We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good self-catering option near centre of Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auld Reekie Apartments
Ranked #145 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This is a very pleasant apartment near the centre of Edinburgh, within easy walking distance of many of the city's attractions.

I'd have no hesitation in recommending this as a place to stay: it's quiet, well-maintained, spacious and everything was in good working order. Free WiFi was a bonus for the very reasonable price.

I would note that there are no tea/coffee/milk etc on arrival, which isn't by any means a problem but is worth noting if you're travelling a long distance to get there: bring some teabags! Also, the heating had not been turned on before arrival, although the apartment did heat up quickly which was good. This might not have been noticeable had the weather not been unusually cold (and I am a frequent and long-standing traveller to Scotland throughout the whole year for both business and leisure) and it snowed for most of the weekend throughout a cold snap.

All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation and will look into using it again next time I'm in Edinburgh.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: This review related to Apartment No 3 situated on Parkside St in the south of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brother T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

I booked a 2 night stay for myself and 5 friends to stay at the royal mile apartment on Canongate. The apartment was very spacious with a good size kitchen the apartment was lovely and clean. Asked if I could check in earlier due to our arrival time, was emailed by Craig the night before to say the apartment would be ready for my arrival. This enabled us to have lunch without dragging our luggage around and also fit a trip in to the Edinburgh Dungeon. So thank you very to Craig and co.
Only a few negatives no hairdryer, so had to go out and buy, only 1roll of toilet paper in each bathroom, not a lot for 6 people for a weekend, so another trip to the shops. Also the shower in the big bathroom water did not run hot, so ended up using just the shower room. A bit of a rota had to be done when you have 6 women trying to get ready. But these were only minor things so in no way did it spoil our weekend.
It's a fantastic location with lots of tourist attractions and restaurants and pub near by, after a long day shopping and with the apartment being so nice we were very tempted to stay in one of the evenings we stayed. I will definitely book with auld reekie apartments again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheeksJB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed in apartment in parkside street! Good location 15 minute walk to centre okay during the day but would advise taxi on an evening! Apartment has everything you could possibly need! Would recommend 100%

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Juleshigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was property number 5. A real charmer, flowers and window boxes all round
4 bedrooms over 3 floors with 2 full bathrooms.
2 doubles and 2 singles
We were 5 and this cottage was more than spacious.
the single rooms are on the ground floors were a little small but comfortable. Also on the ground floor is the lounge and main bathroom stairs at the end of the corridor lead upstatirs to The best room which is a double on the top floor. a huge room with windows to the front and to the back.
stairs down lead to another double and bathroom. Here is also where we find the kitchen and dining room.
The range hob is great and makes cooking anything easy.
some advice is to make sure you put the central heating on before sleeping as even in August the house gets cold and the double downstairs was freezing.
There is also a hot water switch that needs to be on otherwise you get cold showers!

Ok, now the property looks great but there are some big issues.
firstly, every single floorboard creaks. not just a bit but loud.
the downstairs double bed is so creaky it wakes you from your sleep.
There is is no dedicated parking so you have to park about 30m away round the corner.
Check out is at 11.00 am, the cleaner came in at 10.50 am and kicked us out while were finishing packing. Quite Rude.

It takes 10-15 mins to drive to the Royal Mile.
I would recommend this property but the creaking is an issue.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kessr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This review is for a 3 bedroom apartment just off the royal mile that is on the third floor of an 1850's building so no lift. The stairs are a bit of a hike, not too bad but elderly or injured should not book this flat. The apartment had 1 3/4 baths which were redone by the owner/proprietors and are very nice. The 3/4 shower room is a bit small but functional. They have set the kitchen with electric kettle and toaster and it has a four burner stove, mini fridge and microwave...nice thoughtful touches. We did not cook so not sure of the rest but sure they thought of most needs there. There are a few dings in the furnishings and the mattresses should be replaced soon but were comfortable enough after a long day of touring Edinburgh which is a simply wonderful place to visit, rain and all, since we visited in their rainiest June ever apparently. There was a small issue attached to that rain for the apartment downstairs but which prompted Craig one of the owners to exchange some emails and a phone call with us during our stay and he is a courteous and conscientious host. The system of renting is also easy since no matter your arrival time they have a lockbox for key retrieval and self entry which we had no difficulty with. If we ever returned to Edinburgh we would be pleased to rent one of this company's flats again.

Room Tip: Not for the elderly or infirm so seek one of their other offerings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalaX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We were a little nervous when we arrived as the entrance is a little shabby but once we got to the apartment we were very happy. Great view, spacious light rooms and well equipped. Location is good - a short walk to the royal mile, we liked the fact we were off the main tourist drag - lots of food shops and places to eat nearby. Loved the free wifi. Checking in was super easy just turn up and get the keys out of the key safe - personally I am happy not to do meet and greet with owners.
If you are picky you could say the flat needs a little tlc but we loved it. In fact one our party kept saying it was exactly the kind of place she wanted to live in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CotswoldsHattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This apartment is ideally situated for exploring the Old Town. It offers spacious and comfortable accommodation and we found it ideal. It was clean and tidy and we settled in and felt at home right away. Unlike some other travellers I find the fact that I don't need to meet the owners a refreshing change. They were however easily contacted by phone, email and text if required. I didn't require any contact with them as the place was as advertised and we just explored the area. Being on the third floor added to the security of the place and allowed us greater relaxation. You do hear street noises, but that's what happens when you book somewhere in the centre of a large city and, although present, is not too bad anyway. I have already recommended this apartment to others who are thinking of visiting Edinburgh. Everbody has a view but a couple of posting on here really are way off the mark for this particular property. Comfortable, clean, affordable and convenient city centre accommodation.

Dave, Aberdeen

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DHA_JNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,053 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Reekie Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Reekie Apartments

Address: St Mary's Street, Edinburgh EH1 1SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Auld Reekie Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing