We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bar restaurant!”
Review of SPATCH

SPATCH
Reserve with OpenTable
SPATCH is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #240 of 2,784 Restaurants in Edinburgh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: You can find us in the heart of Edinburgh’s bustling Old Town, we specialise in mouth-watering charcoal-fired chicken, burgers, ribs and steak. The atmosphere is lively, and our upbeat staff achieve the perfect level of attentiveness. The decor combines contemporary style with vintage touches, with exposed brick, industrial lighting and floral tapestry upholstery.
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Barry and the staff are friendly and fun.
My wife and I also did the Silent Adventure with the ever funny James.
We met at Spatch for a beer and then departed on the streets of Edinburgh with headphones and great music playing.
You walk as a group while James gives you historic facts and we danced and laughed and interacted with the locals and tourist.
The Silent Adventure last an hour and it definitely a must when visiting Edinburgh.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank francke462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Manager at SPATCH, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

We're glad you had a fab time visiting SPATCH, francke462.
It makes us really happy that you enjoyed yourself and that the staff could really make your visit fun and friendly!

The Silent Adventures are such a blast and I'll be sure to let James know how much fun you had on your dancing tour!

We hope it won't be too long before we see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Good food, big portions. Excellent friendly service. Burgers are very thick. Chips can be shared. Lovely atmosphere.

Thank Aata8166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Manager at SPATCH, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Hi, Aata1866! Thanks for the lovely review.

We're so happy to hear that you had a lovely time on your visit to SPATCH.

Our staff really are one of a kind and we're pleased you enjoyed their excellent friendly service!

We hope we see you again soon in the near future for some more good food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Welcomed by very friendly staff straight away and were very helpful throughout. Food is delicious, chips seem overpriced at £3.95 but you get a very large portion so well worth the price. Much better than a regular Nando’s! Would definitely visit this restaurant again

Thank katetT203YC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Manager at SPATCH, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this awesome 5 star review!

Our friendly and helpful staff really help to make SPATCH and we're glad they have helped to make your experience a good and memorable one. We're happy that you enjoyed the food and portion sizes (we all love it, too!!)

We hope we can welcome you back again soon, Kate T! Don't be a stranger!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Loved the chicken wings. They were some of the best I have ever had. The server was excellent. Returned for our last meal of chicken wings again before returning back to Wisconsin

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Relax605992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Manager at SPATCH, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Thanks for taking the time to right us such a brilliant review!

We like to think our chicken wings are pretty boss, and I'm glad that you thought so too!!

Hopefully we'll get to welcome you back again on your next visit from Wisconsin for some more awesome wings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

One of my team was staying in a hotel near here, and recommended it, so the rest of use came and tried it too. We've been here twice in successive weeks, but as I had the same things each time one review will do.

Location: Very central, just off the Royal Mile.

Food: Between us we had a variety of mains and sides, but I had the scranimal farm burger both times and though it was really excellent - very tasty and filling The others had the other chicken burger, and the skewers too, all of which were excellent. The guys who had the spatchcock chickens thought they were OK, but wished they had had the other dishes.

Sides were uniformly good though, we had the beans, sweet potato fries, chips, collard greens, and especially nice, the cauliflower 'wings'.

Drinks: Usual beers etc.

Overall. Really liked the place, as evidenced by the fact we went there 2 weeks on the trot. Filling, tasty, comfort food and a nice atmosphere. It's chicken, so must be healthy too........

Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NickHo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Manager at SPATCH, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Hi there, Nickho70! Thanks for taking time to write us up such a positive review!

It's really great to see how much you and your team enjoyed yourselves at SPATCH!

The Scranimal Farm burger is AMAZING,and those cauliflower wings- damn they're tasty! I'm glad you thought so too!

Thank you again for leaving us such a lovely write up.

We really hope that we'll get the chance to welcome you and your team back again to SPATCH soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SPATCH also viewed

 

Been to SPATCH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing