We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 day family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princes Street Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“2 day family stay”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

we stayed in one of the top floor apartments - 3 generous sized doubles, a huge central lounge and well appointed small kitchen/cooking area. very close to Waverley station (5 mins/2or 3 blocks) and st james shopping mall. There is no catering at this hotel, but I was glad, because it's so central you can easily find places to eat and explore, such as the excellent Martone Italian restaurant right across the road, great food and service at prices which seemed more out of town than city centre. you can access the open top roof, for great views of the city and a small bbq area. Plenty of space for the family to 'give each other room' or congregate in the lounge. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review . I am glad that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. Our apartments are ideal for family or friends gatherings indeed and the central location is difficult to beat! I hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming all back to Princes Street Suites. The views from the roof terrace are amazing in the winter also, and spectacular during the hogmanay festivities and fireworks . Best regards- SandrineCL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    209
    71
    18
    14
See reviews for
268
197
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments/suites for 2 nights in October 2013. The apartment/suite allocated to us was huge and comfortable. It had a bedroom (in good size) with a double bed, a huge living room with 2 long sofas, a kitchen with basic amenities and 2 showers / toilets. The location of the hotel was good (and the staff was quite friendly.

The only negative comment we had - car park. We were told that we could either park our car at any of the parking bays along the road which the hotel is located for up to 4 hours or park our car in one of the covered parking buildings which are all located quite far away from the hotel. As we were unable to find any parking bay along the road when we arrived at the hotel (and even we could find one, we will only be allowed to park our car for a maximum of 4 hours), we had decided to park our car in one of the recommended covered car parks - located about 15 minutes walk away from the hotel. We paid about 28 pounds for parking our car at the said car park for 2 days.

Except for the above, we were quite satisfied with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnieme323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Princes Street Suites. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed the overall experience even though you were not satisfied with the lack of parking facilities. Being located right in the city centre of Edinburgh means that we are not able to offer parking spaces to our guests. However we have an agreement with the nearby car park where our guests qualify from a 25% discount. There are indeed parking bays available next to the hotel- those are best to use at night when there are no time restrictions. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites - Best wishes- Sandrine CL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The apartment we stayed in exceeded our expectations. It was big and very comfortable. The bedroom, bathroom, living room and kitchen were well supplied and modern. Adding to that the perfect location a short walk to the railway station, to the old town and to Princes Street makes this place pefect. We highly recommend staying at Princes Street Suites

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSteam, Revenue Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your wonderful review of Princes Street Suites. We were delighted to read that you had a fantastic experience and we hope that you had a fun and enjoyable time while in Edinburgh.
We are so very lucky to be located where we are in Edinburgh, with ease of access to all restaurants, shops and visitor attractions, our guests very much enjoy staying with us.
We very much hope you will return soon to Scotland and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Princes Street Suites,
Once again thank you for your review,
Best Wishes
Ania Wozniak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

we stayed at these apartments in September from the Monday until the Thursday, we read reviews before we booked & decided that they were a great choice, fantastic location, lovely smart clean apartments, beds are very comfy loads of room there were four adults in our group & there was more than enough room it was like home from home. staff very helpful & friendly will stay here again x

Room Tip: we asked for a apartment on the 3rd floor & it was great sleep quality was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulalynn439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSteam, Revenue Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay at Princes Street Suites . We are very proud indeed to be able to offer one not only of the best location in Edinburgh but also some of the most spacious serviced apartments in the city . We hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to princes Street Suites.

Kindest Regards
Ania Wozniak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

These apartments are in a fabulous location when visiting Edinburgh. They are clean, well presented and reasonable value. Close to train transport and easy walking distance of the city. I'd definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSteam, Revenue Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after you recent stay. We were delighted that you enjoyed your experience in Edinburgh and Princes Street Suites. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kindest Regards
Ania Wozniak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Arriving in Edinburgh I was amazed how central this apartment is, at the East end of Princes Street. We started in Rm 28, (3rd floor) which was clean, comfortable, well-appointed but slightly in need of TLC, no curtains in living room, perhaps to dissuade extra visitors! (Missing bath plug, assorted crockery, etc.) In fact, our daughter decided to visit us, so we requested, and were fortunately able to book an extra four nights in a larger apartment with two bedrooms, no.37 on the 4th floor. This was much nicer! The staff were most helpful and put themselves out to assist us. I'd happily stay there again in future. We're used to Timeshare quality self-catering accommodation, so this suited us well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamBeresford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSteam, Revenue Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your positive review and the details regarding ease of location to the attractions in Edinburgh. We have taken your points on board regarding kitchen and bathroom items and hope that on your next visit you will find the kitchen more fully stocked. We were delighted that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at Prince Street Suites and we very much hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Best Wishes
Ania Wozniak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Booked the apartment for a family break with our daughter, her finance and our cousin from Australia, they were ideal, 3 good sized bedrooms, one en suite,the roof top terrace was a bonus, views across the city were fab and would be great for a barbeque - there was one there to use The suites were well located 2 minutes from the St James shopping centre and less than 5 minutes from the Waverly train station. Would definitely recommend this place and stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSteam, Revenue Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after you recent stay. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Princes Street Suites on your recent visit to Edinburgh in September. We very much value the reviews and thank you for taking the time to mention our roof top terrace and location of the property. The ease of city centre access is enjoyable by all of our guests. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kindest Regards
Ania Wozniak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,773 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,435 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Street Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Street Suites

Property: Princes Street Suites
Address: 16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Princes Street Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, space and service make Princes Street Suites a modern Edinburgh classic. Whether you check in for two nights or two weeks you'll enjoy the unrivaled space to entertain, work or simply relax that these superb award winning serviced apartments have to offer. You can choose from our luxurious three bedroom penthouse with views of Edinburgh Castle and Arthurs Seat to our spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Princes Street Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Street Suites At 16 Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh
Princes Street Suites Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing