We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai terrible”
Review of Silver Bowl

Silver Bowl
Ranked #1,318 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thai terrible”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Just had a Thai curry and the banana in coconut dessert. The 'chicken' curry should be called a Vegetable Curry dusted with Chicken!

Bulked up by loads of veg, sauce like water. No fragrant Thai herbs. I complained and they sent me another out.... This time it was a green curry. How can you have a Thai Green curry with no coriander, no lime leaves, no lemon grass and 'Red' Chilli instead of Green???

I'm in the industry, I've owned restaurants a and outside catering businesses.... I know what I'm taking about when it comes to food and this wasn't good.....Silver Bowl... Stick to Chinese cooking.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotlands F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    6
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was excellent from here. Very tasty.”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We went here after spending a day out in Edinburgh. My wife had chicken chow mein and I had chicken curry with onions and rice. Both meals were very tasty and plentiful. Only waited about 10 minutes and was served by a young girl who was very pleasant. Great place!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Not bad for Edinburgh takeaway”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I usually find the standards of Edinburgh takeaway particularly lower than other cities but I was impressed with Silver Bowl.
My meal arrived quickly (within 1/2 hour of ordering online), prices are cheaper than other local takeaways and food was fine (if a little on the salty side).
I would eat here again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _-rachella-_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

So disappointed, just had the worst Chinese I've had in a long time. Asked for a mild chicken curry and was given a watered down meal which tasted awful. Ordered BBQ spare ribs as well and they were terrible, just plain meatless ribs with horrible BBQ poured over them. Such a shame as it would have been my new local but would never go back after this meal. :-(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marklynell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORKNEY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Chinese take away in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Excellent delivery service. Food always great and really good value.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Bowl also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Silver Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing