We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snobby”

Greyfriars Bobby Bar
Ranked #276 of 2,504 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: You will find Greyfriars Bobby's Bar in Candlemaker Row Edinburgh within a short stroll of Chambers Street, Grassmarket and George IV Bridge - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.Greyfriars Bobby's Bar is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Snobby”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Really rude staff. Just looked down their noses at people and it wasn't even that nice a place. Would never go back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnyq1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    306
    109
    44
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pub grub”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great location just across from Scottish National museum. Typical chain pub food but executed well, much better than that larger pub chain. A little bit dearer than the other chain but worth it. Friendly staff who made you welcome.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steedthrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavala, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just nice..”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

It was a nice lunch, though a little bit expensive. The place is really nice and cosy, the staff friendly and nice but the food is average pub food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xosejulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good for drinks, avoid for food”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have been to Greyfriars Bobby a few times. Drinking there is good- it's a nice pub in the middle of everything. However, both times I ate there I regretted it. First time, I had a basket of fish that had uncooked, jelly-like squid and the second time I had some garlic bread that was so hard I could break my head with. This was extrremely disappointing because I know how good the food on their menu can taste like.
TBH, I feel rather bad for giving them such a bad review because the servers are always nice and attentive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Delia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice little place.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The day we happened to visit this restaurant there had been some mishaps in their kitchen the night before. As a result, they could not use some of the equipment as it was damaged. Still the staff were very friendly and as a group we had a good time visiting. The food was very good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DebMyers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greyfriars Bobby Bar also viewed

 

Been to Greyfriars Bobby Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing