom and floor space for a good nights sleep, but it was well worth it.
This hotel would be ideal for anyone wanting to explore Edinburgh.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NaughtyPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear NaughtyPP,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests last week for your Wedding Anniversary and I am delighted to read you had a pleasant stay. Our hotel is a great little quaint hideaway and usually noise free, however I am glad you had a peaceful break.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the very near future.

With best regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just returned from a great 3 day weekend at Hotel Du Vin Edinburgh.

We arrived to find our room had been upgraded to a junior suite to our great joy. What a great hotel we could not fault the service we received and would like to Thank Sandy in the bar for helping to arrange table bookings for us at the Shore where he recommended two great restaurants.

We also had Sunday brunch in the Bistro this was excellent both staff and food. Nothing is too much trouble.

Thanks HDV for another great weekend we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Penevans,

Thank you for your lovely review of Hotel du Vin and Sandy in the bar. I am delighted you had a fabulous stay with us and the team looked after all your needs. Our Sunday Brunch is such a treat and highly recommended. It is a pleasure to have hosted you and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

With best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for a wedding anniversary treat and HdV was the perfect place for such a special and romantic break. We know Edinburgh quite well but haven't stayed here although my wife and I have enjoyed their fabulous selection of wines on several occasions. When we arrived we were informed that we'd been upgraded to a Studio Suite, that made our weekend right from the start. When we entered the room we found strawberrys dipped in chocolate and a beautifully presented red rose for my wife! Lovely!

The staff are so courteous, pleasant and do their utmost to give you a warm welcome. Cátia dealt with our check in/out and showed us round the suite to make us feel at home. She clearly enjoys her job and is a credit to HdV. There are lots of cosy places in the hotel to relax, read a book or magazine and being just a relatively short walk to the centre it's location is perfect.

There are so many places to stay in Edinburgh but after this weekend we really don't need to go anywhere else even if we stay in a standard room which look stunning too. Thank you Cátia and HdV for a beautiful stay, you made us feel so special!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank beachandsun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear beachandsun2,

Thank you very much for your delightful review of Hotel du Vin and for your kind words regarding Catia. Your feedback has already been shared with the team who are all delighted. We are here to ensure we surprise and delight our guests at every opportunity and I am glad you enjoyed these moments.

My team do work hard to ensure all guests have a great stay and leave with the hope of returning again. Once again thank you.

Best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,385 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,097 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £111 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing