We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Edinburgh branch of this chain delivers pretty much the same 'cookie-cutter' approach as I've experienced at a couple of the other hotels; the styling is exactly the same albeit in a different location with several local references to provide a unique departure.
You approach through a little courtyard with a setting of 4 person tables which is very popular for meals and drinks through to Reception. The staff are very friendly and courteous.
I had booked the smallest type of room and it has to be said, it was the smallest du Vin room that I had stayed in however, it was very comfortable with all the usual amenities; Nespresso coffe machine, fridge (with fresh milk), safe and bathrobes. The desk was a little on the small side with little room left for much at all.
The hotel directory was being updated and a photocopied sheet explaining the fire safety procedures was left. This meant asking reception for any queries which could've been covered in the absent directory.
Although I'd mentioned the popularity of the courtyard space my room overlooked it and being on the first floor there was some noise from late night revellers.
Breakfasts are good with the option of 'country table' or for a few pounds more the cooked breakfast (but you still get use of the good selection of Dorset cereals, yoghurts, pastries, juices and fruit) with extra coffee/tea and toast offered if you run out!
Edinburgh has an abundance of hotels to offer but the Hotel du Vin, a little off the beaten track, would be worth a visit.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor looking into the Courtyard unless you're an exhibitionist and like noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevieB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear StevieB,

Thank you for taking the time to review our lovely hotel in Edinburgh. I am delighted to read you are a fan of the hotels throughout the country and that you took the opportunity to visit us.

We at Hotel du Vin do pride ourselves to ensure our guests have an excellent stay and do like to ensure our guests make the most of the available areas to enjoy. I am sorry to read you had some noise issues from guest and hope that this was a one off.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

An interesting conversion of an historic building that once served as an asylum, the hotel certainly has that character that you expect from a Hotel du Vin.
The hotel is well situated for access to the Royal Mile, but a bit of a climb fro Princess Street. That said, the city is quite compact so taxis aren't that expensive.
Our standard double was well fitted, but small.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice.
Bar prices were expensive.
We paid £165/night, for B&B, which seemed a lot to us, but that may be Edinburgh prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyBernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear AndyBernadette,

Thank you for your positive review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted to read to had a lovely stay and that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh. Our rooms all vary in size and our best prices can be found on www.hotelduvin.com to ensure you get the best deal for future stays.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Location of HDV is 10 minutes walk from princes street for young and able. The route to the hotel is uphill but it's only £4.90 from Edinburgh Waverley in black cab.

The Hotel is excellent, the room we stayed in was a Spacious superior room with roll top bath and huge separate shower. They were very clean and had all the amenities you would expect.

The staff were friendly, courteous and polite. On arrival our room wasn't ready but left our luggage which was the placed in our room for us on our return. The hotel bar is relaxed, the atmosphere is nice and the staff are friendly.

We will use this hotel on our next return to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Try and get a room closer to the bar area. The hotel is large and getting to some of the rooms is tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Chris,

Thank you for your lovely review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is a little gem and I am glad you had the opportunity to utilise the hotel facilities.

Once again thank you and I look forward to having you return in the near future.

Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent quite a while looking for a really nice Edinburgh hotel for our 1st anniversary and eventually chose a studio suite at Hotel du Vin. I would highly recommend staying here. We stayed for just one night but I wish it had been more. We arrived a few hours before check-in in the hope the room might be ready a bit early. It wasn't but they took our bags and said to try a bit closer to check-in time (3pm) as it might still be ready early. We came back around 2.45 and it wasn't quite ready yet so we sat in the courtyard for a drink. Unfortunately service seemed really slow and before we got to order a drink, someone came to tell us our room was ready. We were shown to our room and told we'd been given a complimentary upgrade to an executive suite! Our bags were waiting in the room for us. I'm not sure exactly why we were given the upgrade (it was a Saturday night too) but it was a nice bonus and more than made up for the lack of service in the courtyard. The room was amazing. Literally one of the best I've stayed in. We had a private balcony looking on to the courtyard, monsoon shower, battleship bath, great smart TV, really comfortable bed and everything was of the best quality. It was well worth the money. As many others have said, the location is also ideal. Upon check-out, I asked if we could have a bit more time and they were more than happy to allow us an extra hour. Perhaps some of these perks won't happen every time but I'd still go back with or without them. Great service overall, lovely room and well worth the money. Great hotel.

Room Tip: Book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zak83c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Zak,

Thank you very much for your review on Hotel du Vin. I am delighted to read such positive feedback and that we made your 1st Anniversary weekend so special. I do apologise for the lack of service in the courtyard and this is something we have since rectified.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and I look forward to taking the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is comfortable, friendly and reasonably priced. The restaurant is very good and the bar is lively and interesting. Key Edinburgh sites are within pleasant walking distance. Parking is available, but it is off-site and several blocks away. All in all, a very good hotel choice. I would stay at Hotel du Vin again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Vaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Vaney,

Thank you for your lovely review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It is very reassuring to receive feedback like yours and a pleasure to read.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the near future.

Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in Edinburgh a lot and try to switch hotels every so often. HdV is a lovely hideaway right in the centre of Edinburgh (and incredibly located for Fringe!).

The rooms vary hugely so can be a bit hit or miss. I've read another review on TA which complained of quite a dark room - something I have experienced myself to a certain extent - but most are wonderful. My particular favourite has a bath tub essentially in the middle of the room!

The food is delicious and the little courtyard a lovely place to sit and relax. I don't think this is the best hotel in Edinburgh but it's definitely one of those with the most character.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank spannavision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear spannavision,

Thank you for your review of Hotel du Vin. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel perfect for your needs. The hotel is indeed a great little hideaway and unique on many aspects.

I look forward to having you return here soon.

Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Enjoyed a lovely 2 night stay here and found all staff very friendly and helpful, food very good but disappointed both mornings when told that the smoked haddock was sold out and this at half 9 plus for sides cauliflower cheese sold out at half 7 on a Saturday night. Saying that the onion soup is superb not tasted one so good as when had lunch small street cafe in Paris ,fabulous. The room was lovely and got an upgrade to a studio room, great size.
Will defo be back though and think will preorder the smoked haddock well in advance

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WendyPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Wendy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review of Hotel du Vin. I am delighted you read you had a great stay and I can only apologise for some of the food items being unavailable on breakfast and during items. We did experience some issues with our fish deliveries hence the issue at breakfast. I can confirm this has all been resolved and should be ready for your return visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back and thank you once again.

Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,408 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,210 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £107 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing