We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 23:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience The Potter Tour
from US$40.17
More Info
from US$26.32
More Info
from US$27.71
More Info
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
223
24
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
223
24
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sorting hat guide sam cobbled streets highlight of our trip great fun old town jk knowledge facts sights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Really great tour, we saw some brilliant parts of Edinburgh that we'd have never found otherwise (and went back to explore further). Great fun for all the generations with lots of variety - beautiful buildings, fascinating facts, interesting sights and fabulous ice cream! Thank you Sam for an excellent and great value experience - highly recommend to all visitors, your tour showcased Edinburgh at it's best.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank LSJE100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam S, Lesser Mugwump at The Potter Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thanks for your kind review, it's a good overview and I'm pleased you enjoyed it. I award you your Explorer girl-witch / boy-wizard badge - LSJE100?!

I wish you many happy floos and few few port-key jumps. Yurg.
x
Sam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Our tour guide was very descriptive-just right for leading the tour! He had loads of knowledge about history-of both Muggle and Wizarding World! He led us deftly through the streets of Edinburgh and in and out of museums (even for some ice cream!) and showed us so many high points! It was great!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel S, Lesser Mugwump at The Potter Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thanks Siobhan, I'm so pleased you enjoyed it, I like that you say I lead deftly, the Floo network is now so clogged with ministry of magic employees visiting to hob-knob foreign witches and wizards at the festival it's essentially unusable. Bloomin' fascists think they own the network.

On the plus side it has the Muggles 'hoovering' day and night which is fun to watch.

Thank you so much for reviewing.

May your beard grow long and bushy and your broomstick fly true.
X
Sam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

This tour is a fun fusion of creativity, wit and a passion for Harry Potter! Not only was the tour guide creative, funny and knowledgeable, but he also provided us with so many sweet surprises along the way! We made our way to various historic sights in Edinburgh all the while listening to informative stories that will certainly delight seasoned wizards or simply Muggles looking to learn more about British culture. Having been to many Harry Potter related activities (Universal Studios, The Cursed Child,etc), I can confidently saw this is one of the top Harry Potter experiences! Our tour had children, adults and seniors and all of us found something to enjoy. There is a lot of walking involved and at times you will need to listen carefully, but you will certainly be delighted that you did this. The guides creativity is contagious!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam S, Lesser Mugwump at The Potter Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Wow, Cursed Child... that is high praise. I've sent it to my Mum!

Thankyou Michael.

May your Patronus shine a 1000 lumen.
x
Sam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Sam knew so many facts about Harry Potter and JK Rowling. He pointed out some really interesting spots around Edinburgh that related to JK Rowling and when she spent her time writing in Edinburgh, and you got to do some awesome sightseeing at the same time! I'm a huge Harry Potter fan and thoroughly enjoyed myself and my boyfriend, who doesn't enjoy Harry Potter like I do, still had a great time!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank SamHeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel S, Lesser Mugwump at The Potter Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thanks Sam, I'm pleased your boyfriend liked it, they're wonderful books - and an enchanting world, I wanted to make them shine.

Get him to see Fantastic Beasts 2 at the cinema, the trailers look epic.
x
Sam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

You can't think of Scotland without thinking about Harry Potter, so when I stumbled across this walking tour, I thought why not?!? The whole family had various experience levels with HP, but we ALL enjoyed it so you don't need to be a complete HP aficionado to enjoy the tour. I really liked seeing so many different places of the city, some we had already been too, but it was still fresh as we learned something new from Sam. Speaking of Sam, wow does he know a lot about the city and Harry Potter! He did a fabulous job of showing us the sights, inspirations and places where it all happened. I'd highly recommend anyone one with even a tiny bit of interest to take the tour - well worth it. And don't make plans for immediately after as you might get to have a few more stops added on. Well worth the time and money!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Sherah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam S, Lesser Mugwump at The Potter Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Cheers Serah,
I'm pleased I can appeal to all. Get's quite dense in the Harry Potter world at points, I'm pleased everyone stuck with it.

I'll be overhauling my website next year, and this review speaks to those in your situation well, I'll most likely use it, thanks :)

x
Sam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews