We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unforgettable stay in Art House Morita: )”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Art-House Morita B&B
Ranked #226 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“An unforgettable stay in Art House Morita: )”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We really have a great stay in Edinburgh, especially the staying at Art House Morita. I would definitely visit there again if I am going there: ) I am really surprised to see the owner's dedication in running the place, which can be seen in every detail. All the facilities and appliances are in good quality. Once you walk in the house, you will be amazed by the little museum. The owners are delighted to introduce the story of the place and also trip advice in Edinburgh! Also, the breakfast is superb and it is freshly made at the time you wake up.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terriemarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
9
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is an unusual hotel and is also a museum and home. If you like an entirely dull, predictable hotel stay (with a TV and en suite), don't stay here. But, if you are the sort who likes to remember special experiences - then this will be one for you.

From the moment you walk to the door, you will discover a house full of wonder - with lots of art and 'objets'. I adored my room - which had original oil paintings on the wall and a comfortable bed.

You will need to share a bathroom with up to one other guest (and try not to be paranoid about the frosted glass in the bathroom door being sufficient to cover your dignity. It is - so don't worry about it).

And the best is yet to come. After a good night's sleep in a comfy bed and a unique room (complete with tea and coffee facilities and, if you need them, slippers) you will wake up to the Best Breakfast in Scotland. This included fruit salad, freshly made juice (orange or carrot) and the most amazing cooked breakfast....complete with haggis! Absolutely delicious! And all served by the owners, who are friendly and very helpful.

The house is wonderfully situated for visiting the sites of Edinburgh, and the hosts (one of whom was the first Japanese-speaking Edinburgh guide back in the 80's) go out of their way to help you plan your day - and your travel by public transport.

There's also a lovely lounge to relax in during the evenings. The owners do want their own space during the day - but there is so much to see and do in Edinburgh that you'll want to be out and about in any case.

I hope this gives you a flavour. All in all - a unique experience and all the pluses and delights of the art and kind hosts make up for the lack of a TV or basin in your room. Read some books or just enjoy the art - and have a break from the whirl of modern life - right in the middle of one the UK's most beautiful cities.

Room Tip: Ask for the Blue Room for some incredible art and plenty of wardrobe and desk space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaLangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johniwtg, Owner at Art-House Morita B&B, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Emma, Thank you for the very kind comments and especially the detail in the feedback, I think your should give up Civil Engineering and become a travel writer, I did read through your comments and did not realise about the frosted glass, I have now added a near full lenght roller blind which I hope solves any concerns over the glass translucidity. I hope you and your family are well and you can all make it up to Edinburgh one December for the Edinburgh Winter Wonderland. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We loved everything about this B&B, the owners are extremely kind and helpful, not to mention that it is a nice place to stay! You have no idea how delicate they make breakfast! Definitely gonna recommend to all of our friends!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlenemok88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

I could have amazing stay B &B Morita. Beautiful cozy room with beautiful interiors,delicious Scottish breakfast with fresh fruits and juice and moreover very friendly and helpful staffs are the most attractive point for a independent tourist like me.
I can highly recommend this B&B who want to have good time in Edinbrugh.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nori-in-kobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

The stay was good, loved the hospitality. Also the people there were good just felt house like. Also the breakfast was good.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sameerbhate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Feels like coming home. Morita is museum, vacation, restful, homely and character all rolled into one. It has a charm that will bring us back to the wonderful hosts and their accomodating, caring attitude. Surely the highlight of the accomodation around Scotland. I found this a place worth remembering.

Room Tip: Book here if you are interested in Art
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulthekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

If you travel alone like me, recommend you can stopby & stay in this B&B to get warm welcome for bed, breakfast and wonderful experience for Scotland's arts,

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iwtg, Owner at Art-House Morita B&B, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Rhodaku, Thank you for the kind review and we enjoyed chatting about your travel plans, hope Tibet was good and hope you can return to Scotland again. Best wishes from Kozo and John san.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Classic Guest House
#70 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Abcorn Guest House
#181 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Leith
The Bonnington Guest House
The Bonnington Guest House
#157 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle House
#327 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Arden Guest House
#187 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Emerald Guest House
#191 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art-House Morita B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art-House Morita B&B

Property: Art-House Morita B&B
Address: 3 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2AX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Art-House Morita B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Victorian Edinburgh townhouse with beautifully restored interior, each of the three bedrooms with period features and original Scottish arts and craft. Situated on the main bus route only ten minutes by bus to city centre. Full Scottish/Vegetarian cooked breakfast and special rates for 2 or more nights. Property owned by Japanese and English speaking qualified STGA Blue Badge Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art-House Morita B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art-House Morita B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing