We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”
Review of Embo Delicatessen

Embo Delicatessen
Ranked #761 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely coffee, brilliant brownie, excellent service with a smile good value and nice easy going atmosphere in the cafe. I'll be back. And next time will try the huge range for lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairmelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My 2nd home!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Working from home lends itself to a bit of cabin fever at times - so I try and get out as much as possible! Embo Delicatessan is my fail-safe option, within walking distance from my home and it catches the sun around lunchtime .... so on many a sunny day you will find me enjoying some sheltered rays on their balcony!

The owner always greets me with a huge smile, hence I feel a strong loyalty to this hidden gem...I'm not the only one, as the place is always buzzing with a loyal following. I would highly recommend the Halloumi salad... delicious!

Definitely worth stopping by - shame not open on a Sunday, would be a great brunch spot.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jenninscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stop for lunch as we walked down Leith Walk recently and we were attracted to Embo as there was a table for two outside and it was a beautiful sunny and warm April day.
We had the most delicious pea, coriander and chilli soup with a mexican chicken wrap and spent our time enjoying the sun and watching the world go by.
We had hoped to return during our visit but unfortunately next morning was freezing cold with heavy rain and the following day it snowed.
This was a cafe we won't forget and will return to again (weather permitting).

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScfamilyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great wee cafe”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

had a great lunch stop here, very tasty wraps freshly made, good cakes, good coffee and all at good prices. Plenty newspapers and nice atmosphere - well worth calling in. Will definitely be back and will recommend without hesitation.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank drafm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Embo Delicatessen also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Embo Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing