We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #70 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spectacular stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here last night & can honestly say had the best night sleep in a hotel for a very long time. Couldn't hear a pin drop which is rare when staying in a hotel in Edinburgh City Centre.
Upon arrival I was upgraded to a Suite aptly named Krug after one of my favourite tipples. This was a wonderful surprise.
The Bathroom was divine and the highlight was the space & the roll top Bath.
Didn't want to leave my exquisite surroundings so ordered room service which was delicious.
In addition to being spectacular the room has all the usual amenities that you have grown to know and love when staying in a Hotel du Vin.
Breakfast was superb, loads of choice & a really relaxed affair.
As I was checking out it was super busy loads of check in's and out's the one lady on reception really delivered service with a smile and is a credit to the hotel - hats off to you all for making my experience perfect I had a tough day ahead at work so was amazing to have had such a relaxing time before I headed off.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellafarahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Ella,

Thank you for your time to post your review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It is a great delight to read you had a fantastic stay and that we delivered exceptionally for you while here and also upon departure. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to my team, who are a special credit to the hotel.

Once again, thank you very much and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

With best regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    328
    123
    55
    10
See reviews for
102
575
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful overnight stay. Room was very comfortable with some nice touches. Very quiet and had a great nights sleep. Hotel is walking distance into the city and some nice green spaces nearby. Ate at the hotel as well which was good, as per any other hotel du vin really. Would return for sure.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ntraveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear ntraveller,

Thank you for your excellent review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It is an absolute delight to read you had an enjoyable stay and dinner in the Bistro.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We held a reunion there and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, they did everything we asked of them and more. They changed menus to accommodate tastes, ran around finding scissors, blew up balloons and effectively became part of the event. Unlike a lot of places, we didn't get charged for anything until the event had happened and we didn't get charged for any bottles of wine which hadn't been opened (other venues open all the wine and charge you, meaning that a lot is wasted or otherwise disposed of!). The only negative was that they wouldn't give us a discounted rate on rooms for the night, which was a disappointment. But then, that's not the staff's fault!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Susan,

Thank you for your lovely review of Hotel du Vin and it was a pleasure to be a host venue for your reunion drinks. We do pride ourselves in delivering the best hospitality for events and no requests is ever too much.

We do hope to assist you again in the near future for further events.

Regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nicely laid out hotel. Rooms furnished to a very nice standard. Shower was excellent not only simple to use but exactly the correct temperature instantly when it was switched on! Never known a shower do that anywhere in the world! Breakfast was superb as I would expect from this standard of hotel lots of choice to set you up for the day from fresh juices, cereals, pastries fruits and yoghurts along with a nice selection of cooked dishes.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
We had an issue with a meal we had booked one evening which meant we had to go elsewhere to eat and that didnt quite work as I would have expected given the situation but this has now been discussed with the manager who was very understanding.
Overall a good standard of hotel in a good area of Edinburgh, there is an option for Wine Tasting, Whisky Tasting and Cocktail masterclasses in this hotel but as we hadnt seen it advertised we hadnt booked it which we would have done, maybe they need to make sure it is better advertised for people who book?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamenwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Graham,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It is a pleasure to read you had an enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed breakfast on both mornings.

I do apologise about the issue with dinner one evening. Unfortunately the hotel experienced a power cut, which impacted up on the kitchen services and we were unable to do dinner.

Thank you for your patience and understanding and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Then hotel itself was lovely, set back in a peaceful courtyard. It's in a good position to most of the sites and fashionable streets and castle. Taxies are plentiful, drivers friendly and averagely priced.
The welcome from staff on front desk was friendly, warm and helpful.
The room was spacious.
Room service was very good and in a timely fashion.
I've stayed in a few HDV's but this is the worst experience I have had as the maid deliberately left the room dirty. Toothpaste stained dirty sink and shower, faeces around the toilet and the base, there was also traces on the handrail too.she picked up the dirty towels off the floor and refolded them and put them back on the towel rail, she did the same with the towelling robe that I had put on the shower floor to be washed as it had loads of makeup and foundation stains on it, She picked it up and hung it back on the bathroom door peg with the belt retied.
She did the same with the sheets on the bed, it was poorly made with the same dirty sheets from the previous night, makeup and hair product stains as well as hair was still on them.
The bathroom floor was littered with tissues cotton buds and wrappings from products. The bin was still full to the brim.
I have never stayed in a budget room that had such a poor standard of cleaning.
I think it was the deception that was most upsetting, the fact that she pick up dirty items for re-use.
I let the manager know and he was disgusted and very apologetic. He said he would be speaking to the cleaner!
He took a nights fee off of my bill, but the experience put a dampener on the weekend and left a bad taste in my month. I would think twice about staying at another HDV, as they are far from cheap and you expect a certain standard of which I didn't get, it was such a disappointment.

Room Tip: A clean one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belladonnatracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Belladonna,

Thank you for review of Hotel du Vin and once again please do accept my sincere apologies for the poor experience you encountered. It was a pleasure to meet you during the stay and that we could rectify the faults during your stay.

Regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Edinburgh branch of this chain delivers pretty much the same 'cookie-cutter' approach as I've experienced at a couple of the other hotels; the styling is exactly the same albeit in a different location with several local references to provide a unique departure.
You approach through a little courtyard with a setting of 4 person tables which is very popular for meals and drinks through to Reception. The staff are very friendly and courteous.
I had booked the smallest type of room and it has to be said, it was the smallest du Vin room that I had stayed in however, it was very comfortable with all the usual amenities; Nespresso coffe machine, fridge (with fresh milk), safe and bathrobes. The desk was a little on the small side with little room left for much at all.
The hotel directory was being updated and a photocopied sheet explaining the fire safety procedures was left. This meant asking reception for any queries which could've been covered in the absent directory.
Although I'd mentioned the popularity of the courtyard space my room overlooked it and being on the first floor there was some noise from late night revellers.
Breakfasts are good with the option of 'country table' or for a few pounds more the cooked breakfast (but you still get use of the good selection of Dorset cereals, yoghurts, pastries, juices and fruit) with extra coffee/tea and toast offered if you run out!
Edinburgh has an abundance of hotels to offer but the Hotel du Vin, a little off the beaten track, would be worth a visit.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor looking into the Courtyard unless you're an exhibitionist and like noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear StevieB,

Thank you for taking the time to review our lovely hotel in Edinburgh. I am delighted to read you are a fan of the hotels throughout the country and that you took the opportunity to visit us.

We at Hotel du Vin do pride ourselves to ensure our guests have an excellent stay and do like to ensure our guests make the most of the available areas to enjoy. I am sorry to read you had some noise issues from guest and hope that this was a one off.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

An interesting conversion of an historic building that once served as an asylum, the hotel certainly has that character that you expect from a Hotel du Vin.
The hotel is well situated for access to the Royal Mile, but a bit of a climb fro Princess Street. That said, the city is quite compact so taxis aren't that expensive.
Our standard double was well fitted, but small.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice.
Bar prices were expensive.
We paid £165/night, for B&B, which seemed a lot to us, but that may be Edinburgh prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear AndyBernadette,

Thank you for your positive review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted to read to had a lovely stay and that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh. Our rooms all vary in size and our best prices can be found on www.hotelduvin.com to ensure you get the best deal for future stays.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
867 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,407 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing