We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away From Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gayfield Apartment

Bright and airy living/dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bright and airy living/dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Bright and airy living/dining room
Modern finishes including natural wood finishes & large glazed areas
Modern fitted kitchen including washing machine & dishwasher
Master bedroom with en suite & fitted wardrobes
Bedroom two with fitted wardrobes
Main bathroom with shower over bath
Neo classical style building in traditional sandstone
Well kept courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Joseph K
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My family and I were looking for the perfect place to spend a couple days in Edinburgh and this apartment exceeded our expectations. It was easy to locate and it's location is close to everything we were looking to see. There are so many great restaurants close by and public transportation to get wherever you need. Great place to stay to really feel like you live in Edinburgh. We highly recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel alternative!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoleilVA
Northern Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect city stay”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Chris' apartment is great. Two bedrooms and two baths was perfect for the three of us; four could be comfortable as well. We loved the location - it is residential and extremely quiet, but close to many restaurants and shops. We could easily walk to the Castle, the Royal Mile, the start of the Arthur's Seat hike, and the National Museum of Scotland (all 20-25 minutes, perhaps?), but could get away from those crowded areas and get a good night's sleep at "home." The apartment was extremely clean and very well appointed, with a fully equipped kitchen. The decor is very tranquil and tasteful, a palette of yellows, grays and light woods. Sunny. (When Edinburgh is sunny, that is...) Wi-Fi was excellent. Do note it is on an upper floor (3rd?) and there are stairs to get to it; not a big deal at all but those with mobility issues might want to consider. There are just two tiny things I would suggest providing - a couple towels that are smaller than shower towels for drying hands/washing face, and some soap or shower gel in the shower. (Although I will say most of our rentals in Scotland did not provide this). It's hard to carry a bar of soap as you're traveling, and shower gel is another liquid to fit into a clear quart-sized bag. (We are carry on people!) So a bottle of shower gel or a dispenser would be welcome. Speaking of providing things, however, there were some coffee fixings and small packages of shortbread provided, and that was a very nice touch. If you stay here - and you should! - there's a great place for breakfast right around the corner on the main street. I think it's called Cafe Marjolaine or something like that. The waffle with bacon and maple syrup was awesome! I guess we were too busy eating the waffle to get the name right. :) Anyway, communication with Chris was very smooth and we heartily recommend this apartment and the surrounding area. Don't hesitate!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier003
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Nice and practical apartment. 20 min to city center by walk. Owner is kind and helpful. We had a great time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H
1 review
“Review”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Apartment lovely, clean and very comfortable. 10 minutes from Waverley station and the centre of Edinburgh, located in a very quiet part of town. Would definitely recommend this to anyone travelling to Edinburgh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jenny77C
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely apartment in a great spot”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in this smart apartment - in a little courtyard just off Gayfield Square. Lovely area and right behind Gayfield police station, so the area felt very safe! Apartment had a little balcony, so could sit out with a G&T and listen to the blackbirds singing in the trees. Couldn't believe it was just off a very busy road - so peaceful.

Apartment very comfortable and well equipped. Two good sized bedrooms. All amenities very handy - just turn either left or right at the top of the square for lots of shops, bars and restaurants. The main plus point of this apartment for us was that it had its own car park space, so the four of us could drive up from Yorkshire and had the car handy to go to places like Edinburgh zoo, Royal Yacht Britannia.

The only downside is that the apartment is on the 3rd floor - lots of steps and no lift - so unsuitable for anyone with mobility issues. But it was absolutely fine for us. Good exercise.

The owner Chris was a very good host and answered a couple of our dopey calls to his mobile when we couldn't work something out in a very good-natured way.

Would definitely recommend this apartment and we look forward to going back to stay there at some future point to enjoy a bit more of the beautiful city of Edinburgh.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naanita
Kumasi, Ghana
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Classy and luxurious”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The apartment was very neat, well located and rooms were very cozy. On arrival Chris met with my friend for the keys and he was very warm and friendly. It's a must stay place in edinburgh, not only is Chris nice, but the location is awesome: restaurants, bus stops, the city Center are all on the doorstop. Neighbourhood is quiet too even though it's in the bustling city Center. It was sad to leave. It's a definite and must stay place!!! I highly recommend it to everyone going to edinburgh. You can have the best of both worlds; welcoming owner, city Center, easy transport, restaurants, theatres...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing