We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fab suite.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #63 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location and fab suite.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a hotel – we stayed here having received gift vouchers as a Christmas prezzie and had a fantastic time. Our room was upgraded to one of their suites…and this was before they knew it was my birthday! The Krug suite was fabulous, being very luxurious and having a bathroom as big as the large bedroom area. It could actually qualify as having two bathrooms: one with standalone bath and the other with a huge shower. We also really liked the little balcony overlooking the bistro. Bistro closes down around 11pm so no complaints about the noise level, certainly no noise comes in from the street.

The bed was comfortable and MASSIVE! All facilities you would expect (tea/coffee-making; iron and board; wardrobe; safe; mini bar- with actual milk for the tea!; TV) plus some nice extras in the Nespresso machine, free paper and provision of fluffy bathrobes. The room is quite dark, which makes it cosy and great for sleeping.

We had a drink in the pretty courtyard area; we didn’t eat there as we had another reservation but the food looked very good. Probably at the upper end of the bistro scale with mains £18+.

The location is perfect: quiet yet central with cafés, shops, the castle, the Grassmarket and the Royal Mile in very easy reach. It’s about 5 mins walk from the Royal Mile and about 8 mins to the Grassmarket, which has several bars and restaurants. Recommend Biddy’s or Southern Cross for lunch, Mary’s Milk bar for gelato and the Mussel and Steak Bar for dinner. Nearby, Mum’s Comfort Food and The Elephant House do nice breakfasts, too.

The staff were great and we appreciated being able to leave our bags with them before we checked in and after we checked out at no extra charge.

We shall definitely be returning! Thanks for a very nice birthday stay!

Room Tip: If you can, get the Krug!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elsierose1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear ElsieRosie,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Hotel du Vin and a very Happy Birthday to you. I am delighted we made your Birthday weekend so special and that you got to experience the beautiful yet quirky Krug Suite. It was a true pleasure to have you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    345
    124
    57
    11
See reviews for
111
597
43
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Visited this establishment Friday, Saturday and Sunday 13th July 2014.. I've visited their Hotels a lot in York so I knew what to expect in Edinburgh. I was very depressed with the place. It was monotonous, predictable and pedestrian. Same Menu which is so poor it is embarrassing. Meals were tasteless. But on this visit it was not the meals which really concerned me but the management of the place. Run on very few unqualified staff this weekend. It was sad. We were prevented from entering various parts of the Hotel because of private booking of bars and certain rooms. I object to being booked into a Hotel to find that certain prts of it are out of bounds. The Hotel is booked by all clients using the Hotel so I think there should be no double booking rooms! Secondly our bedroom windows were locked without a key to open it at all. I complained to the Manager about the fire risk situation where if there had been a fire in our corridor we would have been trapped in our room with no escape anywhere! The bedroom windows have glass shields across the outside of the windows preventing any access to the upper rooms. HELP. Fire service please do an inspection for our peace of mind.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Ernest,

Thank you for your review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am sorry to learn you were not happy during your stay with us. The hotel is quite a busy destination and that weekend we had several private events taking place which used the many rooms we have to offer. Being a brand hotel, like most, the Bistro menus and Bar menus are the same throughout the group.

Due to Health & Safety, our windows are locked to prevent any accidents that could occur. The hotel has many exit routes on all floor levels in the event, a fire would occur and windows would only be a last resort to use if a fire crew were involved.

Thank you once again.

Regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

First time staying here and we stayed in the Dom Perignon executive suite.

Pro's of the suite were it was very spacious and had an emperor size bed which was very comfortable, a battleship bath which was very deep, a large shower, Juliet balcony overlooking the court yard, 2 large TV's, mini bar, free wifi, nespresso machine, air con and it is in a good location with a lot of different restaurants, pubs, shops etc close by.

Con's of the room were that the Bose surround sound system wasn't working nor was the heated towel rail.

We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Holly,

Thank you for your review of the Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the Suite you had. The BOSE system does work for the CD compartment but not linked with the TV system. The towel rails we turn off during the summer months as the rooms can become quite hot. We can turn these on if a guest requests.

Many thanks again Holly and look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice now. Consistently good. In a great spot..Safe parking nearby discounted for HDV guests. Moat helpful staff, even found space for us to lock up our bikes. Not the cheapest but very comfy rooms, lovely luxury touches. Quiet and quirky hotel and lovely outside courtyard. No great views and don't like the central booking system but, other than that I like this hotel a lot.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 286HannahR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Hannah,

Thank you for your review of Hotel du Vin and great to have you come back as a return guest. I am delighted my team were able to look after you and your bikes during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

HDV is a premium brand and this hotel just doesn't justify that premium. From the graffito on the hotel's sign to the the jammed open Fire Door to the kitchen in the main entrance with "Fire Door Keep Locked" prominently displayed on it, to the sauce bottles on the breakfast dining tables, the image is down rather than up market. We have stayed here on a couple of previous occasions. Time has not been kind to Edinburgh HDV. Our room was shabby but far from chic.

Others have commented on the general air of gloom which pervades the building. Our accommodation was exceptionally so as we discovered on our arrival that one of the one candlepower led lights was out of action. We reported this to reception who said that it would be attended to the following morning which seemed at the time to be a perfectly adequate response. The following morning came and went as did yet another bulb. We managed for three nights without any attempt at a repair being made to either. We did sleep soundly knowing that we were doing our bit for global warming.

The interior of HDV is 'quirky'. Quirky presumably means being unable to stand upright in front of the bathroom sink which was the case in our room (Henley Vineyards). The shaving mirror attached to the wall nearby which is presumably intended to address this shortcoming had chipped the paint from the adjacent wall (which given the gloom was difficult to see).

At breakfast I had the temerity to ask for porridge prior to the cooked breakfast. The response from the waiter was that they would arrive together rather than one before the other!

At checkout I parted with almost £600 for three nights B&B. I won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cimbalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

While the restored building is delightful, it is a confusing layout that is not helped by a lack of signage. Further, the lighting in the rooms is dim and with small windows, it's dark on the sunniest of days. Finally, the HVAC system is inadequate, so the rooms are very warm. All in all, the bells and whistles don't make up for these shortcomings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyLawyer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear LadyLawyer,

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you found the listed building not to your taste regarding signage. The hotel is quite quirky and the signage is located in main areas to ensure ease of moving around. All of our rooms do vary in size due to location, so some windows in the upper old part of the building may have smaller windows. Many of our rooms have floor to ceiling windows which let in plenty of light.

Thank you once again and best regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed on Friday night as we were attending an event at the Lyceum theatre just down the road. It was very much a last minute online booking!

The room was lovely, clean, and comfortable..also despite being on Bristo Street it was quiet! Brilliant really considering it was a Friday night.

Dinner was lovely, we again made a last minute reservation and could only get a table at 6pm which suited us (although, make sure you book in advance if you want a specific time!)

Breakfast was also lovely!

The only negative part of our stay was the bill..obviously we knew how much the room was up front. We had dinner on the Friday evening and put it on the room tab, including a 10% gratuity as it was a tick box on the receipt we had to sign (I think you could choose 5, 10 or 15 percent)..we also had a chocolate bar out of the mini bar! Yum! When the bill came they had included our gratuity, but they had also added their own service charge which was around £8..not much but enough to rattle us as we had already left a tip! Also our little chocolate bar cost us £3.50!!

All in all a nice stay, but be careful about what you're paying for!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KatieKateWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear KatieKateWilson,

Thank you for your detailed review of Hotel du Vin and I am delighted you last minute booking was enjoyable. It is a pleasure to read such lovely feedback and please do accept my apologies regarding the service charge element of the bill. The initial service charge is discretionary and can be taken off the bill if you so wish.

Thank you for sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing