We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury, Location, Love!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princes Street Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Luxury, Location, Love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Located in an ideal location for sightseeing on Waterloo Road just off Princes Street (the main street in Edinburgh). Close to Scott's Monument.
Everything is easily walkable from here.

Apartments are modern and well-equipped, they even had champagne glasses!
Our apartment was on the 4th floor and overlooked the graveyard but what a beautiful graveyard! We made a special stop to look around.

Staff were friendly and helpful and provided us with a map and taxi numbers. Check-in was quick and they were flexible with our awkward payment (4 people paying a combination of cash/credit card and international debit card).

Parking is literally around the corner in a Q Car Park - ensure to advise the front desk as you get a discount! Overnight parking is £17 and we paid £10 for 24 hours.

I would 100% recommend Princes Street Suites. I booked through booking.com and got a sweet deal!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the graveyard provide a beautiful view if you're high enough up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmagoughitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your great review . I am delighted that you have enjoyed the apartment as well as the location and the view of the Graveyard ! There are very famous people buried in that graveyard and I agree, it is most picturesque ! With regards to car parking, we have a deal indeed located just 5 minutes walk from Princes Street Suites , £10 for a 24 hour period . I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites .
Best regards

Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    204
    70
    18
    14
See reviews for
255
189
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from a lovely overnight stay at Prices Street Suites.
Check in was quick and smooth, the reception staff were both helpful and professional, and ensured a warm welcome.
Our apartment on the first floor had 2 bedrooms, was well furnished throughout, being on the first floor, we didn't have a city outlook, however because of this, the whole apartment was very quiet, which was welcome having lived in the city before.
Well appointed bathroom with good quality shampoos/shower gels etc.
The kitchen was well equipped with top quality appliances, and was stocked with tea/coffee etc.
The views on the rooftop terrace are fabulous.
I would thoroughly recommend these apartments for their quality, central location, and courteous staff, and will look to stay again the next time we are lucky enough to have babysitters!

Room Tip: Upper rooms would offer excellent views over Edinburgh, ours was lower and east facing, which was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoniH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review . As always, is it always rewarding for the team to read comments from happy guests . I am glad that you have enjoyed the views from the Roof terrace . We call it our hidden gem , the 360 degree views of the capital are breath-taking. We look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites in a not too distant future . Best regards- Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Not a bad place to stay at all very convenient and close to everything. Just up from north bridge which will take you right across the tracks to the royal mile and everything you want to see. Asked for a room with a view and got it. A little noisy on the station side which is where the view is but if you get high enough in the building it's not bad. We were on the 4th floor with a nice view of Arthur's seat out the side window. We did hear the train station noise but it wasn't too bad and if you expect it you will be fine. It didn't keep us up at night by any means so no complaints. Seems like the windows are a little thin though as even with them closed you can hear traffic as if the window was open. We kept checking the windows thinking they were open in the bedroom. Also there was a nice cemetery next door which offered a nice view as well and was quiet. The room was nice. We had a two bedroom suit which was perfect for four adults and two small children with sleeping bags. Overall nice room with everything you need. Couch was a little worn but on the plus side it was more than the couch you would find in a holiday inn. More similar to what you would find in a home. Which is nice. Good place to stay reasonably priced would defiantly recommend staying here again we will come back if we visit Edinburgh again for sure. Clean and close to everything you want to see.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your great review . Our apartments are ideal indeed for families or groups of friends, with most of them offering 2 or 3 bedrooms. The location is very central indeed , and it is possible to walk to all historic attractions and shopping areas situated in the city centre . We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites- Best regards- Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Strong WOW factor.
Stunning apartments in the heart of Edinburgh. Short walk to anywhere really.
Stunning views. Beautifully decorated. Share with friends or colleagues and stay in absolute luxury for next to nothing!
24h reception desk. Quiet, with perhaps a bit of noise from Waverley train station in the gorge below (adds to the charm). Next to a beautiful cemetery with various Scottish celebrities as neighbours.

Room Tip: Call ahead and describe what you need. Views are incredible pretty much from any angle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DATbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a beautiful review on your recent stay with us . Delighted also that you enjoyed the views from your apartment , including the views of the graveyard with very famous neighbours indeed . It is a truly Scottish scenery... We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites very soon - Best regards- Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My partner and I arrived just before the 3pm booking in time and we were informed that our apartment was not quite ready and as it was not ready we were immediately put into a two bedroom apartment. On entering the apartment we were absolutely over the moon to see how spacious, clean and huge it was. My partner was lost for words. We did not have much time to look round the beautiful city of Edinburgh but a planned revisit is on the cards and the Princes Street Suites is top of our list. The staff were so very helpful which made our visit all the more enjoyable. Many, many thanks.
Photograps will be following.as soon as I possibly can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is to the South side as apparently they are a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rascal2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review . I am so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Although we allocate the apartments the day before arrival whenever we can, we remain flexible in order to accommodate our guests as well as we can, in this case by giving you another apartment. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Edinburgh and Princes Street Suites. There is so much to see and do that no doubt you should find a good reason to return! best wishes - Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Loved almost everything about this hotel – the staff were super friendly and super helpful, the accommodation (1 bedroom suite) was massive and quite needlessly included two bathrooms – one of which included a walk in shower which, unfortunately was equipped with a kind of wired water-heating device which prevented the water pressure from being anything close to acceptable. The furnishings were comfortable, the kitchen equipped beautifully, the linens and towels of decent quality and nothing to complain about. The location is perfect and all the attractions are easily reached on foot. The only thing that could be improved (apart from the wired arrangement in the shower enclosure) is the speed of the Wi-Fi provided free by the hotel. It might be free but is most certainly takes you to the dial-up internet era …… have not experienced anything as slow for ages. This however is easily remedied by using Wi-Fi in any of the nearby restaurants or cafes. To sum up – a great choice for anyone visiting Edinburgh!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pablo_from_poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review . I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for your comments regarding the WIFI. You will be pleased to hear that our system is going to be fully upgraded and the work should be completed within the next few weeks- I hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street. With the summer and the numerous festivals on the horizon, there are certainly plenty of reasons to come back! Best wishes - Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Huge suites , brilliant location, just perfect for us . Had everything there inc hair dryer, proper kitchen aven a spa in the basement . Will definitely stay there again when we go to Edinburgh . Stayed there for a wedding , 6 of us in 3 bed apatprtment ...huge ! Also had a sofa bed in lounge I think .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Many thanks for your great review . It is lovely to hear that your group all enjoyed their stay at Princes Street Suites . Our 3 bedroom apartments are ideal for small family or friends reunions and can accommodate up to 8 people indeed using the sofa bed situated in the lounge. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Edinburgh and Princes Street Suites - Best regards- Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Street Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Street Suites

Property: Princes Street Suites
Address: 16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Princes Street Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, space and service make Princes Street Suites a modern Edinburgh classic. Whether you check in for two nights or two weeks you'll enjoy the unrivaled space to entertain, work or simply relax that these superb award winning serviced apartments have to offer. You can choose from our luxurious three bedroom penthouse with views of Edinburgh Castle and Arthurs Seat to our spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Princes Street Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Street Suites At 16 Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh
Princes Street Suites Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing