We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£157
Fully refundable before Fri, 15 Mar
Expedia.com
£157
Fully refundable before Sat, 16 Mar
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
£149
Fully refundable before Sat, 16 Mar
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,810)
Filter reviews
1,810 results
Traveller rating
1,004
497
185
87
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,004
497
185
87
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roll top bath whisky snug cigar bothy royal mile old town lovely hotel national museum of scotland standard room mini bar lovely room boutique hotel cooked breakfast yogurt princes street hdv asylum lukasz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 1,810 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2021

Day 1 - Saturday
Birthday weekend for the wife. Verdict: she loved it!
Took the first 8:00am flight out from London Luton to Edinburgh - it took 30 minutes!
Tram into Edinburgh Central and went to St Andrews Square to have our Royal Edinburgh ticket validated which gave 48-hour access to the tour buses, access to Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Royal Yacht Britannia
Left our bags at Hotel Du Vin (rooms available from 3pm) and had breakfast at the Black Medicine Coffee Co
Walked to Holyrood Palace and toured the magnificent house and gardens for the next two hours.
Paused to take in the Scottish Parliament building. Truly brutalist architecture and a jarring contrast to Holyrood Palace!
Walked along the Royal Mile stopping off to buy some Tartan and diverting to walk to the Walter Scott Monument, past the Scottish National Gallery and walked up the very steep hill towards Edinburgh Castle.
Had a snack at one of the many coffee shops surrounding the Castle before our pre-allocated castle visit slot. Spent another couple of hours here. Would love to have had lunch at the awesome looking Witchery but it was such a special occasion place, and we did not have a booking which as part of covid management was essential.
Walked back to the hotel marvelling at all the classic buildings and pausing at the Greyfriars Bobby statue
Definitely should have had an evening walking tour of Edinburgh to capture the fascinating history of witches and darkness of Edinburgh and would have loved to have added in the
Camera Obscura & World of Illusions.
Dinner at the hotel - we were booked on a half-board tariff. Great hotel. Well located and within walking distance of many of the attractions but no Scottish breakfast! It was English. What the hell??? English breakfast in Scotland! Missed out on haggis.

Day 2 - Sunday
Leisurely breakfast at the hotel
Walked to Holyrood Park and hiked up to Arthur’s Seat. Took the challenging route. You do need to be fit. But there are easier ways to do it. Made it to the very top.
Took a long walk through Holyrood Park on the way back stopping off to take in the picturesque surroundings and had a snack at the lovely Holyrood Palace Café at the very end.
Took a bus tour and got off at The Royal Yacht Britannia
We had wanted to have tea on the yacht, but the queues were so long we gave up on the idea and took another bus tour round Edinburgh and got off near the Scott Monument to leisurely stroll around the streets taking in the buildings and monuments and street performers near the magnificent St Giles Cathedral.

Day 3 - Monday
Early morning jaunt around the Old Calton Burial Ground with graves going back to the 1700s and the resting place of the Scottish philosopher David Hume.
Just outside the burial ground was the stop for the Rabbies tour company. We had booked a tour to St Andrews and Fife fishing villages. Our tour guide was Dougie, a historian, musician and genuine big personality whose knowledge of Scotland was encyclopaedic. I mean this guy knew everything and had such a personable style. The tour was amazing. We stopped off beside the North Sea in one of the villages, had snacks at a seaside coffee shop, wandered around historic St Andrews, taking in the castle, cathedral and some of the stunningly beautiful university buildings. You can wander on the sands and on the journey back we stopped off at Falkland Palace and the Forth Bridge and Queensferry Crossing.
Rounded off the day with a leisurely walk around Greyfriars another well-kept 18th century burial ground. So much history to be learnt from these places

Day 4 - Tuesday
Last day. Leisurely breakfast
Lovely walk through ‘The Meadows’ a picturesque park surrounded by beautiful classic buildings. Edinburgh is just a visual delight. The schools just look like Hogwarts.
Visited The Royal Botanic Gardens - simply gorgeous in the sun.
Afternoon tea at The Ivy on The Square
Final walk around the city and then a late flight back to Luton. Would so loved to have done more. Once the Covid regulations change back to a free for all, it will no doubt make getting into places like the museums and galleries so much easier and the experience so much more flexible.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Topazamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Bel, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2021

Thank you so much for your lovely words, we are delighted to hear your time here in Scotland was a memorable one and we managed to help you relax along the way. We hope to see you soon on your next adventure, warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2021

Stopped over on our way north. Staff were outstanding. Asked to move rooms as room felt small (and we'd paid for an upgrade) and had a free standing bath in the bedroom, which is obviously trendy but I'm not keen. The next room did too, but this room on the next floor up in the roof at least had an enclosed shower and felt bigger. Bed was comfy. But room very stuffy and air con couldn't cope so had to sleep with windows wide open. Brasserie food was good. Again. service was very good. Although the bar guy couldn't pronounce the name of the house white! Excellent location. Not sure I'd rush back.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CLB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Bel, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback, we have several room type and glad to hear you enjoyed not only your room but the service and our lovely bistro food. We hope to see you again very soon, warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

Just returned from a very pleasant stay. Lovely hotel, very pleasant staff and excellent food. I left my hair straighteners behind and they were posted back to me within two days. Excellent service, would highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MMMVGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Bel, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Thank you so much for your lovely words, our teams are always on hand to try their very best and make your stay in our beautiful hotel as relaxing as possible. We look forward to seeing you again soon, warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021

I feel like we must have stayed in a different hotel to everyone else. It was ok, we got a good deal so it was very decent value, however it really lacked atmosphere. On the positive side the rooms were very clean, good bedding, comfortable bed and nice bathroom (apart from the fact that you can't turn off the underfloor heating, which make the room very stuffy if its not cold outside) This was ok once I realised there was aircon, but couldn't open windows as they were all locked.
Aside from the girl at check out, the staff seemed somewhat snooty which was very odd. I've stayed at quite a few hotels in Edinburgh, from budget to the Balmoral and the staff have always been great, so not sure what happened, perhaps we caught them on an off day??
We did eat, from the all day menu. Salmon was nice, prawns were mushy unfortunately. What I would say is that if you are attracted to to the Hotel du Vin because you are a wine lover, you may want to think again. Although there are many paintings on the wall of great wines, you certainly won't be finding them on the wine list - well not on the drinks menu we were given. There were just 4 or 5 options for red and white each - non remarkable - and one rose. Just looking on the website now it seems as though there should be more choice. We weren't offered any other menu to choose from though and one would think that if there were another menu and someone is choosing wine, then it would have been offered? Also you won't be finding any in your grandly titled 'Bar Prive' in the room either as it's totally empty - though they do have room service I think.
So all in all, good value, but just Ok on the experience front. As I say, perhaps we caught them on an off day.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank battersea_blue_sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Bel, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback. We loved having you and the team always try together to make sure you enjoy your stay. I ma sorry you felt that wasn’t the case. All windows are locked but can indeed be opened on request if you need to and at all time. We apologise for the smaller wine selection as we are in the process of changing all of our wines and bin ends but delighted to announce that all will be back this month. Also due to the existing restrictions there is no mini bar in the rooms but as explained all can be ordered through room service. We really hope you will be staying with us again soon and will be able to enjoy the full HDV experience as we love to deliver it, warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

We held our wedding at HDV shortly after Covid restrictions lifted, which meant that we had very little time between the hotel reopening to be able to see the venue and confirm details with the hotel. Martina had been incredibly helpful throughout the lockdown period, offering suggestions on what we could do, and made sure that there was little stress in the week between the hotel opening and the wedding happening. Martina had taken time to find out how we wanted everything, and made sure that it all happened seamlessly. The rooms were beautifully presented and surpassed what we had expected the staff to do. Many of our guests were staying in the hotel and found the rooms to be amazing. Throughout the whole wedding day every member of staff we encountered was professional and attentive, as you would expect, but also friendly and helpful. The attitude and demeanour of all the staff, throughout the hotel was amazing - it truly felt like we were welcome and special. We held our wedding dinner in the Burke and Hare room that the team had set up beautifully following the wedding service. Our waitress, Emanuela, was incredible with a subtle, flowing service which gave us just the right amount of time between courses, glasses filled when needed and all with a smile, but never in your face - a difficult balance and skill to achieve, and again, any requests were met with a smile and can do demeanour. A beautiful building is one thing, but it's the staff that can make or break an experience, and at HDV, the staff truly left us, and our guests, raving about them.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank scott i
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Bel, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2023

Thank you so much for your kind words, warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews