We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parkside apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auld Reekie Apartments
Ranked #143 of 206 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Parkside apartment”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We were a little nervous when we arrived as the entrance is a little shabby but once we got to the apartment we were very happy. Great view, spacious light rooms and well equipped. Location is good - a short walk to the royal mile, we liked the fact we were off the main tourist drag - lots of food shops and places to eat nearby. Loved the free wifi. Checking in was super easy just turn up and get the keys out of the key safe - personally I am happy not to do meet and greet with owners.
If you are picky you could say the flat needs a little tlc but we loved it. In fact one our party kept saying it was exactly the kind of place she wanted to live in.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldsHattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This apartment is ideally situated for exploring the Old Town. It offers spacious and comfortable accommodation and we found it ideal. It was clean and tidy and we settled in and felt at home right away. Unlike some other travellers I find the fact that I don't need to meet the owners a refreshing change. They were however easily contacted by phone, email and text if required. I didn't require any contact with them as the place was as advertised and we just explored the area. Being on the third floor added to the security of the place and allowed us greater relaxation. You do hear street noises, but that's what happens when you book somewhere in the centre of a large city and, although present, is not too bad anyway. I have already recommended this apartment to others who are thinking of visiting Edinburgh. Everbody has a view but a couple of posting on here really are way off the mark for this particular property. Comfortable, clean, affordable and convenient city centre accommodation.

Dave, Aberdeen

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DHA_JNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We were a little nervous after reading some of the reviews before arriving in Edinburgh. The moment we opened the outer door to the building, our minds were put at ease. It's clean, convenient and very spacious with views of the Royal Mile and castle across the bridge. There is free wifi, a stove, refrigerator and washing machine in the kitchen, good shower, a dining table in the living room and all of the beds and sofas were comfortable. Most importantly, the location couldn't have been better.

You do have to walk up several flights of stairs, but if you don't enjoy climbing, you should avoid Edinburgh altogether. There is no service, but clean towels are provided and it feels more like an apartment than a hotel anyway.

There was only one disadvantage that we noticed and it didn't really bother us. Since it's in a popular area, there is noise from the street into the middle of the night as well as the sound of sea birds. The first time we heard them, it sounded like an old woman cackling which frightened our daughter until we were able to explain the sound.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlrGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Area and condition of building apartment is in, was terrible. I ended up having to stay in hotel as apartment was not as advertised. Owner was extremely unhelpful.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auldreekieapts, Owner at Auld Reekie Apartments, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
Firstly, we would point out that the guest did not actually even view the apartment.
The guest booked through a website which is unable to individuallt list our apartments seperately. However, the main web page makes it very clear that our apartments are in different locations and provides an accurate distance from the main tourist area. The information on each apartment also provides the post code of that apartment in order that the guest knows the exact location. Once a booking is made a confirmation e-mail is sent to the guest to confirm the full postal address of the apartment and check in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We pre-booked an apartment with Auld Reekie Apartments. We received a text message informing us where to get the keys. Although we had no difficulty with this, there was no personal service provided by the owners. In fact, we never met the owners.

The beds were not comfortable. There were no curtains on the windows, only cream blinds which did not darken out the rooms. This meant we were all awake at 7am. As there is only single pane windows in the apartment we stayed in, the noise was incredible and no one had a good night sleep.

Finally, an additional charge was deducted from our credit card with prior authorisation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerdiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We had the Royal Mile apartment on Cannongate. Kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. All very clean and luxurious. Checking was as easy as it can get. Location is perfect directly on the Royal Mile. Just walk about 100 metres and you can eat drink and have fun. Cab from airport to apartement was 20 pounds. Life in Edinburgh wasn't cheap, but it's a great city to experience and this apartment is on the best location in combination with the price. The only downside was that we had cold water in the morning and no heating. After checking everything we noticed that the boiler wasn't on properly. The owners of the apartment could make a better manual for this.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I have travelled all over the world and am used to staying in very nice accommodations. That being said, I thought this apartment was a great find, My sister and two friends stayed at this apartment for three nights, and found it to be a lovely stay. The decor was shiek, it was clean, and it was very spacious. Also, check in and out was super easy. The only downside was that one of the single beds had a bad matress and you definately have to climb stairs to get up there, but I thought the stairs were part of the experience. It is a historical building on the royal mile, I expected there to be stairs.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laceofbase-LacyLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Old Town
Blair House Apartments
Blair House Apartments
#144 of 206 in Edinburgh
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#42 of 206 in Edinburgh
161 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Mansions
Royal Mile Mansions
#136 of 206 in Edinburgh
36 reviews
Old Town
Aparthotel Adagio Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Reekie Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Reekie Apartments

Property: Auld Reekie Apartments
Address: St Mary's Street, Edinburgh EH1 1SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 206 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Auld Reekie Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Reekie Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing