We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect city pad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princes Street Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect city pad”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Superb location, friendly staff and nice and quiet. Have stayed here twice now and would return. Spacious and comfortable. Handy for train station and all the city centre has to offer.
Clean, modern decor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Many thanks for your great comments about your recent stay at Princes Street Suites. The location and the size of the apartments always rate very highly with our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again to Princes Street Suites . There is always a good excuse to come back to Edinburgh and Princes Street Suites . With the gorgeous weather we have been having lately, the roof terrace is the best place in town to enjoy the sun and take the sights.... Best regards- Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    205
    70
    18
    14
See reviews for
261
193
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I really wanted to give The Princes Street Suites a 5 star rating because they deserve it but there is one problem which cannot be overlooked and could easily be solved by the management.

PROS: The location of these apartments is absolutely fantastic. It is at the top of Princes Street within walking distance of everything-gardens, restaurants, shops, grocery stores, the Royal Mile, the train station. Anything is within a short walk.

The apartments are wonderful-- clean , spacious and well-furnished. The apartment sizes range in size from one to three bedroom but all apartments are not the same size. we booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 7 people but it was too small ( and it didn't have a washer/dryer) so we moved to a larger 2 bedroom apartment. The larger apartment had 2 sleeper sofas and 2 double beds. Housekeeping does a wonderful job cleaning the apartments everyday. I could find fault with them. Reception was excellent--always helpful ( especially Craig and Daniel) and always available. The kitchen is modern with everything one needs to cook meals in the apartment. The washer/dryer worked well and came in very handy.

The Rooftop Terrace was beautiful. We sat up there many evenings watching the sun go down over Edinburgh. It was a beautiful sight.

CONS: The main and major problem with the suites is the fact that there is no air conditioning or air circulation system. The windows are really nice- large and glazed and they keep out the sound. However, there is no way to circulate the air without opening the windows and the windows do not have screens on them. So the air comes in and so do the bugs, flies and mosquitoes. I got lots of bug bites and so did my children. Also when the windows are open, the apartment is extremely noisy. We were in an apartment facing the west and the noise from the train station, drunks on the streets, buses, trams, garbage trucks went on all night. It was noisy all day and most of the night.

The solution to this problem could be easily fixed by the management. Either buy electric fans for the guests to use or install circulating fans in the rooms of each apartment. There are only 37 apartments in Princes Suites and this would not be a large expenditure. Our 2 bedroom apartment could have been quite comfortable with 3 circulating fans to move the air around. We were there in May and June and it was warm. I can only imagine what it will be like in July and August ( especially with the August Festival).

Anyway, it is a wonderful place to stay. I would recommend it to anyone who visits Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casalinda2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review . I am delighted that you enjoyed staying at Princes Street Suites . Thank you also for mentioning Craig and Daniel in your review, They were both really happy to read your comments. We have noted your suggestions regarding the air conditioning and the fans . I have to admit that we very rarely have those issues in Scotland but nevertheless, it can happen that we get very hot weather, like we have been having lately. The comfort of our guests is very important to us so every suggestion is taken on board. I hope we will see you back soon - All the very best- Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely apartments in central Edinburgh... Free upgrade on check-in made our stay even better :)
Much bigger than the pics make out.. Roof top terrace is perfect on a summer evening. Walking distance to pubs an restaurants is less than 5 mins. Can't wait to return!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank samshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments . I am delighted that the apartment matched with your expectations . We look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites . There is always a good excuse to come back, there is so much to see and do in the Capital .....
With best sunny wishes - Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed in the penthouse suite for a 3 night city break with the kids.

Firstly I have to say that you can't fault the location. 2 minutes from the train station to the block, friendly and efficient reception staff ensuring a speedy check-in and there we were in a very generous 3 double bed apartment with a spacious living room and fantastic views across the city.

So far so good.

Then I tried to make use of the free WiFi to check on a few venues and times for things to do. Not a hope. Unless I stood right next to the apartment door that is, at the other end of the suite to the living area.

Which rather set the tone for other issues we had. From the shower switching off due to water pressure drops, failed lightbulbs that maintenance/housekeeping had not noticed and other electrical equipment problems, to the fact that the TV needed to be reset before it would pick up Channel 4 (Heaven forbid we might miss Come Dine With Me), to cracked ceramics and other little niggles.

For the price being asked for the room I'm expecting a certain level of attention to detail and standard of finish which unfortunately this suite just failed to reach.

We did report the issues but realistically there was very little that could be done to resolve them in the short term. The staff were courteous and sympathetic to our concerns and agreed to look into them.

Despite this, the location and facilities were just what we look for in holiday accommodation and we would certainly consider coming back here on a subsequent visit.

Room Tip: For space and views you can't fault the penthouse - but be prepared for the fact that platform a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyOldJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Princes Street Suites . I am glad that you have enjoyed staying in the Penthouse and that you were particularly taken by the views and the size of the apartment as well as the location of the building . I am sorry to hear however that you did experience issues with the WIFI, You will be pleased to hear that we are upgrading to a new system and that the work is due to start this coming week. I am glad that you are considering staying with us again and I very much look forward to welcoming you again to Princes Street Suites - Very best wishes - Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My family spent t 3 nights at princess street suites in a 2 and 3 bedrooms apartments for 10 on may 21-24 and we all love the place.
The apartments are spacious,clean and equipped with everything you need to live comfortably like you're in your own house but that.s not the only thing I love about princess street suites.
The location is perfect for sightseeing..walking distance to the waverly train station,Edinburgh palace, Sainsbury,shopping complexes , and a number of eating places.
The apartment has a 24 hour reception desk manned by service oriented staff who will help you in every thing you need from directions to booking a tour which makes our stay very very pleasant and memorable ..I will definitely stay here again and will strongy recommend ths apartments to my friends if ever they go to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at Princes Street Suites . I am glad that both the facilities and the service met with your expectations . The Philippines are a long way away from Scotland , Edinburgh and PSS , but I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future . Thank you also for recommending us to your friends, this is most appreciated .
Kind regards
Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, family of three. (11 month old baby) Excellent location for shopping and sightseeing. Fantastic views from the roof top terrace. Rooms/apartments very good size, we stayed in room 28. Travel style cot for the baby, seemed clean and comfortable for her. Very good value for money, would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CherryIceCreamSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and delighted that you have enjoyed the overall experience at Princes Street Suites . The location is hard to beat and the views from our roof terrace are just amazing . There is plenty to see and do in Edinburgh so I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to PSS in a not too distant future .
Best regards
Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Princes Street Suites
Myself (54 year old Male) and my Son (22 year old) stayed in 2 different 3 bedroom Apt's with for 5 nights for golf and touring vacation, I will stay longer next time as there is so much to do in Edinburgh.
Amazing Apt's,
Beautifully designed,
Beautiful views,
Elevator worked great, no problems,
Staff was very polite and attentive, and extremely helpful with making arrangements such as reservations and providing touring + restaurant info,
Location was perfect,
Rooftop Terrace was phenomenal,
1st Apt. #16 on ground Floor, that I was in before being moved to upper floor as requested, was very nice, Kitchen was amazing, no problems except for major stained carpets in one room,
2nd Apt. #34 on 4th floor, that I was moved to was also very nice, Kitchen was even more amazing then the Apt#16,
Except for a few small problems in Apt#34, Stay and Apt. complex was perfect,,,,
The whole 4th floor and inside Apt#34 reeked, smelled really bad (moldy, musty, damp smell, but take note I am hyper sensitive to odours, my son noticed it but he said it was mild and did not bother him),
1 of the 2 showers was broken and the water pressure on that Electric shower was NON-Existant, we could NOT use that shower at all,
The other Shower/Bathtub was very nice but barely useable due to very low water pressure, but we managed.
Hot water in all forms and locations was perfect and was Never lacking,
Tv; well… would have been nice to have Satellite signal working night times or during off touring hours this Satellite signal loss only occurred 2 days during the w/e and on Monday the signal was ok again, please take note there were no major weather issues so Satellite signal should have been working. (not a major issue as I did not come to Edinburgh to watch TV.),
Considering that there is no Air Conditioning in Apts. the clients only recourse is to open windows to create a draft, however there are No Screens on the windows so we were forced to cohabit-ate with a number of Flies, the flies did not mind,
The Spa on lower level -1 was amazing and spa staff were very attentive, polite, professional and my first ever Foot + Lower Leg massage was a memorable experience, especially after many hours of touring.
Overall my experience at Princes Street Suites was wonderful and I will recommend to all here in Montreal.
Many Thanks from my 22 year old son as well.

Room Tip: Upper Floors 3rd or 4th are recommended for the view, except that your water pressure may or may not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lengthy review on your recent stay at Princes Street Suites. I am glad that you have enjoyed staying in the 2 apartments you have allocated during your stay. Apartment 34 is in the original building , so very large indeed , and apartment 16 in the more modern part of the building at the back, with some great views over the Old Town. Thank you for your comments regarding the water pressure and the issue with the TV satellite reception . Those have been reported to our maintenance manager for him to action.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites . Best regards- Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Street Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Street Suites

Property: Princes Street Suites
Address: 16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Princes Street Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, space and service make Princes Street Suites a modern Edinburgh classic. Whether you check in for two nights or two weeks you'll enjoy the unrivaled space to entertain, work or simply relax that these superb award winning serviced apartments have to offer. You can choose from our luxurious three bedroom penthouse with views of Edinburgh Castle and Arthurs Seat to our spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Princes Street Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Street Suites At 16 Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh
Princes Street Suites Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing