We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hedges Guest House
Ranked #31 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just back in Denmark from a 4 nights' stay at the Hedges we are five ladies that wish to express our total appreciation of this excellent B&B. Exquisite rooms, great hospitality (Heather!!) and located only a short walk from the main attractions, you could not ask for anything more. Our wonderful landlady had thought of everything in the rooms, you really felt at home. And the breakfast, delicious and plenty. Hope to be back some day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bitten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

I found Heather's hotel via the internet last year and returned this year for the same delightful experience. The hotel is cosy, homely and very comfortable and the breakfasts are great. The location is great for central Edinburgh as it is just a few minutes walk from Princes St and all the attractions but the best reason for using it is the friendly, welcoming atmosphere which is totally genuine. I have booked again for next year and would not consider staying anywhere else now for my annual trip to the festival.

Room Tip: The area is very handy but also very quiet so any room is delightful. Just book early!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our staying at The Hedges was the the end of a trip around Scotland and it couldn´t be better.
We have visit and stayed at several wonderful places but Heathers "The Hedges" was the best, both in how we were welcomed and treated. The room was carefully designed and adorned to delight the traveler. The breakfast was wonderful.
We know were we will stay next time we are going to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per-Ivan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Heather was a terrific host. Her B and B had special charm. The food (breakfast) was presented in a lovely way and was absolutely delicious. The location was perfect. The room was carefully designed and adorned to delight the traveler. It was very clean and comfortable. We had a great stay / time and highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast! Oh, and Heather spent time and care, helping us to plan an itinerary while visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merloubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Our first visit to Edinburgh was an amazing experience and this was all down to our host Heather, a warm and friendly welcome and nothing was to much trouble. We stayed in a spacious comfortable kingsize bedded room. The breakfast has an excellent choice of foods which where all fresh and beautifully cooked to your liking. We even had a take-away breakfast provided for a 6am departure when we went to Muirfield for the British Open. We will be back soon .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Having just returned from our second visit to The Hedges cannot praise it highly enough. Heather made our stay so enjoyable. Everything is within easy walking distance of the centre of Edinburgh. The bedrooms are spacious comfortable and welcoming - everything has been thought of even down to rain capes if needed! Breakfast is wonderful with an excellent choice of food and beautifully cooked and presented, can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My first time in Scotland. My wife and i stayed for a few nights. They could not have made anything any easer for us. Sorting out Taxis and other local intrests for us was done with a smile and maximum efficency. We had a wonderful time and felt at home within the first 2 minuts of our arrival. GREAT PLACE!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemarine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 394 in Edinburgh
727 reviews
Ard-na-said
#13 of 394 in Edinburgh
376 reviews
Dene Guest House
#22 of 394 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
McCraes B&B
#45 of 394 in Edinburgh
231 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#16 of 394 in Edinburgh
509 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#15 of 394 in Edinburgh
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hedges Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges Guest House

Address: 19 Hillside Crescent, Edinburgh EH7 5EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £93 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hedges Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedges is perfectly located in a Tree lined Crescent opposite Historic Calton Hill, and Royal Park Gardens. Five minutes walk out of the crescent are numerous bars and restaurant, you will be spoiled for choice. Edinburgh Playhouse theatre is practically on our doorstep. Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace all within walking distance. Hedges is a delightful small and friendly 4 star Scottish Tourist Board rated Bed and breakfast. Each of the three rooms are en-suite, with complimentary tea/coffee biscuits Excellent breakfast menu to suite all tastes.. Free fastspeed Wifi Heather & Ian are natives of Edinburgh and share their knowledge of Edinburgh & the Lothians with their guests.Come & try our popular whisky porridge "A True Scottish Welcome" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hedges Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hedges Guesthouse Hotel Edinburgh
The Hedges Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing