We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good take-away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Khukuri

The Khukuri
Ranked #305 of 2,448 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: West End
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good take-away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Had a tasty and good value takeaway from here on the evening of the Scotland/England rugby match. They were rushed off their feet so it was a bit delayed but they were extremely apologetic and it was worth the wait

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wardsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giri B, Owner at The Khukuri, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi,
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the meal in spite of delay due to rugby rush. We will try our best to serve as soon as possible. thank you for your patience and great feed back. Look forward to seeing you again.
B. Giri
for the Khukuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    74
    19
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

If you ever want a lovely, homely Nepalese meal - the Khukuri is the place to go. Was recommended by a family friend and we're already going back on Friday! The service was impeccable, food delivered very efficiently and amazing value. The atmosphere was cozy and a real feel of Nepal.

A wonderful first experience of Nepalese cuisine, can't wait for Friday! :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeenaandGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giri B, Owner at The Khukuri, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi Geena and Gordon,
it was nice to see you both enjoying Nepali dish. look forward to seeing you again. thank you for your great comments.
thanks,
B. Giri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The real taste of Nepal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very pleasant service and original taste of Nepali food. Get the starter with some chapati bread and my veg momo were delicious, Dal Bat with veggy and fish very tasty, worth a visit back for sure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxSanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giri B, Owner at The Khukuri, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining with us on your anniversary. look forward to seeing you again and be reassured you will be served our the best quality Nepali fresh food as always.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I've been to The Khukuri on several occasions over the past few years having been introduced to it by some colleagues from work who went regularly whilst staying in a nearby hotel.

On each occasion I have had a fantastic meal and great experience.

This trip was no different. We went with four friends who were "first timers" and they were greatly impressed by both the meal and the attentive, polite, but not in your face service.

The momos are to die for! Easily the best curry house in Edinburgh, and I've seen a few!

Helpful?
1 Thank MartinShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giri B, Owner at The Khukuri, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining with us on your anniversary. look forward to seeing you again and be reassured you will be served our the best quality fresh food as always.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I'm ashamed to have lived in Edinburgh for 13 years and have never been to the khukuri.
It truly is a little gem of a place. The staff are lovely and attentive, it's intimate and spotless, and to top it all off, the food is first class.
Totally loved it. Thank you to all at the khukuri!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Willpowerpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giri B, Owner at The Khukuri, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
its great hear your feedback. we are delighted that you had nice dining experience with us. look forward to seeing you again.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Khukuri also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Khukuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing