We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auld Reekie Apartments
Ranked #142 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Area and condition of building apartment is in, was terrible. I ended up having to stay in hotel as apartment was not as advertised. Owner was extremely unhelpful.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auldreekieapts, Owner at Auld Reekie Apartments, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
Firstly, we would point out that the guest did not actually even view the apartment.
The guest booked through a website which is unable to individuallt list our apartments seperately. However, the main web page makes it very clear that our apartments are in different locations and provides an accurate distance from the main tourist area. The information on each apartment also provides the post code of that apartment in order that the guest knows the exact location. Once a booking is made a confirmation e-mail is sent to the guest to confirm the full postal address of the apartment and check in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We pre-booked an apartment with Auld Reekie Apartments. We received a text message informing us where to get the keys. Although we had no difficulty with this, there was no personal service provided by the owners. In fact, we never met the owners.

The beds were not comfortable. There were no curtains on the windows, only cream blinds which did not darken out the rooms. This meant we were all awake at 7am. As there is only single pane windows in the apartment we stayed in, the noise was incredible and no one had a good night sleep.

Finally, an additional charge was deducted from our credit card with prior authorisation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerdiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Spijkenisse
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We had the Royal Mile apartment on Cannongate. Kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. All very clean and luxurious. Checking was as easy as it can get. Location is perfect directly on the Royal Mile. Just walk about 100 metres and you can eat drink and have fun. Cab from airport to apartement was 20 pounds. Life in Edinburgh wasn't cheap, but it's a great city to experience and this apartment is on the best location in combination with the price. The only downside was that we had cold water in the morning and no heating. After checking everything we noticed that the boiler wasn't on properly. The owners of the apartment could make a better manual for this.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I have travelled all over the world and am used to staying in very nice accommodations. That being said, I thought this apartment was a great find, My sister and two friends stayed at this apartment for three nights, and found it to be a lovely stay. The decor was shiek, it was clean, and it was very spacious. Also, check in and out was super easy. The only downside was that one of the single beds had a bad matress and you definately have to climb stairs to get up there, but I thought the stairs were part of the experience. It is a historical building on the royal mile, I expected there to be stairs.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laceofbase-LacyLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I stayed at Auld Reekie on a hen do with 6 friends. The entrance to the appartment was shocking. 6 flights of stairs and the stale smell of unrine in the hall ways was horrific, the handrails on the way up were also thick with dust. I don't think it had been cleaned for years! At first glance the appartment looked basic but ok. But once we were in and had put our things away we began to notice it wasn't clean. The shower curtain was covered in mould. We found an empty crisp packet on top of the wardrobe. My freind had a small dead bug in her bed. And overall it was dusty and in good need of a serious mop. Our feet were black from walking around with no shoes on! Then to top it all off the single beds in the room I shared creeked very loud every time we moved. The springs had also gone in the matress making it totally uncomfortable & impossible to get a good sleep. Although we had 2 showers only one worked properly. Thank god the appartment was in a good location otherwise it would have ruined the weekend, therfore the only posive to this appartment is that we didn't have to spend much time in it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auldreekieapts, Owner at Auld Reekie Apartments, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
This review was left by one member of a group of 12 guests who booked two of our apartments for a hen weekend. After the guests vacated both apartments, one was found to be in an acceptable condition. The other apartment was left in a completely unsatisfactory condition. We do make allowances in terms of the state our apartments are left in and only apply charges when an excessive amount of additional cleaning is required or damages are found. In this regard we have made charges to less than 1% of our guests.
A modest charge of £20 was made in respect of excessive cleaning and the guest who made the booking was notified by e-mail. We received a reply from the guest stating that she had stayed in the other apartment, had no idea of the state of the other apartment and apologised for any inconvenience.
We can only assume that the guest who left this review was held accountable by the group for the shocking state in which the apartment was left in. The comments regarding the cleanliness of the apartment and the common entrance / stairs are simply untrue. In particular we would note that:-
1. The apartment is not up six flights of stairs. There are three flights of stairs as it is a third floor apartment!!!
2. All apartment owners in this block entered into a contract to have the common entrance and stairs cleaned on a regular basis, in early 2009. All parts of the entrance / stairs including hand rails are professionally cleaned regularly. The comment about the stairs looking like they had not been cleaned for years and hallways smelling of stale urine are not only untrue, they are quite frankly libellous.
3. All our apartments are cleaned to the highest standard and our reviews on major websites that we advertise with reflect this. Certainly, out of over 2000 groups of guest we have never bee n notified of a dead bug being found in a bed before or since!!
4. Both showers were working perfectly well. One of the showers, is electric and will not work properly unless the power switch outside the bathroom is turned on. The operation of the showers and all other aspects of the apartment, eg heating, free WIFI, are included in a manual located in clear view on the coffee table in the living room. We would also have been very happy to assist with any required instructions over the telephone had we been contacted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Old Town
Destiny Student - Cowgate
Destiny Student - Cowgate
#140 of 202 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Old Town
Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
#106 of 202 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Reekie Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Reekie Apartments

Property: Auld Reekie Apartments
Address: St Mary's Street, Edinburgh EH1 1SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auld Reekie Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Reekie Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing