We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Princes St East Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
      View Hotel
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Breakfast included
      View Hotel
      • Free Wifi
      • Restaurant
      View Hotel
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Pool
      View Hotel
      • Free Parking
      • Free Internet
      Reviews (96)
      Filter reviews
      96 results
      Traveller rating
      10
      22
      19
      14
      31
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      10
      22
      19
      14
      31
      See what travellers are saying:
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      48 - 53 of 96 reviews
      Reviewed 22 July 2012

      My friends and I stayed in this hostel July 2011. We loved it so much, and Edinburgh that after we finished our other travels we came back in October. My friend and I ended up staying here for just over a month. There are lots of room options from dbl rooms to all girls to large shared. Rooms are spacious. Linen is clean. Bathrooms are cleaned every day. There is a tv room, and common room. Also a a kitchen with facilities to cook your own meals. Laundry services also. Everyone is so friendly! Also free dinner every Sunday night! And your 7th night accom is free! Only problem is that computers don't work. Tv is old(but who comes to watch tv anyway) Some things are run down. Overall it's a great experience and u will want to stay longer! It's in a great location also. Beware of the stairs you have to climb to get up there!

      • Stayed: October 2011
        • Value
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Amber J
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 3 July 2012

      We booked this hostel at the last minute after deciding to stop in Edinburgh on a whim. They automatically put us in the cheapest beds possible, which was nice but we went back and requested a private room as we didn't want to be in shared-gender rooms. They were very accommodating, though we had to pay for the fourth bed even though there were only three of us (not complaining, it makes sense). The hostel seemed pretty safe, you weren't allowed in unless you showed the blue card that you were given at registration, during which they took down all of your ID info and made sure you were 18 years old. The staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere here was fun. The place was a very short walk from the Royal Mile. It was on the top floor, no lifts, all stairs. It is situated over a pub or a bar or something, which was extremely loud as we were trying to go to sleep but we were so tired that it didn't end up being a problem. The biggest problem was that towels were not provided, and we didn't have any of our own.

      Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
      • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Avery R
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 8 April 2012

      We had a private room which was a basic double, but had a mirror and sink which is always a bonus. Shower had plenty of hot water and good water pressure. No outside noise, or from other people staying at the hostel. Only downside was the uncomfortable spring bed - if these were replaced the place would be great. Nice cheap breakfast place around the corner. The location is very central. The place is great value for money considering the cost of hostels/hotels in Edinburgh!

      • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Josie B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 17 March 2012

      Centrally located in Princes Street. Very near to walk from Waverly Station (where train arrives from London) and also near to all food and shopping outlets. However, the downside is , no lift available and all guests must walk the stairs to the top to check-in. Guy at the reception is extremely friendly and helpful. We had a room for 3 of us and near to kitchen and bathroom. But there are other guests who are very inconsiderate and chatting away loudly right outside our door, some even lying on the floor (and they are girls!!). Cafe at the road level, 2 doors away, serves cheap and hot meals. Overall, this hostel is fine if you are on a tight budget, as it is clean and centrally located.

      Room Tip: No lift/elevator available so those with heavy bags- beware ! Must walk a few floors to reach reception area.
      • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank jourykim
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 11 September 2011

      This hostel was overpriced for what it offered. We visited Edinburgh during the fringe festival and therefore came across overpriced hostels and not much availability. The staff were friendly and helpful, the kitchen was well stocked and the common room was big enough with a couple of computers for use (you have to pay) and wifi is NOT free and at the time, my friend was unable to use it as it is not compatible for Macs.
      The location is excellent. The beds were terrible. There were lockers for personal belongings. The showers were not great but not bad. I would not stay there again.

      • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank lauraoverseas11
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews