We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY BIRTHDAY TREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #70 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“LOVELY BIRTHDAY TREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Given £50 HDV voucher for 50th birthday, decided to book Sunday night offer in a superior room. On arrival we were given an upgrade to a suite. The room was gorgeous with the roll top bath and huge walk-in shower. We couldn't fault anything staff, room and food in the bistro were first class! Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you for your excellent review of Hotel du Vin. I am delighted you had a great stay made up with the surprise upgrade room. It is very welcoming to hear such positive feedback, so thank you. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    331
    124
    56
    10
See reviews for
103
580
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Where to start!

I suppose that I will have to start with the Room! I stayed in the Veuve Chateau room. The one word I have is wow! The old style Victorian bath tub in the window of the room is just to die for, the bathroom was massive and with an incredible rainfall shower head feels like your somewhere else!

I loved the overall design of the hotel its funky and chique with a lot of character from the Cigar bothy in the courtyard to the whiskey room, to the wine tasting room.

The highlight of my stay though has to be the staff. Friendly accommodating and exceptionally knowledgeable. Special mention has to go to Kathy and Magda on the front desk who were tremendous and who nothing was too much trouble. especially when arranging flowers!

Dominick has the award for me though! Knowledge of wine and ports beyond question, he was kind enough to test a few of them on me with our desserts and cheese board and the only word is awesome just awesome he paired everything perfectly. The Raspberry souffle by the way is a must have!

Cant say enough about my stay. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bantry_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Bantry_Dub,

Thank you very much for your delightful review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. My team and I are very thankful for your lovely comments regarding your stay and that you found them very informative on their excellent knowledge.

It is a great pleasure to read the positive feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

With best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had to re-visit Hotel du Vin in Edinburgh. Stayed in one of the suites (upgraded) Brought our dog (brilliantly catered for) and ate in the bistro which was fantastic. Wonderful selection of wine along with the suitable knowledge. Made for a great stay. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klive1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear klive,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh. It is with great pleasure to read about your recent stay and that you found the facilities and services Top Notch. We do like to ensure our guest leave with a memorable experience and thank you for this.

My team and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again, in the very near future.

Best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, we had already paid to upgrade to a Superior room, but on arrival we were given a free upgrade to a suite. Hotel staff showed us to our room, and explained the history of the hotel on route. The Bistro staff were also excellent, and went out of the way to provide perfect service. We will be staying again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Melanie,

Thank you for your lovely review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and that you found the hotel and service team excellent. We are all very proud of our little hotel and thank you again for your positive words.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Booked 6 rooms here as part of a wedding party, mixture of standard and superior rooms to be honest there was nothing between them, the hotel overall was nice but the lounge bar is high up open plan above the restaurant and unbearably hot, I did ask if there were fans and was told only behind the bar and during the summer months, the place is an absolute maze and because there are no room numbers only names I and several of my party found ourselves wandering up and down corridors trying to find a lift or exit, it used to be the insane asylum, and most of our party were near demented by the time we left would be much better with room numbers instead of French wine names/ regions. Parking is a big issue as the hotel entrance is just a few metres from lights and busy junction so difficult to stop and unload luggage, parking is also difficult to get to with the car because of one way system but only a short walk from the hotel suggest have the car park post code. The staff were very good and very helpful, breakfast was outstanding and overall the food was good but very slow to be served. Seemed not to be enough staff on for breakfast or evening meal, This was a good hotel for our location to the wedding venue at the museum tower, but if just visiting Edinburgh I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Elaine,

Thank you for your review of Hotel du Vin. I am sorry to read that you and your party found the hotel a little confusing to find your rooms. All our Hotel du Vins are unique in that we are different from all other hotels in using Wines/Champagnes as room names as this does add to the character of the building and rooms.

Being a City Centre hotel, like the Tower is a City Centre restaurant, there is no parking in our Old Town location. We are lucky to have a single yellow line outside the hotel to allow for our guests to load / unload luggage as this used to be a double line until recently.

Thank you for your lovely feedback on our Bistro regarding dinner and breakfast. We do believe these should be leisurely experiences and want our guests to enjoy the time to relax while dining.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hopefully you will reconsider to using Hotel du Vin again in the near future.

Regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

After reading some good reviews, I booked an afternoon tea as an early Mothers Day treat for Mum & I.
The hotelier lovely & is in an unusual, quirky building. We were sat upstairs overlooking the reception area, which was nice & comfortable.
Glass of fizz plus proper leaf tea was brought whilst we waited. 45 MINUTES LATER the afternoon tea still hadn't arrived. Having asked staff TWICE, we just kept getting told "it's being specially prepared as everything is freshly made".
The afternoon tea eventually arrived & was a major disappointment. Only 3 TINY fingers of bread sandwich each, 2 scones & several mini cakes. The scones were the worst we have ever had. Dry, dense & of rubber like consistency. The only mini cake that was nice was the carrot cake. All of the other cakes were dry. There is no way this afternoon tea had been "freshly made". It was awful.
The only thing to redeem the experience was the service. Very nice.
We were asked if we'd enjoyed our experience. We were honest & said no. This was handed very well & staff apologised, saying they would pass our comments on.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womenabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear womenabroad,

Thank you for your review of your afternoon tea experience with us. I am sorry to read you did not have an enjoyable tea and this is feedback my team have been passed on to ensure no future shortcomings.

I am glad to read you did find our service charming and hopefully you will reconsider to return in the near future.

Regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned from the Hotel du vin in Edinburgh where we had booked the Sunday Evening deal - with us combining an overnight stay with the Sunday brunch. We upgraded to a larger room. Its fair to say the entire stay got off to a pretty terrible start.

Our first impressions were not good - having called the hotel twice to confirm our brunch booking prior to arriving, we were very frustrated to find there had been a mix up with our booking - and the hotel had no record of our table being booked. Initially it appeared we were being told we could therefore not have brunch in the hotel - however when we expressed being unhappy with this, the Bistro manager attempted to make up a spare table in a hallway full of people waiting beside the entrance to the Bistro (with a window looking onto reception) in a hurried manner. As we were preparing to spend in excess of £100 pounds on a brunch we told him this wasn't really acceptable to us - and were allocated a later booking when a table could be 'found'. This meant we had to change our entire plans for the day in Edinburgh, and return 2 hours later for brunch. Overall it made us feel like an inconvenience instead of valued customers. Not impressed.

When we eventually got it - the brunch itself was delicious, with the market table being a highlight - the staff member allocated to the market table did the hotel proud - excellent knowledge of all the food and was really helpful!

After Brunch we checked into our room - again, not impressed. No introduction to the hotel 'chat' - ie no information about hotel facilities/check out times/ect - we really expected better. We were also slightly disappointed with the room - it was clean and large with a lovely roll top bath, however lacked the basic accessories that are found in other hotels - for example, no milk for the tea, plugs which only fit the hotel du vin lamps (so no where to plug in more than one phone or computer), and the room heating went no lower than 16degrees - so it was far too warm overnight! The room was quiet and we slept well with no disturbance.

Our check out was equally un-impressive, with the reception staff not even enquiring as to how our stay was! Really - we would have taken this opportunity to express our displeasure if given the chance, and really this is the sign of a good hotel in our opinion - seeking feedback at the time rather than scouring sites such like this for how their customers feel!!

To summarise, we were disappointed, and felt we over paid for a very very average stay, in a city full of excellent alternative accommodation. Whilst we enjoyed the Brunch - the hotel itself is a let down to the Hotel du vin brand, and really does not live up to its name at all. We will not return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Fiona M,

Thank you for your review of hotel du vin and i am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.

Upon investigation regarding your Brunch booking, you had booked the hotel room and lunch under 2 different names hence your reservation for lunch could not be located. This was later noticed when a table did not turn up at 1pm and further investigation was carried out, with the booking name only noticed from an email address that was supplied upon your registration card.

On check in, my team should have and are normally very good at descripting the facilities on offer at the hotel, regarding checking in times, dinner, breakfast etc. I do find this a very unusual occurance and please do accept my apologies.

All our rooms provide fresh milk for teas/coffees which is located in the fridge, depending on the rooms, could be found inside the wardrobe, or the standalone tea/coffee station. With the hotel being quite modern, we do supply 3 pin plug sockets throughout the room, by the doors, desk and bedside, I am sorry that you could not locate these.

Once again, I am sorry you feel you had an unpleasant experience but i do thank you for the compliments regarding your brunch and that you slept well overall.

Regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing