We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we expected”

Itchycoo Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #750 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More than we expected”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

While visiting in Edinburgh and after a long day walking up and down the Royal Mile (love it), we were looking for a lighter meal and wandered in to the Radisson after checking out the restaurant menu. The Tattoo having just ended, it was quiet in the bar/restaurant and we were seated quickly and ordered the calamari starter and the ribs starter. Both were just delicious and really hit the spot. The server was attentive and friendly. We were well-pleased with our meal at Itchycoo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Europophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    79
    33
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Ignored - staff need trained in customer service or any service”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Staying at the hotel. Emailed in advance to make a reservation that was ignored. Went to the bar at 5pm to share a bottle of wine and sat at the bar for 10 mins begin ignored by all staff behind it however they did service a few of their existing customers. Eventually I asked a girl who was clearing tables and he helped however the overall oppression as already made.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J20ELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I did go back”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I wrote a stinking review of this bar back in feb after some of the worst service I have ever had. I said then I wouldn't be back but decided to give it aother go as it was nearest to the restaurant we were going to be eating at.
I have to say it was a vast improvement, the lovely Karen served us, she said she had just started in the bar after being on breakfasts. She was superb, excellent service and a lovely mojito, I will be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Budsmistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Prosecco afternoon tea”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This was my first time in the hotel/restaurant and I was very pleased with my experience! I had a voucher for afternoon tea for 2, this included tea/coffee for 2 but we swapped this for hot chocolate and peppermint tea with no hesitation or fuss from the staff. We were able to choose where we would like to sit which was handy as my friend had her newborn baby with her and we needed a bit more room for the pram etc. The food was delicious, cakes were amazing and the staff were very attentive to make sure we were happy with everything at every stage. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

A nice little bar with an attractive tapas style menu to pick and mix from and a standard list of larger mains. We picked seafood and veggie tapas and were very pleased with the seafood selection and delicious mushrooms iwith blue cheese topping. we finished with a sublime desert of brandy snap baskets filled with lemon and pineapple cream and garnished with fresh raspberries and a cube of real honeycomb. Perfect service from a charming young australian guy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aggieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Itchycoo Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Itchycoo Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing