We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class on par and even better than restaurants in Malaysian for some dishes”

Kampong Ah Lee Malaysian Delight
Ranked #922 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$17
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Top Class on par and even better than restaurants in Malaysian for some dishes”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Visited yesterday and realised that I have been visiting this place for 8 years regularly !!!! Time flies ! Prefer the Fountainbridge location as it is more relaxing. As a Malaysian i can safely say the quality of the food is outstanding ! My fav dish is the Malaysian Curry Fish cooked in the claypot. I have recommended many friends, taken clients for meals and they have turned regulars visiting this restaurant. What I love most about this place/ besides the food is that the homely feel you get. Would like to thank Uncle Lee, Aunty, Tina, Alan , Monica and of course our fav waiter of the year - Teddy! You have always made us feel at home and part of your Kampung !!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rietva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    59
    25
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum Yum”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Been here a few times... Rendang is to die for. Satay is excellent, and Mee Goreng is also very good. Best Malaysian food I've tasted outside Malaysia,

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Don't come here if you expect high wining and dining - and then don't come write poor reviews. This is one of those no-frills, honest and authentic little urban gems where you can pop in at any time without a reservation, get squeezed in and order your favourite - or be brave and try something that they can't quite describe to you LOL. One thing is certain: You will always walk away feeling satisfied and that you got a good deal for your money. The soup bowls in particular are MASSIVE, warming, filling and TASTY! Cheaper than get a carry-out in Edinburgh! Ugh I always feel like I should keep the secret to myself, but there you go ;-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“authentic”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was my student son's choice for a family birthday dinner as it is a favourite of his - what a great find! The service was good the night we were there and the food was good home-style Malaysian cooking. Spicy eggplant, Nasi Goreng, and duck with noodles were really good; roti were outstanding. Also very easy on the wallet.

Can't wait to try it again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KDunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Malaysian”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good fairly authentic Malaysian food. Some are delicious, some less so. Let down by the indifference service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LKH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kampong Ah Lee Malaysian Delight also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Kampong Ah Lee Malaysian Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing