We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would sit comfortably in the pages of Wallpaper magazine. Just plain gorgeous.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #57 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Would sit comfortably in the pages of Wallpaper magazine. Just plain gorgeous.”
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We stayed here for four nights during the festival and loved it. Our top floor suite (Veuve Cliquot) was just plain gorgeous with both a fabulous separate bathroom and freestanding bathtub in the bay window of the bedroom.

HdV Edinburgh would sit very comfortably in the pages of Wallpaper magazine. I would describe the decor as warm, sophisticated, well thought out, modern city chic. It's a combination of cream shades blended with wood, slate, check carpets and chrome. Although the hotel is less than a year old, I was very impressed to see a maintenance guy touching up some marked paintwork on a wall near the lift. Unlike some other hotels I have stayed in, these guys realise you don't just build it and forget it, it has to be maintained to keep it looking good and HdV Edinburgh does look very good indeed.

Our top floor suite comprised a very large bedroom and separate bathroom. Notable design notes were a dark grey carpet, black distressed wooden beams with uplighting in the eaves section and walnut coloured furniture. The colours and decor well suited a new Edinburgh hotel partly created within an old building. The bathroom had the best shower I've EVER used, his and hers basins and a large double window with black narrow slat venetian blinds even though we were not overlooked at all. I thought that at £300 per night bed only it was very good value during the festival period.

We also like the relaxed mezzanine bar where the wine is kept in a state of the art storage system so that by the glass it is served in perfect condition at perfect temperature. In some other hotels and restaurants, wine by the glass can often be old and oxidised, fit only to be chucked down the drain. Not here, it was perfection. We also like the bistro where we had a very relaxed breakfast with some laid back background music (no naff Radio 1 and 2 here thank goodness) which they serve until 11am.

We found the reception staff extremely courteous and helpful. We parked our Prius (hence PriusExplorer) in their small drive while we unloaded our bags and the young woman who greated us could not have been keener to help us in with them. Checking out was relaxed, and hassle free - they were not hung up on an arbitrary deadline. A nice touch as it makes you feel like a guest rather than room filling fodder.

The only negatives were that they should invest in some decent maps to give to guests in this city where people walk a lot epecially during the festival when you go from event to event and which is confusing for a first time visitor like me because Edinburgh is built on different levels.

Sadly, I found the HdV wi fi very poor. You get only 30 minutes free at one time and then irritatingly have to keep logging in again and again. And the speed was snail's pace. I wish I could understand why a business spends £zillions creating such a fabulous hotel from scratch and then tops it off with mean and slow wi fi. In another city hotel I stayed at which also had free wi fi, it was so inefficient that it wound up all the guests who were otherwise delighted with the hotel.

To sum up if you're looking for a modern hotel in a great location in Edinburgh go for the Hotel du Vin. I'm fussy and if I returned to Edinburgh I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriusExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    346
    125
    57
    11
See reviews for
113
602
46
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed over the bank holiday weekend and found the hotel pretty damn good compared to many boutique business hotels we've stayed in, if a wee bit pricey. We had a suite on the top floor which was a little hard to reach but well worth the walk. It was large and comfortable, had lots of different zones which made hanging out there pleasant. It was furnished with a discreet but modern design sensibility in muted greens and browns with an extremely comfortable bed, a large sofa, a flat screen TV with Sky Sports, classic wallpapers and curtains, a wonderful drench shower and nice little bathroom plus heated floors. The staff were polite, helpful, friendly and accommodating, particularly for room service at odd hours. Oddly, the bistro's food was only so-so - well presented food but lacking in seasoning and depth of flavour. The location is central-ish - it's a very walkable town - and right on top of the Fringe, which meant a little noise at night, but nothing terrible. The only bum note was their bizarre internet access policy. You are told that more than 30 mins will be chargeable at a fair whack for 8 or 24 hours. You are not told that you can have limitless 30 min sessions for free. The available bandwidth drops to levels not experienced since the 1990s - less than 200kbps! This is all pretty antiquated in this day and age, particularly for a business hotel. However, this was a minor blotch on an otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrxterW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I stayed at the Hotel du Vin in Edinburgh on a fairly recent business trip and had a very enjoyable stay. My bedroom was small but perfect for a single occupancy, the decor was beautiful (love the Farrow and Ball paints) and the under floor heating in the bathroom was a real added bit of luxury. Another member of our group stayed in a suite which was really lovely, bath in the bedroom, spacious sitting area and the same level of decoration and design.

We ate in the Bistro on both the nights, the first night we entertained clients in there and (apart from a slight mix up with a table we had booked and a little attitude from the maitre de) all had a lovely meal, we were all very impressed. On the second night we were also not disappointed, I had the steak and it was delicious! Would definitely stay here again for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chubbs1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Stayed in the Balmoral, then a week later in the Hotel Du Vin. Enjoyed the Hotel Du Vin just as much as the Balmoral, for 1/3 of the price. Lovely hotel, friendly staff, beautiful bathrooms (always a plus). Location is spectacular, bar and restaurant are excellent and hopping.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calbear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We booked this hotel for a three night stay with confidence having read some very good reviews. On arrival, our check in was courteous and professional. The receptionist showed us to our room and everything went downhill from there. The room we were shown was tiny and very basic. The double bed filled what little space there was and there was barely any room to manoeuvre around the room. As we were being charged a considerable rate, we asked if we could be given another room. We were shown another room which was fractionally bigger (though the receptionist had warned us that this was the case). We decided that the best course of action would be to change hotels, but we were persuaded by the manager to stay as he offered us a bigger room for the second and third night if we would settle for the small room on the first night. As we only had three nights in Edinburgh, we reluctantly agreed. The room we got on the second and third night was a bit bigger, but was by no means worthy of the price. I ended up with a large bruise on my leg from banging it against the bed as the space between it and the wall was so narrow. The ensuite’s in all three rooms were tiny, and the only positive was the shower was powerful. The bar was also very small (its just a balcony overlooking the restaurant with two or three tables). We ate in bistro on one of the nights and it was quite good. We also had breakfast on one of the mornings which was only ok. Overall, although the location of this hotel is quite good, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astronot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2009

I always look forward to my breaks at the Hotel du Vin, Edinburgh. I live in Edinburgh but enjoy staying at hotels in the city periodically for a break. They have taken a lunatic asylum and converted it into a very nice place to stay. The style is elegant simplicity with understated furnishings and touches of colour. However, the building's history lives on with a padded lift and bathrooms that remind you of a hospital (but in a luxurious and pleasant way). The monsoon showers are amazing and you feel like you are in a tropical downpour.

The staff are friendly but occasionally forget to attend to requests. The hotel is expensive but the quality of the food is good and there are a few gems like the Whisky room and the outdoor bar area. Quality features like Bose sound systems and comfortable beds add to the character. The rooms have a good selection of quality magazines, eg. GQ, rather than the standard sales brochures. My superior room had a large sofa with flat-screen TV and DVD player. You can borrow about 50 DVDs from reception for free.

Overall a great stay if you are not too price conscious.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

As a fairly new hotel this place is still immaculate and the staff couldn't be nicer. It is well served by bus services and is only 5 minutes from Waverly Station by taxi and the Royal Mile is only a few minutes walk back down the hill (warning - do not take a car - there is no parking and the nearest car park is very expensive). However, the hotel seems to have been built inside 2 existing buildings and the lift only serves 1 building and, since our room (actually we were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite) was in the other building we had to climb 2 very steep sets of stairs (ok for us but not recommended for older travelers). As I said, we were given a suite and it was beautiful - the decor, the fixtures and fittings, all complimented each other superbly and the huge roll-top bath was a pleasure to bathe in. Only 2 small problems - there was no door between the en-suite and the room itself and the wc cubicle was so small that the door was actually against my back as I was using the toilet! Also, there was a cafe/venue across the street and, despite the double glazing and the fact that we were 3 floors up, we could hear music and chatter well into the night (and this was before the Festival started). We ate in the bistro and the meal was excelent with a good choice and a very well stocked wine cellar. Despite a few small gripes I would not hesitate to recomment this hotel to make a stay in Edinburgh that little bit special.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,052 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#66 of 149 in Edinburgh
649 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing