We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service from Landlady”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Martin's Guest House
Ranked #94 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great service from Landlady”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our stay. We had a big spacious room with a shared bathroom. The room was cleaned and there was all that we needed.

We had an incident, that caused us to need to get a hold of the police, and the Landlady Denise was helpful beyond what could be expected. On two occations she drove us to where we needed to go to help us out. Very very nice lady.

One little tip though - be sure to book the time of arrival to ensure that Denise is home to greet you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudess73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    60
    15
    11
    14
See reviews for
60
80
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have been visiting Martin's Guest House annually for the Six Nations for many years. The hosts are extremely friendly, always provide good advice and will do everything possible to help with anything in relation to the stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable with every need taken care of. Breakfast provided is always hearty, well cooked and presented.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edunburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Me and my girlfriend had a brilliant weekend at martins. Great location 15 minute walk 2 princes street, the room we had was beautiful,breakfast was nice and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.the staff were very knowledgable about upcoming events in edinburgh and which restaurants nearby were good 2 eat at definitely recommend staying here while in edinburgh

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hohdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Beautiful guest house,extremely attentive staff... Very welcoming and very clean... Will be back.. Lovely food served fresh every day... Fantastic value for money would Recommend a stay with friends and family anytime.... Excellent central area with lots of things to do...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheilabell196612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at Martin's with two other friends. It's 10-15mins away from the city and the bus stop is right in front of the house. I must say that the, hospitality of Dennis and the rest were just great, she even had time for a coffee with us in the morning to help us with our plans. Such a friendly environment, very clean and the breakfast was really delicious. This was definitely more than what I expected for the money I paid. I would highly recommend this place for anyone who's travelling to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ovindud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was in a good location, 20 minutes walk from the centre. The room itself was presented very well, unfortunately the smell within the room from the unclean toilet wasn't the best start to our stay. There was no good morning from the staff or even a small acknowledgement that we had sat down at breakfast time. The food was presented nicely but many items were cold, the coffee hadn't been filled up and some of the bread and scotch pancakes were stale. It was a real shame as it could potentially be a great B&B if these things are addressed. There were lovely china teacups on the table, once again these were unclean. The staff didn't have a great presence throughout our stay to give out information, welcome us etc... The car park is tiny and very difficult to manoeuvre, there is also a charge for parking too. I really hope we stayed during an off time and that the other more positive reviews on here reflect the B&B in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovemtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nice guesthouse which is only a 10 - 15 Min walk away from Edinburgh castle. We arrived at a quite busy moment but the staff were friendly but a bit in a hurry. The familyroom was quite big but with a small bathroom. Second towles for everyone would have been great. The guesthouse has a small car park so you better do not come with your SUV. The breakfastroom is very nice and the breakfast itself was good. Unfortunately toast, coffee and juice went out and were not filled up. Overall a good guesthouse to stay but compared to others more average.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausisnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse
#130 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#160 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Cluaran Guest House
#131 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bield B&B
#53 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Lauderville Guest House
#38 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#45 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Guest House

Property: Martin's Guest House
Address: 5 Granville Terrace, Edinburgh EH10 4PQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robb's is a fine example of a Victorian terraced villa set over 3 floors located in a residential area but close to local amenities, and is an ideal base for visiting Edinburgh's main tourist attractions either by bus, or a short 20 minute walk. Enjoy a warm welcome, personal service, comfortable accommodation, central heating, TV, hospitality tray, and a choice of delicious breakfasts - Scottish, Vegetarian or Continental. Secure parking available by request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martin's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Martin's Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing