We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, friendly, helpful staff!!! Would probably go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Princes St East Backpackers
Ranked #184 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The staff, namely Cara and Nicole (and the other guy, but I forgot his name) were very friendly and helpful. We hadn't planned well for our visit to Scotland and they gave us all these options and selections, making our stay so much more enjoyable and fun.

Their rooms were fair in size and though the place was at the top of the building (77 steps to debauchery, yes indeed) the staff made up for the walk up. Just beware if you have gigantic luggage, walking up and down will be a chore. Oh, and because they had quite a few rooms up there it was sort of a maze, but you could find your rooms pretty easily.

The bathrooms were pretty good in size and there was always toilet paper. (Whew.) And hot water thank God! They also had several tv rooms and dining areas/fridges. You could also buy some drinks and food at the front desk so you wouldn't have to walk all the way down for a meal.

Overall it was a fun experience. Just cross your fingers that you won't get roommates who are really noisy/smelly/rude. :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kb_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

Before I review this I think it's important to note that we payed £13 a night each for a four bed dorm. This gives you an idea of what to expect. Yes the paint was peeling of the wall but the showers and toilets were clean as was the sink in our room. The staff were friendly and there was free tea and coffee with a dining area. Don't get your hopes up too high here but at the same time it's fine for young groups, students etc. Excellent locations and I didn't see any gentlemans club or dirty bins etc as mentioned in other reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidays649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Do not stay here unless it is all you can afford, bed and pillows are old. The bathroom is decently clean enough, but bring your own towel even for the private rooms. Location is excellent. Stairs up were not too bad.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler_kis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

the position is perfect, 2 minutes from the main station. ok, we have to say that there are over 100 steps to go in your room. if you're lucky you'll have a nice wiew on the city. beds are good and also showers. toilets not so clean but the blame of the hosts...maybe not polite. i suggest this hostel to backpackers cause it's very cheap and it's a good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hemingway1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Large room, great bathroom, clean and comfortable, close to city center

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank liylith815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

The close up to the hostel has a pub at the bottom, and a mans social club on the second floor. to get to the hostel you have to go past these and we found some very drunk men lingering about the close smoking, which was not too pleasant. Rooms were dingey and not particularly clean. Shower room on our floor did not work and only one toilet for a floor of 4 dorms...
not great would not go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachael_reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2006

Unfriendly staff and unkept property. No locks on dorm rooms. Be ready to climb lots of stairs when you arrive.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ele_denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#15 of 218 in Edinburgh
475 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#22 of 218 in Edinburgh
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,637 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes St East Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes St East Backpackers

Address: 5 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £16 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Princes St East Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing