We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good”
Review of The Khukuri

The Khukuri
Ranked #314 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Nepalese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: West End
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Tried the Khukuri via a Wowcher deal and glad we did. Started with the chicken Sekuwa which was quite a large portion. Main dish was a lamb Piroo Piroo which was nice and tender, recipe from Kathmandu, lots of flavours, fenugreek came through quite a bit. Had it with lemon rice and a peshwari nan. Tried their own bottled beer too. Will be back

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LexiBryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giri B, Owner at The Khukuri, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments.

We are very pleased you had an enjoyable dining experience at our restaurant.

Just to clarify - The Khukuri Beer we offer is a branded company of the same name as the restaurant, whilst brewed in the UK it is a beer that captures the taste of Nepal and complements Nepalese cuisine.

We hope you return to the restaurant.

Kind regards,

Mr Bimal Giri.

The Khukuri Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    75
    19
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Top Marks”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Khukuri is first rate.
Nepalese cuisine uses a different spice base to the usual Indian food. It's a really delicious alternative and makes a refreshing change from run off the mill curry fare. Khukuri does most of the old favourites too, so if you are not up for change you should still be happy here.
The restaurant is fairly small and intimate and staff are really friendly and attentive without being in your face.
An altogether charming experience and will certainly hunt out again when next visiting town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NTRCBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giri B, Owner at The Khukuri, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments in regards to your experience of The Khukuri Restaurant in Edinburgh.

You are exactly correct- we pride ourselves on delivering the freshest, first rate Nepalese cuisine the city has to offer. We use Timbu & Jimbu (2 fragrant herbs native to Nepal).

We are glad you had a charming experience, we hope you do return to the restaurant.

Kindest regards,

Mr Bimal Giri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible food and service!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Don't walk past this Nepalese restaurant without walking in as you are missing out! Tucked away is this little delight!!

The food was absolutely incredible and the service was fantastic! I felt like royalty!! The staff couldnt do enough to assist and the food was to die for! What's not to love? Get your skates on and visit this little wonder before the secret is out!!

I will be looking for any excuse to visit again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giri B, General Manager at The Khukuri, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your great feed back. Look forward to seeing you and your group. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A walk on the (fairly) mild side”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Probably the first experience of Nepalese food for either of us.

Plus points: a good space, perhaps seating 50, friendly service and a bottle of OK red biddy at an OK price. The prawn puri (shared) was well executed and would have been a generous starter for one. Pilau rice was good and a plain naan very good indeed - thin and almost crispy, cut into user-friendly segments.

Slight reservations: Sultan lamb, from the 'Medium' section of the menu was not just very short on curry heat but also rather bland. And the Piroo Piroo chicken, while bursting with flavour thanks to the Nepalese spices used, also fell short of what we would call medium based on experience of other cuisines. Maybe we should have asked before ordering.

Visitors to Edinburgh staying in the many nearby hotels should not be put off. This is pretty good, and there are certainly inferior eating places around Haymarket.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j0egreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giri B, Manager at The Khukuri, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments, we will be more specific laying out our menu according
To spice and hot so that one can choose as per their choice. Everyday learning and thank you once again for your comment.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“1st but not last”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was my first visit and it was sort of by accident. I was walking from my hotel to the "Haymarket" pub and passed it on the deliberateway; stopped and booked, went for a drink and returned 15 min.later. I am not a Nepalese food expert but I have had Momo before so I chose the mixed choyla for a change; Brilliant Again I chose an unknown dish,Solukhumbu Bhenda, with garlic naan for main course and again it was just right, spicy but not excessive hot. Portion sizes were ample and the service was attentive but not overly so. My visit was luck this time but will be deliberate next time.
I recommend the "KHUKRI" unreservedly

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Biffo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giri B, General Manager at The Khukuri, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear customer,
We are glad that you had nice dining experience at the khukuri.
Thank you for your great comment, look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Khukuri also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Khukuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing