We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ellexcellent and Will Go Back.”
Review of Dantes

Dantes
Ranked #181 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$29
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ellexcellent and Will Go Back.”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

4 of us had a meal and drinks there last Friday night. Meal and service were excellent. Sandos is a great host, very friendly with great customer service as he spoke to us a few times during the night. Pints of Peroni and glasses of white and red wine helped to make it an terrific evening out and we were last out. If there are 4-6 of you ask for table 5 which is in a small alcove at the back. Very private and would highly recommend it. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BasilEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    54
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Great cosy restaurant; lovely warm atmosphere with excellent food cooked really well and very tasty. Very welcoming and friendly family run restaurant where mama makes mouth watering deserts. As previously stated, well worth venturing out the city for.

Will certainly visit again upon next trip to Edinburgh. Went with friends and we had a fantastic evening there as well as a general great time in Edinburgh itself.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My boyfriend and I had a meal in Dantes last night while visiting Edinburgh, the waiters/waitress were all so welcoming and helpful, the food didn't take long at all (not that's it mattered because we were enjoying atmosphere as well as the peroni and rose wine so much) and was the best Italian we had ever tasted. Dark chocolate tart dessert is delicious!!!! Overall we had a lovely night thanks to the staff at Dantes and will certainly visit again next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Brilliant, Couldnt recommend highly enough.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Heard time after time and also the local paper critic that Dantes was a place to dine..booked for Mothers day meal, from the minute we entered to the minute we left we were well looked after.
Service exceptional, food cooked to perfection, staff amazing and professional.
Caters for all from intimate to families.
Restaurant was full but we had no issues with waiting time between courses and were never felt rushed.
Cannot recommend highly enough and hope to return soon.
Thanks Dantes,
From The Hamilton's

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yvonneandymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Just left Dantes after a wonderful evening. Family run restaurant, excellent food, superb service, nothing too much trouble. Well worth the venture out of the city centre.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lawesey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dantes also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Dantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing