We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Pizza In Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benes

Benes
Ranked #796 of 2,438 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Best Pizza In Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

One of the best pizzas I have ever had .....beautiful crispy base and juicy tasty toppings...try pepperoni. ..chilli powder..garlic and mushroom...lovely combination or the to die for crispy onion rings and battered mushrooms....very clean and lovely friendly staff....I'll be back

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank depeche2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    24
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stopped at this place during my evening stroll down the Royal Mile. The staff here are extemely nice and chatty! They were trying to guess where I was from, since I kind of got a little bit of a southern twang, and since I am a ginger, they were assuming that I was a Scot. (I was stopped by many tourist and they were assuming the same thing. LOL!) As for the food. OMG! The fish was HUGE and tasted amazing! The chips were great and I love the salt and malted vinegar they poured on them. This 1 order was enough for two meals for me. I also tried Haggis for the first time here. They have a fried Haggis and even though I'm not a Haggis fan, I was able to eat over half of it. It really is an acquired taste and I was glad I tried it. The business was very clean and busy, but was served my food within 15 minutes. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stumtl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Chips & curry sauce are too die for. Busy but was served very quickly. A must try after a heavy hogmany celebration. :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

My 1st meal at Edinburgh.
Yummy scampi, fish cake, onion rings and fish & chips. Affordable at £19 C:
Really made my day C:

Helpful?
1 Thank Balige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

I have bought several different take away meals and every single one has been first class. Fresh everything done to order and clearly a family proud of their business.
They have even served the Royal Family who have come up from H Palace.
If on the Royal Mile and hungry give it a try but be warned -portions are generous!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benes also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Benes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing