We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best afternoon tea ever!”

Palm Court at The Balmoral
Ranked #46 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: Palm Court is an Edinburgh institution that's as glittering as its glass dome and Venetian chandelier. Sip vintage champagne or sample our award-winning Afternoon Tea with a wide selection of loose leaf teas, coffee, classic and contemporary sandwiches and savouries, pastries and sweet treats. A harpist provides the perfect accompaniment. Palm Court Opening Times: Monday to Thursday 8am to 7pm Friday 8am to 8pm Saturday 8am to 9pm Sunday 9am to 7pm Afternoon Tea: £35 Champagne Afternoon Tea: £51.50
Frederiksberg, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best afternoon tea ever!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family and I have enjoyed afternoon tea in great hotels in Cape Town, New York, London, Paris and on Mauritius and Madeira. But The Balmoral beats them all! We had excellent teas, excellent food, and the service was unbeatable, the team constantly surprising us with exceeding our expectations. The Palm Court is so beautiful and serene and still relaxing (even to the kids!). If you are in Edinburgh, you really should treat yourself to afternoon tea at The Balmoral.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Skyggebjerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at Palm Court at The Balmoral, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review of your afternoon tea experience in Palm Court. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your afternoon, leaving with such a positive impression of the food, setting and service. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be certain to share your comments with my colleagues.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Jennifer Laseen
Bars and Lounge Manager
0131 556 2414
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    125
    41
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We had decided to treat ourselves to a proper afternoon tea, with champagne and a huge selection of teas.

The Palm Court has a wonderful athmosphere, an oasis of calm in an otherwise extremely busy festival-season Edinburgh. A domed glass ceiling, venetian glass chandeliers, beautiful fresh flowers and elegant china put us in the right Downton Abbeyesque mood to enjoy a meal which takes us back to the days if the British empire.

We were given a whole menu of teas to choose from, and soon thereafter plates of bitesize sandwhiches, scones, cakes and other tasty tidbits started arriving at our table. Interesting, fun and delicious!

They kitchen also accomodated the one child in our party, who wasn't too keen on much of the (to him) 'mystery' foods that we adults enjoy so much. He got an unlimited supply of the juices of his choice, and extras of the more child-friendly food items on the menu. For me, the sign of a really good restaurant is that they did this without flinching, and without charging us extra. Excellent service!

We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon tea at the Balmoral Hotel Palm Court, and will recommend it to any traveller to Edinburg who longs for some peace, quiet and old time elegance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Berit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second visit & excellent again”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Quaint, tasty savoury bites followed by great scones and clotted cream. Not forgetting the sweet treats before chocolate trolley with amazing fruit loaf. Very relaxing with unobtrusive harpist setting a great mood. The team were very busy - too stretched at times but they apologised and kept smiling. Well done.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark-Nor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at Palm Court at The Balmoral, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your second visit to Palm Court for afternoon tea. Your feedback is extremely valuable and I am delighted to learn that your Balmoral experience was positive.Thank you again for the trouble you have taken to share your experience.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and would ask that you feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance in making future arrangements.

Best regards

Jennifer Laseen
Palm Court Manager
0131 556 2414
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Champagne Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked champagne afternoon tea for my mother in laws birthday. Had a wonderful experience. The service was first class, especially Viktoria who was so attentive. Palm Court was elegant but very relaxing, the harpist was beautiful and the rendition of Happy Birthday with the cakes (complete with candle and decorated plate) for the birthday was a lovely touch. The food was first class - one of our faves was the coronation chicken tart delicious! I have been for several afternoon teas and they are generally a disappointment and you feel a bit cheated for the price but this was worth every penny. All the little extra touches were lovely eg. uneaten scones in a lovely box with pots of jam, little tea caddys to take home... a true experience. Wonderful. Thank you Palm Court and thank you Viktoria for making her day so special. Highly recommend to anyone and everyone and no doubt will return in the future!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyLondon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blewbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Such a fabulous treat, afternoon tea in this impressive hotel, on a grey November day! Wonderful service, delicious sandwiches, savouries and cake, and of course, tea! We had a harpist play gentle tunes, which made for a great afternoon.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsgoggins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palm Court at The Balmoral also viewed

 

Been to Palm Court at The Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing